We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extortionate” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mill Restaurant & Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunfanaghy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mill Restaurant & Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 7 Dunfanaghy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Extortionate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We choose the set menue €45 the starter (kid goat) was tasty but a tiny portion on a massive plate didn't really help,for main I had turbot, total crime what they done to the poor fish so for desert lost the will to care . The staff were really lovely but they only served local beer or wine so very limited don't expect your G&T not even to soften the blow.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Sioban L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Armagh N Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Four of us had dinner in this wonderful restaurant. We were very impressed by the super food, excellent wine and superb presentation. If this restaurant was located in any city it would have Michelin recognition. We have dined in quite a few well known restaurants in London, Dublin and New York and this place is up there. What surprises me is that it took us so long to discover it. It was William Scholes in the Irish News that alerted us. The rooms were comfortable with added extras like small bottles of wine and water. The breakfast menu was diverse with items like smoked pollack. Like MacArthur "we shall return"!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanNullec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our second time at The Mill, and we set our Ireland trip schedule to be sure of a room. Our stay was just as wonderful as when we stayed here two years ago. The Mill's rooms are well
appointed and comfortable. There are two delightful places on the first floor to relax, read, or just enjoy a drink before dinner. Susan will make you welcome and see to any needs. Her husband, Derek is and multi-award winning chef and his dinners are much the reason we returned. Having travelled extensively we haven't encountered better, more well prepared and presented food. Finally, while Dunfanaghy may seem a bit off the beaten path, it is an ideal base to see some of Irelands most magnificent scenery. Horn Head, Atlantic Drive, Malin Head, Glenveagh National Park are but a few. If Irish history is important to you, The walled city of Londonderry / Derry is an easy drive. We do hope to return. Judy & Chuck Naughton, Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy-Chuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portballintrae, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Mill Restaurant for two nights at the end of August (2013) and had two excellent evening meals which, like the equally excellent breakfasts, were served by friendly and professional staff. Our stay was made all the more pleasurable by the friendly and courteous management - thank you Susan - and very comfortable and clean bedrooms. Helen is gluten intolerant and, having pre-advised the management of this condition, every effort was made to ensure that suitable alternatives were available for her to chose from. We had previously stayed in the 'Mill' about 5 years previous to our recent visit and will certainly be back - hopefully well within 5 years! A wonderful experience which we hope to repeat soon. The surrounding beautiful coastline and countryside add to the overall joy. Again many thanks to Susan and staff.

Brian & Helen Bolt, Portballintrae, Co. Antrim

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We loved The Mill. Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed. our hostess was gracious and very informative and our dinner was absolutely wonderful. Breakfast was a delicious start to every day and the location, a little bit out of town next to a peaceful lake with swans gliding around it, was perfect. One teensy-tinsy suggestion for the owners: it's time to get new mattresses.

Room Tip: We had the corner room above the restaurant overlooking the lake and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisontinsley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Northern Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent a fantastic night here this past weekend. The room we had on the corner of the property and had a great view over the gardens and water. The dinner we had was wonderful and given we are both gluten-free we were catered to so well. The breakfast was just as good as we even got more of the GF banana bread from the night before. We can't wait to go back again, it's a perfect balance between a hotel and a B&B. Thank you and see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent two fabulous nights at the Mill, including one evening meal, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our experience was first rate in terms of friendly, open customer service, first rate delicious locally sourced food including a breakfast that offers suprising elements, contained within interesting, romantic interiors and surroundings. Total value for money and well worth a visit. We couldn't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whyacceptless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfanaghy
0.0 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.0 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Restaurant & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Restaurant & Accommodation

Property: The Mill Restaurant & Accommodation
Address: N56, Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunfanaghy
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfanaghy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Mill Restaurant Hotel Dunfanaghy
The Mill Restaurant And Accommodation

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing