We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, but no great welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moyne Abbey

Moyne Abbey
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place, but no great welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We travelled to see Moyne Abbey on 30 September 2012 and it is worth the journey, beautifully sited and well preserved.
You need to cross two fields to see it and we found (a) that the finger sign had been turned, so we passed the road entrance and had to double back (b) that the entrance from the road has "beware of the bull" signs (there was no bull, just some friendly cows and calves) which looked like someone doesn't like visitors using a right of way to a National Monument and wants to deter them, (c) a mucky path, with wire across it, and (d) scarce information on the site itself, and no plans to help decipher the layout.
None of that should deter you from going, but maybe Mayo Tourism would have a word with the locals and the Office of Public Works and suggest that they both could do better.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“History on the shores of the Moy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

It's great to see the this Abbey still standing after all these years. It brings home how great the builders were of these structures

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank smei88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“as a little girl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2003

my family is from this part of the country and as a little girl we use to walk to the abbey. Back then, about 20 years ago you were able to climb the tower. I believe that the tower is closed now. But we would go there several times cause there was a tail that when you climb up the tower to climb 100 steps but coming down there are only 99. And after doing it tones ot times believe me when i say that it is true.....

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Moyne Abbey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2001

Moyne Abbey is an old monestary tucked away in Killalla, county Mayo. It has situated in the middle of a field which is a bit of a treck to get through. However, the treck is well worth it. It has many little passgeways and hidden areas that are fun and interesting to explore.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moyne Abbey also viewed

Ballycastle, County Mayo
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Been to Moyne Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing