We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem!”
Review of The Convent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Convent
Ranked #1 of 6 Leenane B&B and Inns
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A Real Gem!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We had an unplanned one night stay here on a west coast tour as our schedule was delayed due to a mechanical fault on our bike. Fortune definitely smiled upon us when we knocked at the door of The Convent.
Sean was the perfect host and our room had the most magnificent views.

The building itself is unassuming from outside, but fabulous inside, retaining its original features and identity, from the wonderful floors to the stained glass windows in the dining hall.

Waking up to the views across the Lough is on of my good lady's most memorable moments of the holiday. Sean's full Irish breakfast is one of mine!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is exactly why we prefer B&B's over hotels. The location - a former convent with the old chapel as breakfast location - is stunning, the rooms are excellent, the fireplace 'kings and queens worthy', but above all the personal touch of Sean and Mary will make your stay unforgettable. Never seen such hardworking, pleasant, caring and lovable hosts. We will go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErikBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
172 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This former convent includes the sanctuary and has rooms overlooking the water. There was ample off road parking and was a few minutes from the town eateries. The host was very helpful in getting us settled, agreeing to a very acceptable price, and making sure we were comfortable in the common room. It is walking distance to a local attraction and a store. Our stay was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed in The Convent B&B in Leenane last sept, 2013 for 3 nights, and I must say it was a fantastic experience, fabulous rooms, great location and views, with a generous breakfast each morning, the hospitality of the staff adds an overall charm to the splendid house. I also ate in the Blackberry Restaurant in the village which is owned by the same family, and the Dinner was superb also, and remarkable value for money for high quality fresh fish,
I look forward to returning again later this year, very memorable few days holidays, thanks all, Damien

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

You cannot get a better view of the fjord from your bedroom. Its breathtaking. Located 2 mins walk from the village. Rooms aren't huge but clean and adequate. They also have a restaurant in the village. Overall it was a such a welcoming visit. The service was brilliant and will definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duggyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here twice now. Once with a group of five and just last week-end eight of us based ourselves here during an expedition into the Turks. Rooms are comfortable and clean but if you are used to US hotel room proportions then you need to adjust your expectations. Showers do the job. Breakfast is plentiful and tasty. Wonderful host. Very good value considering the rate. Will be returning to Leenane in April, May and October and staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xjohnom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in august 2012 .This is very lovely B&B with good Irish atmosphere.Room was with wonderful view on the only Fiord in Ireland. Service and food was very good. We had delicious dinner in "blackberry cafe".I rekomend this B&B to everyone.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
0.6 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
3.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
12.7 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleepzone @ The Connemara Hostel
24.4 mi away
Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Convent

Property: The Convent
Address: Westport Road, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Convent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing