We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely loved it :)”
Review of The Arch Bar - CLOSED

The Arch Bar
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Only opened two months ago CLASS SPOT
Cambridgeshire, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“absolutely loved it :)”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just came back from a trip in and around Killala. Drank in the Arch Bar on the Saturday lunchtime and then on the way out in the evening the taxi driver recommended eating in the restaurant too, have to say it was fantastic, they had a new chef start the week before and the fresh crab claws were to die for, the main was huge and we couldn't finish it !! Most unlike us!! Back for Sunday lunch and whole (Late) evening on the Monday too, and another sesh on the Tuesday, can't fault the place, the locals were brilliant, very welcoming and Shane & Michael bless ya !! bye bye bye bye bye LOL

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    2
    1
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Myself and my friend were passing through Killala about a month back and luckily stumbled upon this little gem. We had a bite to eat and a few beers and it was all immensely enjoyable. The food was lovely and the place has a great friendly atmosphere. We got chatting to the owner who was all too willing to give us some information on the surrounding area which helped us get the most out of our trip. Couldn't recommend the place more.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We recently had a girly holiday in Killala. We ended up in the Arch Bar on our first afternoon and the people were so lovely! The Guinness was great too. We went back for dinner that night and it was lovely, the portion sizes were huge. As we liked the food so much, we decided to go back for Sunday lunch the next day which was very tasty and reasonably priced. Had a couple of nights drinking in there and everyone was so welcoming and friendly. Lots of fun! I highly recommend visiting this place for both food and drinking.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sallybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic in all aspects!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

we have just come back from a girlie holiday and we went to the arch bar every single day after having a meal on our 1st night we were hooked!!! The food was 1st class and all the staff were friendly and very helpful. All the locals are fantastic and all of them charming. i would definetly recommend to anyone to go and see for themselves what a wonderful place this really is. Thank you to all the staff and locals for making our holiday a wonderful and memorable experience. Cant wait to go again!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Desperate.”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went here in October. Wrong starter arrived. Rare steak ordered - cremated steak served. Wedges undercooked. Service slow but pleasant. Great recorded music. Too expensive for quality. Stay home and cook.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MayoMatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Arch Bar also viewed

 
Killala, County Mayo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing