We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Middle of the Road”
Review of Arnolds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arnolds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunfanaghy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Arnold's is the type of hotel you go to when you want to relax in a quiet atmosphere and not need to get excited about anything! The whole place is clean, staffed with cheery, helpful people (including the owners which is a rarity these days) and what you see is what you get.
The room we had was comfortable, not large but more than adequate with a view of the sea. Bit close to the road with the window open on a hot night, but all you ask of a budget hotel.
The other residents at this time in June were almost exclusively pensioners and the restaurant knew how to cater for this market. Basic, well prepared fare that such a clientele would prefer. Nice, but unimaginative. Prawn cocktail, fish and chips, grilled pork chop, etc.
Helpful link up with the stables behind the hotel that facilitated a great beach ride. They have packages for riders that seem very good value. It was a good couple of days using it as a base to explore the wonderful scenery of north Donegal.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derekandlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 423 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2009

Arnold's was a delightful surprise! We stayed there for the horseback riding trip - the stable was nearby, back through the beautiful flower garden, behind the pub. The view of the bay and tides was wonderful. The food was the delicious and the presentation was equally tip top. The staff was so friendly and helpful. It is a lovely area, great for walks and visiting pubs with locals and music. I only wish I could return annually. Nice cool weather, too. I will try to add photos later. This area is so beautiful with coast, water, and mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gleaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

My parter and I almost left straight away. The room we had been given sloped so badly that your feet were above your head when you lay on the bed. When we told the staff asking for a different room they looked at us as though this was an unusual request. They hadn't even noticed how bad the slope was. Our bags rolled when you placed them at the top of the hill! Terrible!!! The whole hotel was tired and shabby - including the staff - and the whole vibe of the place was one of just giving up. The town itself was okay, the locals were friendly, but in terms of the county there are much nicer places to visit!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XYZchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed for three nights on a recent vaction. We would recommend upgrading to a superior room which is larger and has a great view of Sheephaven Bay. We really enjoyed the pub, Whiskey Fly Bar, and the restaurant. The staff and owners are very friendly and accomodating. We enjoyed visiting this part of Ireland because it is not as busy as other parts of the country but every bit as beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramrodcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Thoroughly recommended for a relaxing and enjoyable time. Hotel staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Food (both restaurant and bistro bar) top quality with excellent service. Rooms -most have wide sea views.
Yes-it's somewhat old-style but old-style that reflects quality and service.
We would have no hesitation in returning-even though it's on the otherside of the Atlantic!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ennotville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable weekend in Arnold's Hotel Dunfanaghy. Admitedly they did give us a free upgrade to a superior room which was really lovely. We had a fantastic view across to Horn Head and since the weather was atrocious we did spend a lot of time just relaxing and enjoying the very comfortable room. Both evenings we ate in the restaurant which we could only award top marks to on each occasion , for both food and service. Breakfast was once again excellent- we couldn't ask for better. All in all a wonderful weekend and we will definitely return before the end of the season( Hope we get a free upgrade again!)

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Arnold's Hotel, Dunfanaghy, Donegal, Ireland
Date: July 11th, 2008
Reviewer: Tim Wellock

Arnold's Hotel remains an oasis of perfect taste in the sea of misguided development which threatens to spoil Donegal. There was some work going on across the road during our stay, but god forbid that it will impede the magnificent view across the inlet of Sheephaven Bay. The hotel has been owned by the same family for three generations, and while growing to include 30 bedrooms it has retained all the attributes of cleanliness, friendliness and impeccable service that you would wish from a family-run hotel. As this is an area much populated by artists, there is no shortage of beautiful paintings adorning the walls - for sale, of course, but that doesn't detract from their appeal. The food is excellent - particularly the porridge at breakfast! We met people who had been going for 40 years, and while at their age they might have complained about having to climb a flight of stairs they seemed entirely happy.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TimW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfanaghy
2.7 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
927 reviews
5.3 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
278 reviews
13.6 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
13.7 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
5.4 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnolds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnolds Hotel

Address: Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunfanaghy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunfanaghy
Price Range: $99 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arnolds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of discovery at the Arnold Family Hotel, Dunfanaghy overlooking Sheephaven Bay on the Wild Atlantic Way. Explore the hidden gems of the local area steeped in History, Heritage, Culture and Music. Established in 1922 the Arnold Family hotel is renowned for excellence in food and hospitality using locally sourced produce. Indulge the senses and your passion for good food and wine in local Cafes and restaurants. Visit the local historic sites, explore miles of scenic walks, hidden coves and sandy beaches off the beaten track. Go Horse Riding, Golfing, Surfing and Fishing. Cycle the highways and byways, go island hopping to Tory and Arranmore. Visit the local Art Galleries, The Famine Heritage Centre and the Village Craft Shops. Donegal is simply paradise Local Attractions: Killahoey Beach, Horn Head Discovery Point 9 Mile scenic Drive and Walk overlooking Tory Island, the Errigal to Muckish Mountain Ranges. Glenveagh National Park, The Glebe Gallery, The Ards Peninsula, Ards Forest Park, Bloodyforeland, The Atlantic Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Arnolds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing