We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tight Lines, Collie Dogs and wellies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Delphi Lodge Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tight Lines, Collie Dogs and wellies”
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Spent 4 nights at the Delphi Lodge. Wonderful experience. Salmon Fishing was slow but caught some nice looking trout. Had room on 2nd floor overlooking the water and mountains. Breathtaking! Enjoyed the dinners, loved the large table and the lively chatter. Diverse group - folks from Ireland, US, France, Germany, Australia and Africa- young and old. Staff were exceptional. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Magnificent views
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darkwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
66
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We had a lovely 2 night stay at Delphi this month. We stayed in one of the standard rooms, which had a partial mountain view. We had a great comfy bed and nice shower/bath. The pressure had a few glitches at busy times, but not a major problem. There was a smell of food permeating the room in the mornings, but we didnt mind, it encouraged us to go down for the lovely breakfast. The food was great, very tasty and not too heavy. I really enjoyed the dinners. The wine list is good too and reasonably priced, but the best thing about this place is the peace and tranquility. There arent many places in Ireland as remote and peaceful as this and the road beside the lodge is very lightly travelled. We didnt fish, as many of the guests did, but enjoyed a long hike on a mountain nearby. If you dont fish or hike, bring a good book or use one from the library. We also enjoyed the company of the other guests who were v friendly. If you arent comfortable chatting with strangers, this may not be the place for you, or stay and have dinner elsewhere. You will be missing out though! Many of the guests here return regularly. I cant wait to stay again, guess we will have to start saving!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lara123Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2008

No prettier place on the planet
Forget the fishing, if you manage to catch a sunny day in this spectacular setting you've reeled in one of the world's greatest prizes. There may be someplace more stunning, but I've yet to witness it. While set up originally as a fishing lodge, the Delphi also does an off-season trade in house party weekends, where you and a group of friends book up all the rooms of this Georgian gem. (For basic layout, think of the boardgame `Clue.') I've gone twice and loved it each time. The friendly and efficient staff are ready with delicious breakfasts or an afternoon tea and the best brown bread I've tasted, served in the cosy living room or den where there always seems to be a fire burning. Out of every window are views of the mountains ideal for tromps or runs. If you don't have wellies, don't worry, they'll loan you a spare set if you can find a fit in the mud room. After stays in two separate rooms, I'd heartily disagree with an earlier post complaining about thin walls and lumpy beds. If you can, book room four, which has a massive claw-foot tub with a mountain view, if it is tipping down (which it does do in the West of Ireland.) Last count, there were eight dogs running around the place, but if you're not a dog fan they keep them well away and out from under foot. Make sure you walk up the valley to the Famine Memorial. All in, the most common complaint I heard over a four-day stay was from guests regretting they have to leave.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

For any fishing widows (or widowers) out there who might be apprehensive about staying in a fishing lodge in the wilds of Connemara - dont be! Delphi Lodge is magic.
Armed with books and walking boots I accompanied my husband (the fisherman) for a week and was prepared to amuse myself and both get fit and catch up on my reading. A week later full of good food and great conversation, late nights around the dining table and lots of "fishy" talk the books remained unread and the boots still to be worn.
Every morning after a wonderful breakfast I would get together with some of the other guests and arrange a lunch or an expedition. If it was raining the library beckoned with coffee and home made biscuits always available.
The scenery at Delphi is spectacular and the staff particularly friendly.
Cant wait for the next fishing trip!

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere where nothing is a problem. Also excellent food and wine
  • Disliked — Tempting to eat too much
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank friedaDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2008

Deliphi Lodge was such an amazing experience. The location is spectacular, nestled in a valley seemingly in the middle of nowhere surrounded by beautiful mountains and scenery. The staff and service were superb. Very attentive to our needs - I felt welcomed and comforted like I was family. Fantastic 3 course meals, wine and an awesome snooker table. Fabulous guests at the large communal dining table. 5 star! Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Impeccable service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tobysluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2007

The smell of wood and peat and the warmth of comfortable chairs with a good gin and tonic generously served began my stay at Delphi Lodge. It is a lovely house where the moonlit night seen from behind the curtain of my cherished and cherishing bedroom drove out thoughts of other lives elsewhere - the perfect place to go and be another part of yourself. Food is lovely and plenty of it, the atmosphere a rare return to a slower life but with all the benefits that have developed since then. I would recommend it to anyone as it is such an accomodating place - either it molds round you or you mold into it but the process is so gorgeous one doesn't notice which way round it is.

  • Liked — comfort and atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dipperbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2007

The Delphi Lodge is in a beautiful spot, but it is not as exceptional as many make it out to be. If you have travelled in the area, Connemara, there are many more beautiful places to stay. Also, despite the pictures that one may see on the web site and guide books, the property does back up to a road that is the sole access from Leenane to Lisborough and has its usual share of wild drivers, common to Ireland. One guest who ventured too close complained to me that he was almost run over. The noise from the road can be heard from the house.

Speaking of noise. If you are looking for a good night sleep you will encounter several problems. The beds are terrible. The mattresses have no box spring. Our mattress was so worn that the springs were jabbing us and kept us up all night. Another couple made a similar complaint, to the extent that their mattress was worn out, sagged, and sloped. You will also encounter a lot of noise early in the am, and the cooking smells which waft up to your room are very strong and not pleasant.

The positives are the following: the food is very good. Dinner is a fixed menu, however the staff very graciously obliged one of the guests who had a problem with one of the courses. The Irish Breakfast was terrific, as was the entire staff (mixed Irish and Eastern European) who were very friendly and kind. If you love dogs, you will love the dogs here. They are a constant source of entertainment and were a highlight of the stay, The view is beautiful, although again having travelled all of Connemara, it did not live up to our expectations.

  • Liked — The dogs
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lal522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
0.7 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
831 reviews
3.1 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
563 reviews
19.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
15.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
6.7 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#2 of 2 in Recess
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delphi Lodge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Lodge Country House

Property: Delphi Lodge Country House
Address: Delphi Valley, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Lodge Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Delphi Lodge Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Hotel Leenane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing