We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb b&b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anseo B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunfanaghy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anseo B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Dunfanaghy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Ta Tu Anseo is the most welcoming and hospitable place we have ever stayed. As well as the well equipped and stylish bedroom and bathroom, there was a great breakfast and sitting area to relax in. The b&b is located within easy walking distance of pubs and restaurants, beach and golf course. But the best thing about the b&b was the hosts, Gary and Lisa. As well as providing excellent choice of breakfasts they quietly anticipated your every need. We are keen to go back to explore the local area further from this very comfortable and high quality base.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDCush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
74
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Lisa and Gary are wonderful hosts. Every time we came in we were offered tea and coffee accompanied by home baked scones, cake etc. Breakfast was superb; a choice of The Full Irish, Fresh Pancakes with Maple Syrup and Blueberries, Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Eggs, or even 'as served to the staff at El Bulli' a Potatoes crisp Omelette, as well as fresh fruit,cereal, toast, breads and preserves. Lisa is a mine of local knowledge and suggestions. Lovely comfortable rooms with en suite facilities and in room coffee and tea making (though I am not sure when you would ever use it with Lisa offering a tray every time you come in.) Good local bars and restaurants for the evening, superb scenery and walking. I know this sounds a bit OTT but it really was every bit a good as I say. We will be back.

Room Tip: top floor rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Active_Traveller014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Without a doubt, our visit to Anseo B&B was one of our best ever in Ireland. We had booked 3 nights but we were enjoying ourselves so much in Donegal that we stayed a fourth night! Our room was spacious, great bathroom and wonderful views out across Horn Head. Lisa and Gary are fantastic hosts, helpful in every way and great resources for good drives and walks in the surrounding area. Food was delicious. The breakfast menu has lots of choices and Lisa bakes fresh bread every day. We could walk into the very charming village of Dunfanaghy and also walk out to the beach. Dunfanaghy is a great location to see northern Donegal, Glenveagh, Mount Errigal, Horn Head. We look forward to staying again at Anseo B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irelandfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a wonderful visit to Dunfanaghy with Lisa and Gary at the Anseo. As other reviewers have commented, the facilities are top notch - brand new, contemporary, roomy, wonderful bathroom and shower, comfortable beds and spectacular views. The location is perfect, within easy walking distance to the pubs as well as the golf course. Lisa and Gary are a great resource of information for touring the entire north coast as well as their former home of Belfast. Lisa's breakfasts are wonderful - eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausages and a multitude of breads. She is cognizant of special dietary needs. Dunfanaghy is a great base to explore the northern peninsulas of Horn Head, Rosguill and Fanad as well as Glenveigh National Park. We stayed four days and could have easily enjoyed many more. If you are planning a trip to Donegal you should definitely consider staying at the Anseo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okiepeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Anseo for 2 nights at the August bank holiday weekend as we were visiting family in the area. Everything about our stay was fantastic and we had such a great weekend. We really loved the building, how the owners designed it & especially the interior, our room was on the upper floor & it was very well appointed, bright, spacious, clean and lovingly arranged.we were able to see the golf course and the sea from our window. Fantastic hospitality, value for money, super breakfast, and very tranquil surroundings.we would love to come back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisi1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukee, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We just checked out of Anseo a few hours ago. We spent 2 wonderful nights in the company of Lisa and Gary who were WONDERFUL hosts! I'd recommend Anseo to anyone who is entering the North Donegal area.

Make sure you don't load up your plans and just take a day to do some super easy walks along the remote beaches in the area. They convinced us to skip everything we had planned (Causeway, Belfast) and just stay in the area. We never got more than 20km from the B&B and I LOVED it! Great scenery, possibly the best in Ireland. Stay here, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamenNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

An amazing place to stay.

Everything was first class.Good location to walk into Dunfanaghy for dinner. Spacious room with very comfy bed and enormous bathroom and great shower. Breakfast was really delicious with lots of different choices and all home made. Lisa was a fantastic host. Great value

Could not have been better.I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfanaghy
0.5 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
5.2 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
17.9 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
19.9 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anseo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anseo B&B

Property: Anseo B&B
Address: Kill, Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunfanaghy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfanaghy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect the warmest of welcomes, and the best of Irish fare at Anseo B&B, a traditional Donegal cottage, which has been sympathetically extended to include 4 stylish en-suite bedrooms. Anseo is situated on the edge of Dunfanaghy village in one of the most picturesque regions of Ireland, and within easy walking distance of the golf course, beach, pubs, restaurants, horse riding, art galleries and surfing. You will be very welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing