We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only for the room! Food was v disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Only for the room! Food was v disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Like the heading. Only for the beautiful room we would have bailed out I think. Hubby booked as a treat away as I am pregnant and have been ill. We arrived early to get some lunch and make the most of our night away. However lunch was less than average. Very uninterested waitress, dirty glasses and medicore prawn cocktail ans steak sandwich. Very disappointing. But we were so excited at the thought of our evening meal in the restaurant ww scrapped it off. But dinner was just as disappointing. The fillet steak was well done as opposed to medium and no real taste. The waiter was very pleasant but with the hype about this restaurant we were underwhelmed. Also I am sorry but a buffet breakfast where you have to queue in a line for eggs is not acceptable for me in a 5 star hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnywawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Dawnywawny,
Thank you for your review, I am glad to see you were able to enjoy the room you received during g your stay however I do apologise for the issues experienced while dining in the hotel. If you wish to share your feedback in more details directly with us please contact me directly at paul.hand@powerscourthotel.com and I will ensure your feedback is passed on directly to our Food & Beverage and Culinary management teams.

Best Wishes,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,640
    421
    167
    72
    57
See reviews for
475
1,196
33
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I recently stayed in the Powerscourt Hotel in Enniskerry with my family for an overnight break.
From the moment we arrived we received the warmest of welcomes from Robbie the Head Concierge who could not have done more for us during our short stay.

The hotel itself is stunning, and you will struggle to find better in all of Ireland, but for me its the quality of service, the friendliness and genuine hospitality we received from the staff that we encountered, which made our stay such a memorable experience.

I have to highlight two very memorable experiences my Children will not forget. The first was Robbie arranged a golf buggy for us to tour the estate. He also supplied blankets to ensure we did not get cold. This was really lovely and an incredible way to explore the estate and I highly recommend the River Walk.

Second, Dara the Director of Food & Beverage arranged a visit to the Pastry Kitchen where my young Son got to taste some of the delicious chocolate treats the Pastry Chef was working on. Most kids love to cook and for him to see a real pastry Kitchen in action was a wonderful experience.

We were so well looked after and its clear that the team under General Manager David Websters leadership are doing an outstanding job, and I wish them every success in the future.

Did I forget we had the most amazing breakfast on Sunday morning on the outdoor terrace in the blazing Sun on a March morning in Ireland overlooking the Sugar Loaf Mountain, now that really capped a wonderful 24 hours.

Thank you Robbie, Dara, David and all the Team at the Powerscourt Hotel.

We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConradDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear ConradDublin,

Thank you for such a kind and comprehensive review. We are so glad to see we were able to exceed your expectations on your recent visit and you got to enjoy all the hotel and Powerscourt Estate have to offer. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to Robbie, Dara, David and all the team here at the hotel.
We do hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.

Best Wishes,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed 6wks after the birth of our second baby and I can truly say it was perfect from start to finish, we have stayed in hotels all over the world, Dubai possibly being the best but this has to be on par with the service, food and ambience. On check in we where upgraded to a superior room and it was fab. Staff could not do enough for us. So I would seriously recommend this hotel to anyone and is close enough to Dublin for a tourist, hop on the bus and the hotel will happily pick you up in the hotel jeep! We had dinner in the village and we where dropped down and picked up within 5 mins of call. So if you want luxury this is the place to be. Regards , A very happy new mommy !

Room Tip: No need to worry the reservation staff will look after that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cait27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear cait27,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your child free relaxing break with us. I am sure other reviewers will find your tips on our local area helpful when planning their visit to Powerscourt.

Best Wishes,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

From the moment we walked in, we felt like we were walking into a small family run hotel. The staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We arrived looking to switch off for two nights and relax. The hotel was very busy but we still felt like we had our own space to enjoy and relax!! I highly recommend sitting down by the fire in the evening and enjoy an excellent guinness. That is if you can drag yourself away from the comfort of the room!! Make sure to go for a walk, try the spa (stress-buster recommended) and eat in Sika or just lock yourself in your room. Two nights was never enough

Room Tip: A view of the sugar loaf is fantastic to wake up too
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordonwdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Gordonwdarcy,

Thank you for such a kind review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Wishes,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

My mum and I always try to come here for a girly weekend at least once a year. Its the perfect place to relax. Staff are very helpful and the scenery and atmosphere are perfect to unwind with. To anyone who needs a break, this is the place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireMSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear ClaireMSB,

Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear both you and your mum continue to enjoy your annual visits and look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.

Best Wishes,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend decided to stay here again (we visited 3 years ago) if anything the hotel has improved from our last wonderful stay. The grounds and surroundings are breathtaking, the rooms are luxurious and the service could not be faulted, they were friendly and attentive at every step but without being over bearing. My girlfriend loved the spa in particular, and has demanded a return visit! Basically we both felt very special and had an amazing two days. Thank you powers court!

Helpful?
2 Thank R0b_Mcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

As a lover of fancy hotels this was my first stay in Powerscourt. Overall I was just a little disappointed. The ESPA is fabulous and most definitely 5 star however everything else was a let down. Our first night away from our children in many years we booked a suite, the one we got looked out onto the wall of the carpark (€310pn!). We felt all the time under a compliment to some staff, for arranging us our room before 3pm (2pm) it was as if they were doing us a great deed, for 'fitting us' into their restaurant that only had 4 tables full at the time they managed to 'fit' us in. The chocolate bar in the room which cost €5 was best before 30Aug2013! This was on 21Mar2014!!!! Part of our experience was genuinely nice however lacking the little things that make you feel at home. No water in the rooms, no turndown service. A little deflated and out of pocket! Will run back to The Europe or lower grade hotels that provide a better experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear GCos13,
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your recent stay with us. I will ensure that the issued raised are reviewed by our Housekeeping team. I am glad that you enjoyed your time in ESPA and would hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Wishes,
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
10.0 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#19 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding among luxury five star hotels in Ireland and set amidst one of the most scenic and historic estates in the country is Powerscourt Hotel, a 200-room resort showcasing Palladian-style architecture and offering guests a host of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, County Wicklow Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Enniskerry
Enniskerry Ritz-Carlton
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing