We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in the rain”
Review of Anseo B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunfanaghy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anseo B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Dunfanaghy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Lisa made us very welcome in her family home. The purpose built block for the guests is comfortable and cosy. The stairs are a bit steep to get a case up. We had a room overlooking the sea which was lovely. Comfy beds and good shower. Very clean.
Lisa made us afternoon tea when we arrived which was very acceptable- everything from scones to brie with hot tea. Her breakfasts are lovely and tasty. The sitting room was very pleasant and airy with comfy chairs and ample coffee table books to peruse. Lisa's advice on where to eat and travel was spot on. Excellent B&B would recommend anyone to stay here

Room Tip: We had the room overlooking the sea which was lovely - huge bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WettonJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 157 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

The welcome, support, advise, the location, our 2 days stay in the first sunny week of 2013 was superb. The food, the room, trips around Dunfanaghy and the good conversations with other guests and with Lisa & Gary made an unforgettable impression. Not to forget The Oyster and life music....... that's what life should be.

Room Tip: Upstairs you will have a view on the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the best B and B I've ever stayed in and I would give it 10 out of 10 withour hesitation. Lisa and her husband are so thoughtful and nice - the welcoming drink and snack were great, the room was lovely - comfortable bed and room with everything you could need and the breakfast was amazing with freshly made bread and scones and an excellent selection. It was great value and was well placed for a short (5 min) walk into Dunfanaghy. We ate at the Oyster Bar which was great and had live music which made it even better.
There is a great beach very near and lots of wonderful beaches and places to drive to within a day trip as well as Erigal to climb if you are that way inclined.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewcastleSusieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our second stay at Anseo, as my wife and I spent 3-4 nights with Lisa and Gary last year, shortly after they opened. It's good to be able to report that almost a year later, there is no sign of any dip below the very high bar they set for themselves starting up.

They are delightful hosts: knowledgeable about the local area, attentive to their guests, even towards odd dietary requirements (such as having a go at some vegan baking.) For me, an Irishman who eats absolutely anything and lots of it, the breakfasts really do set you up for the day.

If you can get a choice of room, go for the one upstairs with the views towards Horn Head. But really, it doesn't matter, since all the room s are charming and confortable (we've been in three of them now.)

John & Dee

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanzania2009186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My boyfriend's was brother got married in dunfanaghy to his Irish bride in march so we all stayed at Gary and Lisa's for most of our stay in Ireland. And what a fantastic time we had. The B&B is gorgeous. Gary and Lisa made us feel so welcome. My boyfriend and I had never been to Ireland and we would certainly come back here again. They welcomed us with champagne and a warm fire after our tiring flight. Showed us to our rooms which were amazing, so homely but luxurious at the same time. The bed was so comfy. The bathroom was big with a large shower. We had breakfast every morning at the B&B, you wouldn't want to miss it! They put on such a spread of bread and coffee and tea, not to mention the breakfast choices. I would highly recommend the cream cheese and chive scrambled egg and smoked salmon on sour dough bread, i have tried to recreate it but mine doesn't compare. We would sometimes relax in the large living room, and Gary or Lisa would ask if we wanted tea or an Irish coffee, and they wouldn't just bring out the drinks, it was cakes and biscuits too, or even olives with wine.
Now this may sound exaggerated and a dream, but that's what it truly was. It was a dream to stay at Tatu Anseo, and Gary and Lisa have become good friends of all of us. I couldn't have wished for a better holiday to Ireland. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadiaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Lisa and Garry run a great b & b. After many days of "traditional Irish breakfast" Lisa's breakfast was a warm welcome-certainly my favorite in my two weeks in Ireland. I believe the "traditional" breakfast was one option if you want it. Our room was clean, comfortable and modern. They were great hosts and have a "chill out" room for relaxing after a long day of touring. I would certainly stay here in again if in the area. Great place!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaufordtjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at Ta Tu Anseo for a night over the May Day bank holiday weekend. The weather was cool and cloudy but the welcome at Ta Tu Anseo was warm and friendly. Lisa is a kind and considerate host, being attentive to her guests in providing help, guidance and fine Irish hospitality but yet giving them space to relax and enjoy the very comfortable accommodation. The bedrooms are comfortable, clean, modern and nicely furnished. The breakfast varied, well presented and appetizing. All in all , a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay-in-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfanaghy
0.5 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
413 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
855 reviews
5.2 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
427 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
407 reviews
19.3 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anseo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anseo B&B

Address: Kill, Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunfanaghy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfanaghy
Price Range: $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect the warmest of welcomes, and the best of Irish fare at Anseo B&B, a traditional Donegal cottage, which has been sympathetically extended to include 4 stylish en-suite bedrooms. Anseo is situated on the edge of Dunfanaghy village in one of the most picturesque regions of Ireland, and within easy walking distance of the golf course, beach, pubs, restaurants, horse riding, art galleries and surfing. You will be very welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing