We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing..... 10/10”
Review of Delphi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delphi Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Everything about this place was perfect!!!!!!!!!!!!

The staff were extremely friendly... the food unreal (get the seafood platter.... to die for!!!... and the steak was heaven)... the beds were like sleeping on a cloud... rooms are so nice!! We did the zip line and high rope activities too.... great banter from Dan the instructer.... the spa was amazing.... I cannot wait for our next trip down!!!!!!

I honestly have nothing bad to say about this spot!!!!!!!

Thanks guys!!

Gerry

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (869)
There are newer reviews for Delphi Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

647 - 653 of 869 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

From the minute we arrived, we felt right at home. The room was very spacious, the bed extremely comfortable & the service was second to none. Then the spa speaks for itself! AMAZING!
We have a 2 & a half year old, & usually find it difficult to find a hotel to suit all three of us, but at Delphi Mountain Resort they nailed it! Food 5*, Room 5*, Service 5* and Spa 5*. What more could you ask for.
We had booked for 3 nights & reluctantly had to leave after the 4th night!
We will definately be back. Thanks to everyone, especially Barbara in the spa :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinaquirke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have been visiting delphi for a number of years and truly fell in love with the place. The scenery and location are difficult to beat and the hotel was magical. We introduced a number of friends who also became big fans.

Our last visit was disappointing and it's clear that standards are slipping and an element of complacency has set in . This view is shared by many of our friends who are now choosing to stay in the leenane hotel instead. Admittedly the accommodation isn't as good but it's food is superior and it's half the price.

We still enjoyed our stay but the food was average, especially in the bar and restaurant at night. The breakfast was excellent.

Our room was lovely with one major problem - one of the mattresses (the double beds consist of 2 single mattresses joined together) was badly bowed - just worn out. Now when you're paying close on €200 per room per night then a decent bed is a given. To be fair the staff tried very hard the next day to correct the problem. When we checked out this wasnt even acknowledged and I ended up writing to complain. An apology and small voucher by way of a goodwill gesture was of course sent but by thus time the damage had been done.

Every previous time we left Delphi we had looked forward to going back. Now we are not so sure.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheChimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We were attracted to Delphi by its misleading website which is a credit to their marketing company/advisors. From the outset if you are looking for a four star experience, give Delphi a wide berth. This place doesn't merit 1 star. Delphi= 4 star prices/dreams but a 1 star experience awaits you.

The positive aspects to our stay at Delphi: The scenery is spectacular in the area, truly breathtaking. As for the hotel itself, our only positive experiences were two members of staff, Lisa the receptionist and the kiwi/Aussie girl in the restaurant ( apologies, we didn't ask you where you are from). These two members of staff clearly take pride in doing a professionals days work.

As for the rest of the management/staff..useless. There are clearly major issues here with management. It is obvious that Delphi is lacking an individual with proper hospitality training and international experience. Training of staff, especially in the restaurant is urgently required. Staff don't even acknowledge you as you pass them throughout the complex. A smile and hello costs nothing guys.

The whole complex is in major need of a huge clean up. It is filthy. We had breakfast every morning looking out the window at an overflowing ashtray full of cigarette butts. 2 days later and it still hadn't been removed!!

The rooms would certainly be luxourious if you had been sleeping in a tent for a week and needed a hot shower and warm bed but a 4 star experience..afraid not.

To finish on a positive note, Leenane, Letterfrack, Killary fjord etc and the surrounding area is a wonderful experience. Connemara national park and Kylemore abbey are beautiful( we sourced these trips ourselves) Delphi's only recommendations were of course their own activities with their run down bikes, canoes etc

I won't even start on the one evening meal we had at delphi..thankfully we weren't the only table with complaints. Believe me we are not that fussy, it just truly was a rip off experience. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Clonmel_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delphimountainresort, Owner at Delphi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Dear Clonmel_lady,

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write your review on Delphi Mountain Resort. I am shocked at the serious issues you have highlighted and very disappointed to say the least.

All of us at Delphi Mountain Resort are proud to have build our reputation over the years by having some of the kindest, most caring staff in the country and we truly believe our guests deserve to be treated with the highest level of courtesy and respect, which is why throughout our Guests stay they are always check at different instances if everything is ok. I am deeply saddened to learn now that you clearly did not enjoy your stay. I only wish you had shared this with any member of staff during your visit since we would have been so eager to try to help.

I really am disappointed to hear that you were not acknowledged by any Staff members during your stay. I am so shocked as we are extremely proud of our Staff and we are constantly getting feedback and emails from Guests saying just how amazing they are and how every single Staff member really seems to care. Even by just reading the other Trip Advisor comments this is evident. I am so sorry if you were not treated in this manner.

We are indeed a four star hotel, in fact we are between a four and a five star in our ratings, the latest inspection was only a couple of weeks ago and each year on our inspection our rating increases which we are of course delighted with. I am sorry if you feel that our website is misleading, we are so proud of our beautiful building and facilities which is why we put up so many images of Delphi Mountain Resort for Guests to view on our site.

Again, I am very shocked at your comments regarding the cleanliness of the Resort. We are industry leaders in terms of our training and procedures, particularly our Housekeeping procedures, of which we are extremely proud of. We have a highly trained team working in this Department.. We recently were awarded a European Business Excellence Award, by the European Foundation of Quality Management and Failte Ireland, commending us on all aspects of the business, including the standards we set for ourselves in our Resort in terms of cleanliness and hygiene. We always set extremely high levels of standards, way above Industry standards, because we constantly want to be at the top level of Excellence which we continuously strive to achieve.

We recently carried out a complete overhaul of our Food offerings, which involved several weeks of intensive training of all Bar, Restaurant and Kitchen staff whereby leading experts in these fields came to Delphi Mountain Resort to support us in these changes. We now offer all local produce, fresh and organic, with our own Resort Garden and polytunnels letting us offer handpicked fresh from the soil products. I am very disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied and again I just wish you had mentioned it to any of the members of staff who would have been on that evening.

Again, thank you so so much for taking the time to write this review. As I have mentioned several times I am so shocked and disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction. As you can see from all of our 205 Trip Advisor comments, there are only two other very disappointing comments like yours but they were five years ago while the company was under different ownership and long before we started our Business Excellence journey and the major changes that commenced since. I really hope that you contact me so that we can discuss this further as I’d really appreciate the opportunity to understand your issues in more detail.

Kind regards,
Rory Concannon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Myself and my husbad and 3 children have been to this hotel a few times now and each time the food we ordered was so tasty. and the desserts lovely too. We ate in the lounge/bar part once and the only complaint id have was eating off a small coffee table and sitting on a sofa at the same time with 3 kids is not comfy at all..But the food again..was the nicest!!

We booked in for a meal in the resturant and the waitress was so nice to us..she was very good with our children and spotted things & helped us. where others in other hotels could not care.

We felt very looked after. And we didnt feel in the way with 3 small children.

Thanks very much and we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ditavontease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delphimountainresort, Owner at Delphi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear Ditavontease,
Thank you so much for your amazing comments, I’m just delighted to hear of your wonderful experience with us here in Delphi Mountain Resort! I’ve passed your comments onto our Head Chef Michael who is really thrilled with your feedback! We can’t wait to welcome you back again to us so see you all soon hopefully!
Kind regards,
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Have to say really enjoyed our midweek break. Mountain range views spectacular, lakes and drive to resort was breathe taking. Lodge itself was as expected clean, layout was nice. Food was good (not excellent) but partner had the lamb shank and was really impressed. The initial welcome after a four hr drive was disappointing - sign this , bars upstairs here's all the info now go and read it yourself. Not very warm as outlined in their brochure all colleagues are hand picked. Room itself was basic we stayed in the loft suite not much to talk about on this. For €196 a night expected a little more.. Overall nice break, used the spa very nice clean etc.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomiclairecasey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We were treated to a night in Delphi by our wonderful friends. We travelled there with our two children and our friends. We were given a family room, which was a double bed and a set of bunk beds. It was a very large room, lots of space and a set of double doors which led out onto a small, fairly private patio. The room was quite close to reception, so I'm assuming it's the older part of the building. The bathroom was a good size, but I really felt it was lacking in a certain level of cleanliness. There were cobwebs, at least three spiders and dead flies stuck to the tiles. There were lots of clean, fluffy towels and the water pressure in the shower was incredible.
Our friends were in a newer part of the hotel and it was a nicer room. I suppose I would describe it as theirs was a 'proper' hotel room and ours was a more 'hostel' room.
We had lunch in the bar both days and it was very nice. It was a bit manic at certain points of the day and it seemed like the girl behind the bar had a lot to be doing, between supervising the restaurant, serving drinks and taking orders and serving food in the bar area. She was an absolute star, always cheerful and took an interest in her customers. (Say hi to Carina if you are there :))
Dinner was lovely, waiting staff were lovely, took really good care of us and the kids.
I would have noticed that a good cleaning of certain areas would not have gone amiss, lots of dead flies on windowsills and cobwebs decorating corners. (Hey, I can get those at home!)
The kids were well taken care of during a kids club the next morning while we went sea kayaking. They loved the club and the activities and the sea kayaking with James was great fun. He was very relaxed, obviously loves what he does and very enthusiastic when we mentioned that we would love to do kayaking again. He gave information about courses that we could do ourselves. He spent time chatting to all of us while kayaking and took good care of us.
Breakfast was lovely, they have a fab granola and lots of fresh fruit, dried fruit, yoghurts etc. There's also a cooked breakfast.

I loved staying there, one night was not enough. Just sitting and looking out at the beautiful landscape is super-calming. The scenery changes by minute and is absolutely breathtaking.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louoflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delphimountainresort, Owner at Delphi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Dear Louoflynn,

Thanks for your feedback and comments. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here in Delphi Mountain Resort.
Although the structure of the Resort was built a few years back, the entire building was gutted and completely renovated just a couple of years back so we’re very lucky in that we have a lovely hotel which is settled into its surroundings but have the beauty of newness within. I’m glad you found the Family Room you stayed in spacious. We have many different types of rooms ranging from Cosy Doubles, Loft Rooms, Luxurious Suites, Family Rooms and Two Bedroom Suites, so depending on the need of the customer and their preference there are many options available.
Thank you for feeding back with regards the bathrooms. We have an exceptionally high level of standards here in Delphi Mountain Resort with regards cleaning and hygiene which is recognised professionally so I’m very disappointed to hear that those spiders got through. I met with the Accommodation and Housekeeping team immediately upon reading your review and can assure you we have new procedures in place to ensure this is rectified.
I’m delighted to hear your feedback on our Staff. Corina and James are extremely grateful for your feedback and thanks which I passed onto them.
Hopefully we’ll see you, your family and friends again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Rory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
2.8 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
593 reviews
10.2 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
734 reviews
18.4 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
14.9 mi away
Westport Coast Hotel
Westport Coast Hotel
#3 of 14 in Westport
975 reviews
12.0 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delphi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Resort

Address: R335, Leenane H91 DP08, Ireland (Formerly Delphi Adventure Resort)
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range: $93 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From warm Irish hospitality to exquisite food, outdoor adventure to ultimate relaxation, Delphi Resort is the place to escape to, to enlighten your lust for life, awaken your senses and truly embrace Ireland's magnificent landscape and scenery, all from the comfort of the 300 acre resort. Delphi Resort is located in the heart of the scenically breath-taking Delphi Valley, near Leenane, Connemara, Co. Galway, Ireland. With its stunning scenic location, Delphi is a world apart and a haven for romantic getaways, special occasions, adventure-filled family holidays and wellness escapes. Situated just 10 mins from Leenane, Connemara, 30 mins from Westport and 80 mins from Galway City, Delphi Resort is surrounded by magical scenic drives along the Wild Atlantic Way. If looking to explore the area, Kylemore Abbey and Connemara National Park are located just 30 mins away, with Louisburgh and Croagh Patrick just 20 mins away - making Delphi Resort the perfect base for those that want to get settled at the resort and for those that like to travel and see the sights! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Delphi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Mountain Hotel Leenane
Delphi Mountain Resort And Spa
Hotel Delphi Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing