We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food good, accommodation very poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portfinn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portfinn Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Leenane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food good, accommodation very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The bedrooms are in dire need of refurbishment and colour injected into them. The bathroom very small and rather grubby shower, cistern leaking into a plastic container. In contrast the food was excellent as was the waiting staff. Unfortunately we were informed that there were NO TVs either in the bedrooms or the lounge. We were informed that the ethos of the B&B was to relax and mingle; I can understand this comment but as adults I feel you need a choice of what you wish to see or who to mingle with! We did not stay for the two nights as we had booked. Could be superb if substantial investment was injected.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    40
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
20
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

What an amazing place! Stopped in by chance looking for a room for 3. We managed to get the last room. Gorgious entrance with spectacular views for Killary fjord from the living room. Very clean and the decor is beautiful. Large windows to admire the surrounding mountains.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had dinner in the Portfinn restaurant which was amazing. Lovely fresh food made with local produce. Especially the rack of lamb - beautiful.
The whole experience was wonderful. We will certainly be back for longer next time we're on the west coast.

Room Tip: Both sides of the B&B offer incredible views. Either of the fjord or the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasdawg420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Walking the Western Way, I stayed at the Portfinn Lodge for one night. Arriving early in the afternoon, I was warmly welcomed & quickly shown to my room. The staff gave me a few other options for walking near Leenane & also gave me a quick rundown on the hi-lights of the town. Room was a bit small, but very clean & comfortable, with a great view of the town. Food & service at breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

At short notice we were accomodated at the Portfinn Guesthouse which meant some great touring options were then available the following day. With Kylemore Abbey nearby, Ashleigh Falls in it's shadow and Killery harbour at the front door life was wonderful in Leenane. Having travelled the Sky Road from Clifden our day was long and finding quarter at Portfinn, a welcome and reception from the Manager that was heartfelt, was appreciated. Rest was easy and the hearty breakfast meant we were ready for more travel the next day. True kindness was found and seen at Portfinn, the welcome that Ireland is renowned for, proved in Leenane. If in the area I'll call for tea and cakes there and if I'm touring once again I'll book ahead and know there will be a real welcome there.

Room Tip: Book in advance for certainty
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were staying in Leenane just for one night and decided at last minute to go to Portfinn for dinner. We didn't have a booking but they were very accommodating. I had the seafood pasta which was excellent and my partner had three fish starters. We were very impressed with the standard of food and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RouseRWicklowIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a most pleasant stay
This b&b boasts a restaurant with exceptional quality. Everything was freshly cooked and on our travels it was our best yet least expensive meal. All the people involved were a credit to Irish tourism. An added bonus was the discount we received for a cruise up the Killlery Fiord.
Thanks to Alex ,Dorothy, and Brian
Gerry & Hilary

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyager791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great location and good chance to see the Killary fjord via Portfinn's sister company who runs the Killary harbour cruise ship - we booked Portfinn so we could go on the ship to see a Declan O'Rourke session (which was excellent).

Anyway the room was fine and had obviously undergone some recent repainting. The bed wasnt great - a regular double that was getting past its sell by date. Bathroom clean but quite small. Curtains had little sunlight stopping power so we woke around 6am.

I guess one of the attractions was to eat at the Portfinn restaurant prior to going off to the boat. We had eaten here years ago under previous management and really enjoyed the food. Our meal this time was so-so : The menu is v small so you would hope what was on offer was really good ... chicken in mushroom sauce was tough and relatively tasteless and the lamb was relatively small in portion size and the accompanying sauce nothing special, apple tart portion was tiny (2-3 mouthfuls). Prices were ok for early bird (around Eur20 for 2 courses) but Eur5 for a glass of ordinary wine.

The neighboring table's dish of mussels looked great (likely caught in the harbour) so perhaps we chose poorly.

This is a lovely setting but the bedrooms need more than a lick of paint and the quality of the food needs improvement to be the full package.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour / village rather than the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
3.0 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#1 of 1 in Recess
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Convent
The Convent
#1 of 6 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleepzone @ The Connemara Hostel
2.4 mi away
Delphi Lodge Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portfinn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portfinn Lodge

Property: Portfinn Lodge
Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portfinn Lodge Guesthouse is located in the picturesque village of Leenane, Co. Galway, overlooking the majestic Killary Harbour - Ireland's only fjord, in the heart of Connemara. The fjord is the only Irish entry in Steve Davy's "Unforgettable Places to see before you Die". We are located on the N59, which itself is rated by AA International as "one of the top ten drives in the world."Portfinn's guesthouse accommodation boasts 11 comfortable en suite rooms with spectacular views of either Killary Harbour or the Maumturk mountains. Located in the heart of Leenane Village, Portfinn Lodge is an ideal base for touring Connemara and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Portfinn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing