We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Comfy!”
Review of Ferndale B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enniskerry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferndale B&B
Ranked #3 of 6 Enniskerry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent 3 weeks in Ireland, never staying longer than 2 days in any one BnB, so we've seen our share. Ferndale has the most amazing gardens of anywhere we stayed by FAR. It was in a perfect location to walk anywhere in Enniskery, and the hosts were extremely helpful and sweet. We got coffee and cookies when we arrived and were helped up to our room. Beds were super comfortable, which we found was somewhat rare, and the room was lovely and had a great view of the city. Could not have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meatball2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 169 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

First, I would like to acknowledge the proprietors of this wonderful B&B. Josie and Noel would do anything to ensure the comfort and enjoyment of their guests. From the wonderful breakfasts they provided to the helpful and informed suggestions for restaurants, sightseeing, how to get around etc. They were not just reactive but proactive in the level and types of service they provided. Not having a car was fine as public transportation (bus) is steps from the house. You can walk anywhere in this small village to access great restaurants, the famous Powerscourt Gardens (which is a GREAT place for lunch, btw!), pubs with music etc. The house itself is really lovely - even better than the photos. You don't have to stay cooped up in your room. When not out and about, we relaxed in the stunning garden with gazebo, parlor/livingroom or sunroom. Our bedroom was beautiful, comfortable and immaculate! Ferndale B&B was our homebase for a few days. We did a day trip to Dublin (happy to come back to lovely and quiet Enniskerry after a hectic day of sightseeing in a fun but hectic city), an afternoon in Powerscourt and finally, to the highlight of our trip -- Glendalough. This is a MUST-SEE, especially if you love walking! http://www.glendalough.ie/ So, thank you, Josie & Noel for your most gracious hospitality in your beautiful home in wonderful Enniskerry!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is an excellent bed and breakfast. Josie and Noel went above and beyond what we expected. Because we booked quite late, we had to stay in the Powerscourt Arms hotel for one night in the middle of our stay. In Ferndale therefore, we stayed 2 nights in one room, then when we came back, swapped with our friends into another room, then the last night in another room, which was explained to us by Josie as she had a long standing booking from last August. We therefore stayed in 3 different rooms. Each room was beautifully clean, with expensive egyptian cotton white bedding,extremely comfortable mattresses and pillows and lovely polished antique furniture. The ensuite bathrooms were very clean, and I cannot understand the references to hot water, as we had it all the day. Josie recommended Emilio's the first night, which was great. Noel was very helpful and gave my husband lots of instruction of how to get to various places, also his garden was a picture. The breakfast was excellent,lovely full Irish or smoked salmon and any combination,plus fresh fruit salad, yoghurt,prunes, grapefruit, and Josie's homemade soda bread and sultana bread which was delicious. Lashings of toast,tea, coffee etc,all served at a huge dining table so you had the chance to talk to other visitors and exchange experiences.Enniskerry is a super little village, we went to the Old Forge on Fathers day, and they had an Irish duo, Gypsy Lacey, who were fantastic.This a a great place to stay, and we would stay again without hesitation. The hosts, Josie and Noel treated us so well and we had a great laugh with them, felt as though we were friends rather than visitors.

Room Tip: Room three has is the largest of the ones we stayed in, with the biggest bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We recently completed a 3 week vacation during which we around the entire island of Ireland. Over 20 nights we stayed in 18 different Bed & Breakfasts, paying between €50 to €80, and £60 to £65 in Northern Island. This review is based upon the relative merits of Ferndale with respect to other B&Bs that we visited.
Ferndale is an excellent Bed & Breakfast. We paid €70 for one night stay (we had a cold breakfast of fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice) – we stayed in Room 2. The parking lot for Ferndale was big enough to allow us to easily park our rental car (driving on the opposite side of the road, with the manual gear shift in my “wrong” hand left me acutely aware of parking issues in Ireland). There is a big garden in the back, which shows an impressive amount of tremendous gardening talent. There is a sun room you can sit in. The actual rooms aren’t too big, but we spent most of our time out exploring.
The best part of Ferndale is it location with respect to the Powerscourt Estate. The friendly Ferndale proprietor explained that you simply walk up the hill, turn right at the church, and after about a mile of walking you will be there. So we walked to Powerscourt and had nice visit of the famous gardens.
Ferndale is located in Enniskerry, which is a tiny town. For evening entertainment, we went out walking, and found a park called Knocksink Woods and did a short hike there.
Ferndale is easy to find – Enniskerry is so small you really can’t miss it.
Payment was requested in cash, apparently the phone companies in Ireland charge an exorbitant fee to maintain a line for processing credit card transactions.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Beautiful house and gardens. Friendly hosts. Delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in Enisskerry overnight prior to walking part of the Wicklow Way. We caught the 44 bus from Dublin and the B&B is right next to the bus stop. It provided an excellent start to our Irish walking expereience. Enniskerry is a charming, tiny village, the B&B is in a lovely traditional style house, with interesting antique furniture and we had an excellent cooked breakfast - scrambled eggs and smoked salmon for me, full Irish for my husband - which kept us going all day on our walk through to Roundwood. Best of all, Josie was exceptionally helpful in organising a very friendly reliable local taxi driver who drove us to the start of our walk and then transported our suitcases to our next B&B in Roundwood.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyl050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This is a great B&B in the charming village of Enisskerry. The house is lovely and very comfortable (large brass beds). The dining room is beautiful with a lovely large garden behind the house (and plenty of parking). The small village is quaint with some nice restaurants. The location is very convenient to Powerscourt and all of the northern Wicklow area. A cozy and comfortable retreat!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank MJMacM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Enniskerry hotels
0.1 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
635 reviews
0 mi away
Powerscourt Arms Country House
0.9 mi away
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale B&B

Address: Enniskerry, Enniskerry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Enniskerry
Price Range: $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ferndale Bed And Breakfast
Ferndale Hotel Enniskerry
Ferndale B&B Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing