We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed for 5 star.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

I was travelling with my husband, my mother and our two children. I had requested a classic suite with two beds and a superior deluxe room. I had asked for them to be close to each other (eg same floor). I also requested early checkin if possible. Lucky enough due to a tip from a friend I booked both lunch and dinner or like other reviewers I would have been left waiting. In the end we didn't get either room I requested we had to be changed to different rooms and myself and my husband ended up in a dark hole of a room looking out at a wall separated from my mother and children by reception and the lounge. And still charged the same. By the time we settled for what we got it was 5 o clock. No apology nothing. The swimming pool was packed but this happens when there is children but was very clean. The food was delicious but pricey and the drinks were extremely dear. Nearly €20 for two drinks. On checkout I was told a manager would ring to apologise but I never heard a thing. All in all nice hotel but serious problems with reservations.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kt-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear kt-bird,
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear about the confusion with your room assignment and the delay in getting into your rooms. We do always try our upmost to accommodate all guests requests for rooms together. Please accept my apologies for the lack of follow up.
Best Regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,576)
There are newer reviews for Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,574 - 1,580 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were at the Powerscourt in late October 2013. It is without a doubt the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in anywhere. The staff just went overboard to be helpful and go over and above in every area of service. The place was immaculate and beautifully decorated. There was a free taxi to nearby Enniskerry. The desk staff always helped us with our daily travel interaries, printing maps and offering brochures and friendly advice, bottles of water - just anything to make us feel welcome and pampered.
This was part of a GROUPON deal so we aren't sure what the rooms normally go for, but for us the whole experience was a fantastic bargain. If we could afford it, we'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshlandWeasel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear AshlandWeasel1,
Thank you for your positive review, we are glad to hear you felt pampered during your stay and look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Best Wishes,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel was absolutely amazing from the gorgeous golden décor to the fantastic staff whom bend over backward for guests. We stayed in a suite for the length of a week and we never felt claustrophobic in the slightest. The room was very welcoming and the electronic control panels situated throughout the rooms were fantastic and very fun to play with. Wonderful floor to ceiling windows that showcased the garden and it's sculptures. Now for the best part...the bathroom! The marble floors in the bathroom are HEATED, there is a television inlaid into the mirror with a surround sound wired throughout the bathroom, there is a massive soaking tub, and a rain shower head. The guest service was everything the Ritz Carlton stands for, going above and beyond for it's guests.

Pro's: The pool is located in the spa, but it is free; the chance of early check-in increases if you check-in Monday thru Thursday; the village of Enniskerry is only about 5 minute drive from the hotel with cozy restaurants!; the hotel will drop you off into town if you wish; McGill's is fantastic and reasonably priced; bicycle rentals are complimentary and the enormous hotel property is a beautiful ride.

Con's: The hotel is approximately 30 minutes outside the city of Dublin, the main highway to Dublin has tolls (it's toll system is a bit complicated, it's best to avoid if possible)

We had rented a car for our stay in Ireland, which is highly recommended as the transportation systems are not always reliable. If you do rent a car a GPS rental is a must!

Despite popular belief Ireland has a zero tolerance for DUI's, any alcohol in your system is grounds for an arrest, and the staff informed us the garda (police) have DUI check points.

If you are a smoker it would behoove you to know that only certain stores cell cigarettes and they are not on display. There is a heavy anti-smoking movement so do not be surprised if instead of a label on the pack it's a picture of a person with cancer. You are also not allowed to smoke in public area's, ask a local to find out where it is ok to smoke. If you are a non-smoker like we are you'll find it rather nice =)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Susie G,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us back in February 2013 and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Wishes,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I would not call this 5 star nor would I recommend this hotel. Our first night away from our baby and we were really looking forward to some peace and quiet, rest and rehabilitation and spoiling ourselves, celebrating our wedding anniversary in style. What we experienced was nothing short of noisy, poor service, rude staff and a massive bill. We were told we could not have afternoon tea in the bar as there were no tables and there was a waiting list. We were not asked if we would like to be added to the list and when we explained that we were hotel guests we were told that there was also another 299 hotel guests that wanted afternoon tea. Our room, whilst big and beautiful was situated above a kitchen or cutlery cleaning room of some sort as all we could hear was cutlery being cleaned, dropped and people talking. I called room service for some tea bags and fresh milk, 20 minutes later I called them again to find out where they were. We went for breakfast the next day to be told there were no tables and that 50 people were waiting, this is a meant to be a five star hotel surely they know how many guests to expect for breakfast and be able to cater for them. The spa managed to lose our booking although they were fabulous in how they handled the situation and I will happily recommend the spa and would not hesitate to visit again. In summary a wonderful spa definitely worth a visit but stay clear of the hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Collette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Collette M,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that your issue in the spa was resolved and that you enjoyed your time in ESPA at Powerscourt Hotel.
I am sorry to hear the hotel did not fully meet your expectations, if you wish to discuss these issues further please contact me directly at paul.hand@powerscourthotel.com

Warm Wishes,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place is great for golf, SPA, and a relaxing vacation. It is far 30-45 min from downtown, so if you are planning to explore the city daily it its not the best option. The staff was very accommodating and the food was very good.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Steve T,

Thank you for your review, we are glad to see you enjoyed all the resort has to offer and hope to welcome you back soon.
Best Wishes,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have read all the WOW reviews about the Powerscourt Hotel and wonder is it worth writing another? Well the answer is yes!!
The Hotel is super, everything is great, if you want to impress a client or special person near Dublin this is the place to do it. Could it be Ireland's only 6* Hotel?

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Appraisal4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Appraisal4U,
Thank you for your very kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us, we do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best Wishes,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel is beautiful and the rooms are something else plus the bathroom is enormous and food was great. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

The grounds around the hotel are lovely and very nice to walk around in the morning

I would recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurieruth25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Assistant Front of House Manager at Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear laurieruth25,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to here you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
7.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,071 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,327 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,320 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,048 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 150 in Dublin
3,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range: $184 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection offers outstanding luxury among 5-star hotels in Wicklow, Ireland. We are set amidst one of the most scenic and historic estates in the country, providing travellers with a a 200-room resort showcasing Palladian-style architecture and giving guests a host of amenities. At our hotel nestled in the hills of Enniskerry, 30 minutes from Dublin, you will find a spa, Powerscourt Golf Club, on-site restaurant and perfect accommodations offering easy access to rustic Enniskerry and all of County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, County Wicklow Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Enniskerry
Enniskerry Ritz-Carlton
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing