We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Delphi Lodge Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed in room 4 which is beautiful very large room with a canopy bed and great view of the lake. All aspects of this great lodge are wonderful but what puts it over the top for me are the staff, they are sincere friendly and warm hearted. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Torontoshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
67
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a country house, not a 'hotel'. Although it specialises in angling, we did not partake, and still had a lovely time. The drives both south and north are spectacular and there are lovely places to eat on one's day out. Delphi itself is idyllic, and although one has to eat at a large dining table, this proves no hardship and the food is mostly excellent. As are the breakfasts. The wine list is competitively priced and extensive, and the whole evening experience is convivial. The rooms are comfortable. Because this is NOT an hotel there is no television nor coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms. This proved an added attraction, although a drawback for the inveterate early riser/tea immediately available guest.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have the spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveitaly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisvegas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended Delphi Lodge by 2 different local sources so we figured it must be worthwhile. We also wanted to give fly fishing a shot so where better than Delphi. David the fishing manager lined us up with a 'gilly' called John & off we set for the day on his boat - what fun despite the lack of fish! Blame the good weather rather than the fisher persons! Too calm! Dined in both nights with lovely home style dinner & chatted with the other guests in a very warm & welcoming environment. Thanks Mike & to all your team at Delphi.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachshackBrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 wonderful days and nights at the Delphi Lodge. We had dreamed of staying here and fishing the river and surrounding lakes for almost 6 years and finally had the opportunity to do so. The Delphi Lodge is quite unique as it is a Country House accommodation rather than a hotel. It is as if you are staying with family. The staff is beyond accommodating and the food, from the full Irish breakfast to the haute cuisine dinners, is divine. Throw in serene surroundings and the spiritual experience of the fishing to truly make this an unforgettable experience. We plan to return as often as possible. Thank you Delphi staff for helping us realize our dream.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Delphi Lodge is really a wonderful place! The house is in excellent condition and the staff are warm and friendly - many thanks to Michael and his wonderful team.
I enjoyed every minute, stayed 5 nights in March 2012. The dining experience is one of a kind - the food is excellent - thanks to Delphi Head Chef Pascal Marinot!
The location is absolutely unique and one of the most beautiful places in Ireland.
I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fly88sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We (2 adults and 2 girls, aged 11 and 14) spent a happy weekend at Delphi this February 2012. While we weren't sure about the "everyone eats the same meat at one table" model (especially as my wife is a vegetarian), we quickly found that this is a big plus - it encouraged chatting and getting to know the other guests, and led to a convivial and fun atmosphere throughout the weekend. This is the first such "table d'hote" weekend we've done in Ireland, and we really enjoyed it.

Naturally, before we went, we read Tripadvisor. With some of the (few) less positive review s in mind, here's an update
- the beds are large, new, very comfortable and are neither lumpy nor creaky. We had two rooms, and this goes for both.
- the finish on both bedrooms and bathrooms was impeccable.
- as you climb the stairs you can smell your dinner cooking; in the room, you can't.
- we saw some dogs, but only outside.
- the host is not served first. Sadly, the original "host" at Delphi has moved on, and the guests must eat together without a facilitator. But we rubbed along very well, as I say above.
- we don't fish. About 35% of the people at Delphi were non-fisherpeople, and conversation was not dominated by huntin/fishin/country sports. There was certainly more than the global average of fish talk, but we didn't feel like strangers at a fishing conference.
- the fishing looks great, if that's your thing, and Delphi has great infrastructure in place - the fishing, the guides/experts/teachers/gillies/gear... a good place to come fishing, I'd say.

As others have noted
- the location is fabulous. A great place to walk, hike, run, or cycle.
- the house is lovely and in excellent condition without losing its period charm.
- the staff are warm and friendly
- it's not very cheap, but it's a very pleasant experience.

We'll go again.

Room Tip: We had two rooms and both were lovely. There's one family room, if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C_M_I_KDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I had passed by the Delphi Lodge many times but could not dine there without staying there, whch was not neccessary as I lived close by. However this changed in 2011 but it is possible to have dinner if space is available at the table.
Firstly you have to dine with the other guests at a long table. I knew this and and this was not a problem. It is good fun. You help yourself to drinks in the drawing room and write what you have had in a notebook. very trusting. The food was good and traditional but no better thanan average restaurant. After dinner guests return to the drawing room where there was a lovely open fire. Overall I would recommend the experience as the location is unique and is one of the most beautiful places in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drummersontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
0.7 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
830 reviews
3.1 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
563 reviews
12.8 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
272 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
10.9 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delphi Lodge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Lodge Country House

Property: Delphi Lodge Country House
Address: Delphi Valley, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Lodge Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delphi Lodge Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Hotel Leenane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing