We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Arnolds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arnolds Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunfanaghy
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having visited Sheephaven Bay for forty years now, since I was a baby, I've never had cause to stay at Arnold's until now but I wasn't disappointed. At very short notice, in high season, they were good enough to find the last room in the house for me, so I was in luck!!

Over the years the family has put every effort into turning this village hotel into a real hub and there's a very lively atmosphere in the foyer as locals combine with residents to attend charity pub quizzes, have a drink, a snack or similar. Lovely turf fire - real, not gas. Lovely silent parlour off the foyer - very nice for reading.

Hotel is softly decorated and lit to create a relaxing atmosphere which is replicated in the bedrooms.

I have utmost faith in the hygiene and general standards of the Arnold family - at all times the premises is spotless throughout.

Delicious breakfast

I strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Morris_Howth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    115
    30
    16
    10
See reviews for
76
168
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Extremely clean hotel with very friendly staff - especially front desk and bistro bar. Great views of the bay and downtown. I would stay here again. I recommend it to everyone traveling to Dunfanaghy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickWHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeArnou, Owner at Arnolds Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Arnolds Hotel on your recent cycling vacation around Ireland. I trust you enjoyed your tour through the magnificent diverse landscapes around the Emerald Isle. We appreciate your positive feedback on your holiday experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arnold Family Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

During a wonderful holiday in Donegal we had the opportunity to sample the bar bistro food at Arnold's
Hotel. We had afternoon tea and dinner. The food was wholesome and locally sourced. Try the pan fried mackerel on toasted wheaten bread with rhubarb compote. The service was friendly and very efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank epicu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeArnou, Owner at Arnolds Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for dropping by Arnolds Hotel during your recent holiday to Donegal. We really appreciate your positive feedback on your dining experience with us in particular Afternnon Tea and dinner. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arnold Family Hotel next time you are in Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed at Arnolds for 3 nights, absolutely great place to stay, food fantastic and good value for money.We had the Irish night special fantastic. lovely rooms and staff very pleasant. Scenery great and beaches just right.

Room Tip: No need to park in car park as its easier to unload cases from outside or across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normskiStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeArnou, Owner at Arnolds Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Arnolds Hotel during your recent trip to Donegal..It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we really appreciate your positive feedback on your holiday experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arnold Family Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just home from 2 night stay in Arnolds hotel .First class stay .Staff catered for every need ,and could not do enough us also the boss was at front desk and always greeted you with a friendly word .We had one of the front bedrooms and we had a great view across the bay . Will be giving this hotel another visit in the future ..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeArnou, Owner at Arnolds Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing Arnolds Hotel, Dunfanghy Co Donegal for your recent leisure break. We really appreciate your positive feedback on your holiday experience with us in particular the quality of service and hospitality you received from management and staff. Sheephaven Bay is a very scenic location with lots of activities and scenic walks and drives for you to discover which makes it very popular with visitors. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Arnold Family Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our two night stay at Arnold's got off to a great start when receptionist Laura warmly greeted us at check-in. In fact all the staff we dealt with were warm and helpful. Our room was above reception facing the sea and was well-proportioned. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom, while a little dated in terms of design and decor, had everything one needed. We ate in the restaurant on our first evening and in the bar on our second. The mussels my wife had in the restaurant were among the best she ever had in Ireland she declared. High praise indeed from a Belgian! All the food we had in the hotel was tasty and well presented - not gourmet standard but perfectly acceptable for a hotel at this price point. Breakfast included the usual suspects, headed up by a good Full Irish but I would have preferred somewhat meatier sausages having recently been spoiled by McGettigan's award-winning sausages from Donegal town. The hotel has pleasant public areas for sitting around the reception area and the quiet Glenveagh Room for relaxing. We did not see any lift in the building so anyone with restricted mobility should be aware of this. The bar had traditional music on our second night which was provided by locals Dave and Ernin on guitar and fiddle and very entertaining it was too. Dunfanaghy has a beautiful beach and is a great location to tour Glenveagh National Park from (which we did). And Horn Head across the bay from the hotel is a must visit on a clear day - just make sure you get your map of the head from Laura before you set out to get the most of your visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea (eg room #5) for spectacular sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tablepourdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I've just come home from another visit to County Donegal, Ireland. This was my second visit to Dunfanaghy, and Arnolds Hotel. I can't say enough about my stay ay Arnolds. The hotel it self was wonderful. The most important part of the hotel is the staff. They are the greatest bunch of people I've ever met. From the front desk, to the housekeepers, you couldn't ask for better. . The dining was great, and the folks at Whiskey Fly Pub were terrific. I would highly recommend Arnolds to anyone travelling to Donegal. .It's a great location to visit many of the great sites of Donegal, and the staff are more than willing to help with suggestions, and directions. I'm looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENNYMOWDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfanaghy
2.7 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
5.3 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
18.0 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
23.6 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnolds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnolds Hotel

Property: Arnolds Hotel
Address: Dunfanaghy | Co Donegal, Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunfanaghy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunfanaghy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arnolds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embark on a journey of discovery at the Arnold Family Hotel, Dunfanaghy overlooking Sheephaven Bay on the Wild Atlantic Way. Explore the hidden gems of the local area steeped in History, Heritage, Culture and Music. Established in 1922 the Arnold Family hotel is renowned for excellence in food and hospitality using locally sourced produce. Indulge the senses and your passion for good food and wine in local Cafes and restaurants. Visit the local historic sites, explore miles of scenic walks, hidden coves and sandy beaches off the beaten track. Go Horse Riding, Golfing, Surfing and Fishing. Cycle the highways and byways, go island hopping to Tory and Arranmore. Visit the local Art Galleries, The Famine Heritage Centre and the Village Craft Shops. Donegal is simply paradise Local Attractions: Killahoey Beach, Horn Head Discovery Point 9 Mile scenic Drive and Walk overlooking Tory Island, the Errigal to Muckish Mountain Ranges. Glenveagh National Park, The Glebe Gallery, The Ards Peninsula, Ards Forest Park, Bloodyforeland, The Atlantic Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Arnolds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing