We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Sorroundings”
Review of Portfinn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portfinn Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Leenane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sorroundings”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in Port Finn at the beginning of September. The views were really beautifully, situated overlooking Kllary Fjord (apparently the only one in Ireland. I was to discover that a movie called The Field was filmed there - super film by the way.

The guesthouse we very comfortable and I can understand why they call it Guesthouse AND
Seaflood restaurant. The menu had great variety and the food SIMPLY DELICIOUS! all served with a smile.

I believe they were closing for the winter renovations etc. so I will certainly excuse them for the fact that during our two day stay, the room wasn't tended to i.e. replacing tea bags, milk etc. I prefer to tend the bed myself no problem. I would go back there again, but bring my extra tea bags, just in case.

As the winter draws in I will think of those few days...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    41
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
20
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My party dined at the Portfinn one evening at the end of our holiday. Staff were welcoming but we waited ages for food to arrive and when it came was dissapointing, rack of lamb requested rare was medium and vegetables unexciting. We should complained but having waited so long all we wanted to do was get out of the place. I have stopped at the Portfinn a couple of times over the years and although prices seem keener may be this is at some detriment. The new management would appear to have some way to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salmonfisher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We ate here last week, there was three adults and one child in our group and we all really enjoyed our meal. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food was really tasty. Would recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishtraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Portfinn Lodge and Fjord Restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again some other time.

Regards
Alex Goor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed there recently on a whim as we were passing through Leenane on the way to somewhere else. Its very well run with decent size rooms. We had dinner and the fresh sea food was amazing. Staff were welcoming and even though they were busy still had time to chat. People need to realise its a guesthouse. No TV in the room but they have a small TV lounge which is an excellent place to meet others on holiday

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyTriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
al575, General Manager at Portfinn Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Portfinn Lodge and Fjord Restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and thought the service and room were good. You are correct when you say that we had a power cut on the morning of your departure and the breakfast was below par, I would like to apologise for this. This is a rare occasion and guests are normally very happy with the breakfast. Hopefully you will return some day and we can give you a breakfast to remember.

Regards
Alex Goor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Leitrim
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed in Protfinn Lodge in Leenane. Had a fabulous spacious room with double bed, large wardrobes, couch and table. The ensuite was fine, a little dated however the best featureI’ve left for last. In the main room, to the left of the bed, were double doors opening out to the back of the B&B…looking up the mountains. Stunning. After a very peaceful and uninterrupted sleep, the icing on the cake was pulling back the curtains, opening the doors, to warm breezes and sunshine, then crawling back under the crisp white sheets and looking straight out at green mountains while the local resident sheep provided the soundtrack. The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was lacking, plates and food cold, brown toast burnt, all thought to be due to a power cut in the kitchen. However, when another two guest came down after us, they got lovely steaming (visible across the room) hot breakfasts.
But, would I return… Yes… get B&B in a great location !!!
B&B price was €78 for two sharing, for me this was top price, but the B&B worth it.

Room Tip: Well we had room 4, looking out to the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fafafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They are knowledgable about what's on in the area and what to do and see. The rooms are comfortable and spacious with lovely views. It's like a small hotel in that you can come and go to the house during the day with coffee and tea available in room. No tv or wifi in the room but for me thats a plus. The breakfast is great with a full irish breakfast cooked to order and plenty of fruit and cereal. Great location and just two minutes walk from the village. But dinner was disappointing. There was nothing intrinsically wrong with the food but i expected something more given the restaurants reputation - as I had gone there especially for the restaurant that was clearly a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

You can't beat Portfinn for location...overlooking Killary Harbour, the view from our room was lovely (not all rooms have the harbour view but the mountain behind it is lovely too!). It is a minute's walk to Leenane's two pubs as well.

The rooms are basic but clean & comfortable. There is no TV or radio. The location lends itself to the outdoors and that's what we were there for so it didn't bother us. There was a kettle in the room.
The bathroom supplies consisted of soap only - no shampoo! Luckily we had some with us, but a few items in the bathroom would have been handy. Not the most comfortable bed I've slept in...it squeaked like mad with the slightest movement!

Breakfast was good - a small buffet of cereals, juice & yoghurts and then cooked breakfast made to order.

We ate dinner in the restaurant one night. It's nice, but not amazing and with a few small improvements could be great. I had scallops which were still gritty with sand. Could not fault the freshness of the seafood though.My husband raved about the potatoes. Two meat dishes are offered if you're not a fish lover.

The staff are very friendly & welcoming and we would love to stay at Portfinn again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leenane
22.6 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
19.8 mi away
Leenane Hotel
Leenane Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lodge at Ashford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
The Convent
The Convent
#1 of 6 in Leenane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
19.5 mi away
Sleepzone @ The Connemara Hostel
4.8 mi away
Glen Valley Farmhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portfinn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portfinn Lodge

Property: Portfinn Lodge
Address: Clifden Road, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portfinn Lodge Guesthouse is located in the picturesque village of Leenane, Co. Galway, overlooking the majestic Killary Harbour - Ireland's only fjord, in the heart of Connemara. The fjord is the only Irish entry in Steve Davy's "Unforgettable Places to see before you Die". We are located on the N59, which itself is rated by AA International as "one of the top ten drives in the world."Portfinn's guesthouse accommodation boasts 11 comfortable en suite rooms with spectacular views of either Killary Harbour or the Maumturk mountains. Located in the heart of Leenane Village, Portfinn Lodge is an ideal base for touring Connemara and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portfinn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing