We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the puffins”
Review of The Whins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunfanaghy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Whins
Ranked #5 of 7 Dunfanaghy B&B and Inns
Lourdes, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Close to the puffins”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A very warm welcome from Anne-Marie and her charming mother and children. A very good level of comfort and an excellent breakfast. We had come with tons of camera equipment to make a few shots of the sea-birds and particularly of the puffins on Horn Head but unfortunately the puffins had not arrived yet. If they had we would have happily stayed longer and enjoyed the company of this friendly family and their charming ‘karate kid’

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daddycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Really nice and homely, well furnitured, very comfy bed, clean and warm. Great choice for breakfast! Check on http://www.thewhins.com/

Dunfanaghy itself worth to stay for few days at least:)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed here on our tour of Ireland. This is a quiet B&B a few minutes outside of town. The hosts including Ann Marie were very nice. The views from the upstairs breakfast and tea room are beautiful. We pretty much used this B&B as a place to rest since we had been in Ireland for two weeks at this point. We did walk into town and enjoy a good meal at Arnold's Hotel one night and a pizza at one of the cafes the next night. The B&B itself is well decorated and makes for a great place to rest for a day. Everything was fine from our rooms to breakfast. Wi-fi worked better in our rooms than it did in the tea room. Also, the hot water in the shower never really got that hot but was plenty warm enough. The B&B is located about a 5 minute walk outside of town along the main road. When we left Dunfanaghy we drove to Glenveagh National Park. Both the drive and the park are well worth it. If you have a Heritage Card both the Castle and the bus ticket to transport to the Castle are free. Normally, they would total 8 euros. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tngl4ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We can't say enough about this B & B. Beautiful home, with a fabulous view, as well as comfortable, inviting rooms.
I had booked the wrong dates, and Annmarie graciously accomodated us in a different room. She apologized, saying it was the room "of last resort". We were totally pleased, and can only imagine that the other rooms must be spectacular!
Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and filling. Unless you have a huge appetite, the mini Irish breakfast is plenty of food.
The second morning I had the cheese, meat, fruit & chutney plate, and it was one of the best breakfasts ever!
Annmarie and Grace are both very friendly, and the little boy and "his" dog a delight to watch.
Don't pay any attention to the French review that calls this home average. It is a five star in every way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank countessofcrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed in the Whins over the weekend. We have been regular visitors to Dunfanaghy for many years and have stayed in the Whins on several occasions. This is our first visit for almost 3 years.

We were warmly welcomed by Anne-Marie on arrival and shown to our room. Anne-Marie always has time to stop and chat to all her guests and she always delivers a personal touch. Rooms are always tastefully decorated and very clean.

There is a living room upstairs specifically for guests, where there are tea and coffee making facilities and chocolate muffins! There are great views over the golf course and Horn Head from this room. Here you can sit and relax and read some of the books and guides provided.

Breakfast is always very good with a great choice and made and served by Anne-Marie's mother who is also very friendly and helpful.

All in all one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in and always a great standard of service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Drewsky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Anne Marie was our hostess in this lovely, well decorated, antique furnished B&B. We were made very comfortable with tea and muffins and were very welcomed. The breakfast is deliciously prepared by Anne Marie's mother, who is just as warm and welcoming as our hostess. We slept soundly in this comfortable bed. The guest are has a large picture window overlooking the beach/sea on the other side of the roadway. We felt very fortunate that we selected this B&B. Next trip, we will stay more than only 1 night. There are many walking trails for the adventurous traveler! We only completed one trail, but would like to return for others. I would recommend Ireland's north-west area for those travelers who are more interested in the heritage, rugged beauty and adventurous exploration without the high volume of tourist traffic. We had a wonderful time here. We explored County Donegal for 2 days- Ramelton, Fanad Head/Fanad Drive, Carrigart, Rosguill Peninsula/Atlantic Drive, Dunfanaghy, Glenveagh National Park, Bloody Foreland. This area you could really spend 4-5 days to take in the Bloody Foreland, see Slieve League, town of Donegal, Gortaork/Gweedore, etc. Rugged, spectacular and impressive!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The rooms were very nicely decorated and the bed comfortable and large. The owner was very nice, helpful, and personable. The location is about an 8-10 minute walk from town. The B&B is right across from the beach, so the location is very pretty and peaceful. I liked the emphasis on being green and recylcling at this B&B. The sitting room was nice and comfortable. This is and excellent B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank off_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunfanaghy
0.0 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Corcreggan Mill
Corcreggan Mill
#1 of 3 in Dunfanaghy
240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ionad Siuil Luxury Accommodation
Ionad Siuil Luxury Accommodation
#2 of 3 in Glencolmcille
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mevagh House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Whins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whins

Property: The Whins
Address: Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunfanaghy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dunfanaghy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing