We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful rural retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunfanaghy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mill Restaurant & Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 7 Dunfanaghy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A delightful rural retreat”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here for only one night...two would have been much better!
The staff are great and the dinner very good indeed.The set menu contains a good and varied choice..my main of Turbot was impressive.There is,undoubtedely,some serious talent behind the kitchen doors .The wine list is relatively short but very well chosen and contains an excellent choice of sensibly priced bottles.We were pleased that the restaurant was almost full on the night that we were there..The Mill deserves such support.
Breakfast was no letdown either...a beautifully fresh buffet choice with a delicious freshly cooked follow up course.
If you are within striking distance of the Mill then do not miss it!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

this is a really beautiful littlle treaure of a hotel and restaurant. The food is amazing, the staff are more than lovely and the rooms are gorgeous. Do not miss this little gem . We had a small problem with our key, dealt with brilliantly by lovely lovely girl. This is our pearl of a hotel,really don't want to share it!! Well done and thank you for our excellent St. Pat's Sunday night
Forgot to write in the book .... sorry
Jackie and David

Room Tip: Just gorgeous, rooms are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieMJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at The Mill for one evening on our trip around Ireland. The house and rooms are solid- lots of space, basic amenities, clean, and comfortable. But the food, holy God, SO GOOD. Definitely worth the price and the reservation- this was one of the best meals I've ever eaten. The owner and waitstaff are lovely and welcoming, though quite professional (this is gourmet, people!) Would absolutely recommend this spot, even if you had to drive halfway across the island to get here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoy_period60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We choose the set menue €45 the starter (kid goat) was tasty but a tiny portion on a massive plate didn't really help,for main I had turbot, total crime what they done to the poor fish so for desert lost the will to care . The staff were really lovely but they only served local beer or wine so very limited don't expect your G&T not even to soften the blow.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Sioban L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh N Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Four of us had dinner in this wonderful restaurant. We were very impressed by the super food, excellent wine and superb presentation. If this restaurant was located in any city it would have Michelin recognition. We have dined in quite a few well known restaurants in London, Dublin and New York and this place is up there. What surprises me is that it took us so long to discover it. It was William Scholes in the Irish News that alerted us. The rooms were comfortable with added extras like small bottles of wine and water. The breakfast menu was diverse with items like smoked pollack. Like MacArthur "we shall return"!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanNullec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our second time at The Mill, and we set our Ireland trip schedule to be sure of a room. Our stay was just as wonderful as when we stayed here two years ago. The Mill's rooms are well
appointed and comfortable. There are two delightful places on the first floor to relax, read, or just enjoy a drink before dinner. Susan will make you welcome and see to any needs. Her husband, Derek is and multi-award winning chef and his dinners are much the reason we returned. Having travelled extensively we haven't encountered better, more well prepared and presented food. Finally, while Dunfanaghy may seem a bit off the beaten path, it is an ideal base to see some of Irelands most magnificent scenery. Horn Head, Atlantic Drive, Malin Head, Glenveagh National Park are but a few. If Irish history is important to you, The walled city of Londonderry / Derry is an easy drive. We do hope to return. Judy & Chuck Naughton, Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy-Chuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portballintrae, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Mill Restaurant for two nights at the end of August (2013) and had two excellent evening meals which, like the equally excellent breakfasts, were served by friendly and professional staff. Our stay was made all the more pleasurable by the friendly and courteous management - thank you Susan - and very comfortable and clean bedrooms. Helen is gluten intolerant and, having pre-advised the management of this condition, every effort was made to ensure that suitable alternatives were available for her to chose from. We had previously stayed in the 'Mill' about 5 years previous to our recent visit and will certainly be back - hopefully well within 5 years! A wonderful experience which we hope to repeat soon. The surrounding beautiful coastline and countryside add to the overall joy. Again many thanks to Susan and staff.

Brian & Helen Bolt, Portballintrae, Co. Antrim

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfanaghy
0.1 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
5.4 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
33.9 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,991 reviews
34.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Restaurant & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Restaurant & Accommodation

Property: The Mill Restaurant & Accommodation
Address: N56, Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunfanaghy
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfanaghy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Mill Restaurant Hotel Dunfanaghy
The Mill Restaurant And Accommodation

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing