We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

Had the pleasure of staying here in mid-August on a 2 night special package which was, or sounded like, good value. Although we are generally very positive people, we were overall extremely unimpressed with this hotel. My sense is that, on balance, the negative reviews on tripadvisor give a better sense of what to expect – which is a very nice hotel with many problems.

The good:

1. The hotel is physically very beautiful.
2. The hotel is in a quiet and relatively secluded area. Nice for walks.Make sure to visit the House (no entry fee) and gardens (8 euro per person).
3. The surrounding countryside is some of the nicest in Ireland and the concierge service will help you plan a route. Ask for the route through the sally-gap to Glendalough. Scary roads, but if you take it slow it is no trouble.
4. Restaurant Gordon Ramsay is a jewel. Great service, amazing food. Expensive but great value. You will pay as much in many far inferior restaurants in Ireland.
5. Nice welcome gift of strawberries and three fresh roses on day 1 turndown. Very nice.

The bad:

1. We had a pretty bad experience with one of the three TVs turning on in the middle of the night – a little disconcerting to be suddenly awoken in this way. Absolutely unacceptable that this problem continues (per other reviews below).

2. No water / hot water: On day two we went to take a shower around 11 am to find that our room had no water (shower, bath, sink, toilet). I called and was told the hotel has a water problem and it would be fixed asap. Came back that evening around 6. We had water. Great. Time for bath before dinner. But we had no hot water. Called down to reception, spoke with Elizabelth who was very apologetic and assured us that hot water would be back in around 90 minutes. So we had to go to dinner without having washed all day.

Two points here: You expect water in any hotel, especially a 5 star. The true measure of a hotel is when things go wrong: why did I always have to contact reception to find out what was happening? I would have expected some kind of warning. Secondly, paying over 500 euro for a two night stay you expect to be able to sleep without a TV going off in the night and you expect water. If you don’t get it you expect some gesture form the hotel beyond a ‘sorry.’ We got nothing. A complimentary drink at dinner would have been nice or a look at the bill on check-out. Things go wrong, that is fine: you expect the response however to be professional and appropriate. It is not at this Ritz-Carlton.

3. Suites are poorly designed. Space is good but the location of the TV, for example, is crazy. You can’t easily watch TV sitting in the seated area or from bed. Absolutely crazy. Small point.

4. The hotel seemed to be relatively empty when we visited which was nice. Breakfast was still a disaster. On Wednesday morning at 9.30 we had to wait 15 minutes for a seat. That is absolutely crazy, especially as the hotel seemed otherwise quiet. I can’t imagine what it takes to get a seat on the weekends! Not that it is worth waiting 15 minutes for – the food is overcooked and cold! You really expect more than a bad buffet from this brand-name. Even the coffee was cold!

In summary, a lovely new hotel in need of a complete shake-up. In terms of non-physical aspects, this property is a complete embarrassment to the reputation of the Ritz-Carlton Group and needs some serious intervention by corporate HQ.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank sgm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,660
    427
    170
    72
    58
See reviews for
486
1,211
33
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2008

fantastic hotel and lovely friendly staff.we had a garden view suite and 255 euro for the bed and breakfast package it was good value..room was spacious and such a comfortable bed.we ate in mcgills and food was delicious. only gripe i have is there are no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. definatly will be back in the next couple of months.breakfast was buffet style.plenty to eat and no problems getting seated as previously stated in other reviews.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — no tea making in the rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank car39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

This hotel was amazing-pure bliss. On arrival we got upgraded to a junior suite and it was the best hotel room ive ever stayed in. It had a tv in the bathroom mirror, touch buttons for lights and walk in wardrobe.
The service was excellent, and the decor was first class. The food was great. The only compliant was there was problems with the bill when checking out., It wasnt that big a problem but shouldnt have happened for the standard.
Loved the hotel overall

  • Liked — the hotel room
  • Disliked — check out-few problems
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lucykath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

I'll get the bad stuff out of the way first: Do not be fooled by the rural setting. This is a spectacularly ugly building - looking like something from Las Vegas and approached across a sea of paving flags with minimal planting. Large areas of surface car parking abound and there is an enormous rectangular smoke stack, stained black with soot, to one side. The view from the main lounge comprises a distant view of the Sugar Loaf peak, with a helicopter landing pad and a poorly landscaped lawn (scarred by tractor tracks during our stay) in the foreground. This 'view' is framed by a row of ragged-looking pine trees. Now the good stuff: once we got over the poor first impression, our room was spacious, very luxurious, and attractively decorated. The bed was very very comfortable and the bathroom, toiletries, and large dressing room were all first class. The pool area was quiet and relaxing. The service was excellent and very friendly. Given its proximity to Dublin, this is an ideal place for a short Romantic getaway. Two final gripes - no slippers were provided in the bedroom; and the ceiling in the large Gordon Ramsey restaurant was so low that I got claustrophobic over my breakfast (I am average height and could easily touch the ceiling).

  • Liked — The luxurious bedroom
  • Disliked — Incredibly ugly building; completely out of keeping with its setting.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpobDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor County Down
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed one night at the Ritz Carlton Powerscourt last Saturday. We were upgraded to a suite. I had previously eaten at Gordon Ramsay's and enjoyed the experience immensely.
Check in was straightforward and we were accompanied to our suite by the receptionist.
The technology takes some understanding and is not entirely intuitive! The bed was excellent and ensured a super night's sleep. Evening turn down brought two small bottles of water - perhaps larger would be more appropriate.
We ate dinner in McGills pub where service was impeccable and food was good. We had been out at a function and did not want the full Ramsay experience and had not tried to book it.

Breakfast in Gordon Ramsay's was delightful - an outstandingly imaginative buffet and the offer of cooked eggs or anything else - this was a little vague to say the least. The lack of a menu may be a problem to some I suspect especially buffet haters -no matter how good it is!
We did not try the spa or other facilities as we were heading off quickly on Sunday morning.
Overall a great experience and attentive staff.

  • Liked — Luxury
  • Disliked — Rain - not their fault!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangotangocharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

This is a very busy RC, not simply in terms of rooms & suites, of the 200 rooms, there are 124 suites, but also in terms of Banqueting. The Hotel's ballroom can accommodate 400 for dinner or a wedding reception & the RC also had the Catering Contract for the event suite in Powerscourt House, that www is linked to the RC site, so there may be various events and particularly wedding receptions present should you be staying at the weekend. So, possibly the difference between this & any other RC's might be evident in the number of guests that are attending functions rather than staying for pleasure. The prices should be no surprise for regular RC-ers, but there are some odd charges like Valet parking for example. The staff are well trained, well turned out, with a gratifying mix of non-nationals & Irish backgrounds. The building is beautifully designed (Palladian) in the usual Clubby wood panelled RC style (Georgian), and the design & layout of the Banqueting Rooms are particularly glorious, especially the Wine Room available for private hire. The other great aspect of the design is that the Sudo- Irish Bar & all the event suites are located in a separate wing of the property & not on the bedroom, reception, restaurant crescent. The rooms are stunning & there are many pics already on this site for perusal, Bulgari toiletries are always luxurious! Just be mindful of the views-back get the manicured formal gardens below reception & front gets the mountain & the horrible helipad-just remember to focus on the mountain instead!
The Gordon Ramsay restaurant was excellent, both with regard to food & service & we believe quite reasonably priced for the food quality, decor & service provided.
For an extra treat, book the Chef's table in the Kitchen (max of 10 people) its only 150 Euros per person.
The only niggle was Breakfast-as any well seasoned traveller knows- Saturday & Sunday morning Breakfasts are always a challenge for any property to deliver successfully. The RC attempts to ease the queuing numbers by opening the casual all-day dining venue(Sugar Loaf) on the reception level & this does feel like a poor relation to the GR restaurant breakfast on the lower level, complete with greats views & the terrace!
The Spa & pool complex is simply beautiful & one of the best designed & chic areas we have ever witnessed- you must give it a try & also for the non-child friendly guest, there are the restricted kids hours- a kid free pool-Fantastic!
We would recommend this Hotel & it is great to see a RC on the Island of Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2008

Before arrival and the reservation Process:
I telephoned the UK Reservations number on 0800 234 000, whilst I normally make my reservations through the RC website, on this occasion I was unable to find my preferred Club Suite and thought the reservation agent may be able to help with this.
It took over five minutes for an agent to answer the telephone, when I finally managed to speak to a member of staff she gave the impression that she was reading off a script, the interaction was very slow and almost comical. She asked various questions such as if we had stayed at a Ritz Carlton before? And if we were celebrating anything special? When I said that we had just come back from Japan and stayed at your Tokyo and Osaka properties there was just silence, I was expecting some small talk about the holiday.

I also mentioned that it was my partner’s Birthday and that is why we were staying at the Powerscourt premises, I assumed this would have been noted and perhaps a birthday card or a small acknowledgement made on arrival but we received neither.

Restaurant booking:
We were booked on a Gordon Ramsey Dining Experience rate. The reservations agent advised me that the restaurant would be in touch to take our dinner reservation.

No telephone call was received; I had to send an email and was telephoned back by the Gordon Ramsey Restaurant Team.

Concierge Request:
We sent a service request through the Ritz Carlton website asking for information on the wooden sculpture park at Ashford including opening times and directions.

I received an email back from Robbie Smyth on the 3rd June confirming my request; he stated that he had a map showing the sculpture of the woodland on it. He stated he couldn’t find the opening times but had telephoned them and left them a message and as soon as he heard anything he would email us back. No email was received so we assumed the information including the map would be waiting for us in our suite on arrival. It wasn’t there. We went to the Concierge desk and spoke to Alan who had no knowledge of the request and asked us to come back in 10 minutes when his colleague would be there. We asked if perhaps his colleague could telephone us in our room.
His colleague did ring us later that afternoon but no information had been passed on regarding what we were inquiring about, we therefore had to explain everything again. Finally the Chef Concierge arranged for the information to be brought to our room.

Brochure Request:
We made a request for a hotel brochure through the RC website using the “Service Request” function. We requested a hotel brochure as we wanted to show our family where we were going as we had planned to spend Christmas at the Powerscourt hotel in 2009 and this would have been a trial run to check the property out.

On our initial contact we received an on screen acknowledgement that the request had been sent and we would hear from the hotel soon.

No brochure was received after a week so we sent a second request, this time by using “Contact Hotel “and selecting “General Brochure Requests”, we received an on screen acknowledgement but still no brochure.

Finally about a week before our stay we sent a final request, again by the “Brochure Request” link, we still to this day await the delivery of the brochure.

Arrival:
We arrived at the hotel to an initial impression of a large grand hotel. We found a parking space right next to the entrance (parking bay number one!).

A member of staff saw us arrive but instead of coming over and welcoming us or asking if we needed any help with our luggage they just ignored us and started talking to a van driver making a delivery at the entrance.

We walked to the door and made our way into the lobby, again completely ignored by the staff outside.

Check-in
We approached the reception desk and were greeted by a friendly receptionist who issued our key card and called a member of staff over to show us to our room and help with luggage. There were no issues with the check-in process.

The Garden View Suite
The member of staff accompanied us to our suite; he gave us a quick introduction to the hotels facilities and explained what the suite offered.

As soon as we entered the suite (Room 237) we both commented on how hot the room was. The member of staff checked the air conditioning and turned it down from 20° to 19° which he said was the lowest it would go but admitted it was very warm.

He explained how to operate the electronic console and the other room facilities. I asked if there was any bottled water to be told that it was in the honour bar and available for a nominal charge (this turned out to be €5.25 for a 50cl bottle).

I then asked where the tea & coffee making facilities were only to be told that the room doesn’t have any however you could call down for tea and coffee, there was no mention of any cost to this.
The initial impression of the Garden View Suite is that it is a good size and attractively decorated to the usual high Ritz Carlton standards.

It wasn’t until we had unpacked and had time to explore the room further that we started to become disappointed.

The door handle to the bathroom double doors came off in my hand, and then the handle to the toilet door did the same.

There were two wardrobes of a good size but only one of them had any hangers and then only eight were supplied. We were only stopping one night but we still had our dinner outfits, gym wear, the next day’s clothing, and an extra change of clothing just in-case not to mention our jackets.

The bathroom was beautiful but again lacked the finishing touches, no cotton wool pads, no shaving kit, no toothbrush or mouthwash, no hair brush or comb all these items have been readily available in the room at every RC hotel we have stayed in.
Again the living room was lacking the little touches that make RC the high class brand that it is. There was no DVD player or sound system in the room, only the 32” LCD TV which you had to pay for movies or music from.

There was inadequate glassware for a suite, two wine glasses and two tall tumblers, not suitable for drinking a liqueur from the honour bar and not enough for entertaining any guests if you wished to do so.

No bottle opener or corkscrew to open any of the honour bar drinks with despite the service guide stating there should be one. Neither were there any cocktail stirrers to mix a gin and tonic with.

There was no welcome letter or complimentary fruit, not to mention a total lack of recognition for our past custom with RC and no acknowledgement of my partner’s birthday.

The concierge information we asked for (see above) wasn’t in our room on arrival and no confirmation of our dinner reservation in the Gordon Ramsey Restaurant.

When we booked our room we were told it would be a “Garden View Suite” with views overlooking landscaped gardens and the surrounding Powerscourt Estate. The RC website also confirms this information. What view did we get? A ground floor view of a fire escape, the rear entrance to a pub, the door to the Kids Club, a few over grown shrubs, cigarette ends and lots of weeds on an internal courtyard.

Thankfully the hotel was quiet and the Pub was closed (a separate matter), I would have been even more upset if we had suffered noise from children in the kids club or noise from those on the smoking area of the pub. I also wouldn’t have been happy regarding the lack of privacy, we did have a net curtain but that doesn’t stop the feeling of being overlooked.

I would probably expect an exaggerated statement such as this from a package tour operator but never from a Ritz Carlton.
As I said before the room is fantastic in size and internal appearance but it is these little touches that make a hotel what it is, especially in a suite.

Anyway let me continue with the problems.....
We had now unpacked our luggage and I was hoping to take a sleep before dinner as we had been awake since 0430hrs that morning.

Unfortunately the temperature in the room was getting hotter and hotter and we were now both nearly passing out.

I telephoned reception at 1515hrs and explained the problem, I also told them about the two door handles that had come off in my hand. I was told that an engineer would attend to our room within about 15 minutes.

Whilst we were waiting for the engineer we decided to order some tea. My partner pressed the in room dining button only to be greeted by an automatic message asking if we knew the extension number and to enter it. He tried again and this time a member of staff answered only to say he needed in room dining and they would have to transfer the call (it was in room dining that was pressed!).

The tea arrived for us to discover a charge of €5 each plus a €4 service charge.

I have no problem paying for items ordered from room service and a service charge is expected. However it is also expected that a Five Star hotel would have the appropriate facilities to prepare your own hot drinks within your room. Again this has never been a problem in a RC before.

The RC website lists the following facilities for a Garden View Suite:

Food & Beverages
• Room service, 24-Hour
• Bottled water, complimentary
• Instant hot water
• Mini-bar

I would assume by listing “Instant hot water” under Food & Beverages that it would mean there were the means to make a hot drink. I also question where the complimentary bottled water is.

The tea was delivered without any biscuits (the little touches missing again) and no lemon for the earl grey.

I asked for some lemon and waited another 10 minutes while the member of staff went to get some. By the time they had brought it to the room the tea was no longer hot.

Fed up and totally disappointed the time was now 1600hrs and still no engineer had arrived. The heat was getting worse and I now had a throbbing headache. I telephoned again; I was given an apology and was promised a call back.

I was called a few minutes later by reception to be told that an engineer is working on the problem and would be up in about 15 minutes to fix the door handles. They asked if I would like to speak to a Manager about the problems, I said that I would and she told me that the Manager would be asked to make contact.
The maintenance gentleman arrived at the suite at 1610hrs and apologised for the problem. He confirmed that the room was “boiling hot” and stated that the problem had been caused by a fault on the main heating valve that had been turned to be fully on causing excessive heat to enter the system and instead of blowing cold air it was blowing hot air. He stated this had affected several rooms and that cold air should start to blow through.

He fixed the door handles and advised me to call back in an hour if the room hadn’t cooled down.

At 1640hrs I received a call from the “Call Centre” asking if Maintenance had been to the room. I confirmed that they had and told them what they had said. I also told her that the room was still very hot, it was not getting any cooler, the air conditioning was blowing cold air now but the fan speed was so low (it was set to high) that it would take hours to even notice any change.
I also told the call centre that I wasn’t happy that the Manager hadn’t made contact within the last 40 minutes; she apologised and said she would pass my comments on to the Management team.

Five minutes later I received a telephone call from Patric Werner the Duty Manager. I explained that we were un-happy with the suite, the problems with the heating, the door handles, the lack of view and lack of facilities. He said he would try and find a cooler room and ring us back.

At 1705hrs we received a further call from Patric stating he was outside and he offered to show us to a different suite to see if it was suitable.

The suite we were shown was room number 242 a Mountain View Suite. As soon as we entered the corridor outside our room we noticed the lovely cool air and Patric commented on the heat from our original room.

The Mountain View Suite
We confirmed the new suite was suitable and Patric then helped us move all of our clothes and baggage to our new room.
Unfortunately there was now no chance of having a quick sleep before dinner, my headache was worse than ever and we were very disappointed.

I do ask why the first suite wasn’t checked before our arrival as it was very evident how hot the room was. It could also have been picked up by the person who escorted us to our room. Instead we were made to wait over 2 hours until we were moved.

Whilst I appreciate we had in theory been given an upgrade to this new suite there was no other form of service recovery.
I did ask Patric to arrange for some tea and coffee making facilities and some complimentary water to be brought to the new suite which was done whilst we were getting ready. The only problem was the bottled water was poured into the kettle for some reason.

Again this new suite was missing some of the smaller things that make a five star hotel what it is. The bottle that should contain bath salts was empty, again no shaving kit etc. No fruit in the suite, half of the magazines in the suite were out of date, four large wardrobes but again only eight hangers in one of the wardrobes and none in the others.

The closet in the entrance hallway for hanging coats had no hangers to put them on. No tissues in the guest bathroom and only one hand towel.

The TV in the living room is in the wrong place as you can’t see it directly from the sofa; it also suffers with noise distortion due to the cabinet it has been placed in.

No sound system or DVD player despite plenty of space for one.
A suite is often used for entertaining guests yet again there were only two wine glasses and two tumblers, no cocktail stirrers, all the same things missing as the previous suite.

There was a nice kitchen area with a coffee machine but no instructions on how to use it and no milk or sugar provided not to mention any cups, saucers, etc.

There were many empty cupboards in every room of the suite, perhaps some could be filled with some books, DVD’s, Music CD’s, Sound System, DVD Player, IPod Dock, Small box of chocolates or biscuits, all things that are common place in even a four star hotel.

The outdoor terrace was a nice feature however we were expecting fantastic views similar to those on the RC website. It was now that we realised that most of the landscaping pictures on the RC website are of the neighbouring Powerscourt estate and not the hotel grounds. Instead we had a view of grass leading to an overgrown area where the helicopter pad is located. Thankfully the view of the mountain distracted from the otherwise plain landscape. Why couldn’t a few colourful flower beds be added?

I’m sure by now you’ll think we are being picky and looking for problems. Unfortunately the problems kept leaping out at us and therefore that made us look in more detail at what exactly we were paying for.

Pre Dinner Drinks
We went to Restaurant Gordon Ramsey to have a pre dinner drink. After trying to remember what floor we were on and if we needed to go up or down in the lift (the floor number system is very confusing and we weren’t the only ones, even the staff hate it!!!), we arrived at the restaurant, we peered through the windows but couldn’t see any lounge to have a drink so we assumed we must use the Sugar Loaf Lounge.

At the Sugar Loaf Lounge we sat down at a table that had two dead roses in a small vase (very nice!), after five minutes a member of staff came over and offered us a menu. My partner chose champagne and I wanted a Strawberry Daiquiri. Unfortunately a Strawberry Daiquiri isn’t offered on the limited cocktail menu (6 cocktails from what I remember), I asked if the bar person could make one anyway. The member of staff went away and came back and told me it wouldn’t be possible. I therefore chose a Singapore Sling.

While we were waiting for our drinks, Patric came over to ask if everything was now running smoothly. I told him about the problem with the Strawberry Daiquiri, he went to the bar and also confirmed they couldn’t do one. I asked why there were unable to make such a simple drink, I pointed out that they had lime juice, strawberries, rum and sugar syrup as they were all formed part of the other cocktails so why couldn’t they put them all together to make a daiquiri?

Patric agreed that it seemed stupid and he asked me to leave it with him. He went off returning a few minutes later to state that Restaurant Gordon Ramsey would be able to make a Daiquiri for me when we went down. Our other drinks then arrived. Yes we finally got our Daiquiris but why couldn’t the Sugar Loaf Lounge make them, this is a five star hotel and I can’t believe the bar staff are so poorly skilled that they can’t make a simple cocktail.

Dinner
Following our drinks we made our way back to Restaurant Gordon Ramsey, we were greeted at the door and showed to our table. We then noticed the lounge area at the other side where we could have had the drinks of our choice.

The Daiquiris were brought to our table and were excellent. The evening in the restaurant was perfect, food, service, drinks everything, excellent.

My only comment would be about the location of the rest rooms. Has the designer of the hotel put any thought into it? Who wants to go on a five minute walk round the building to go to the toilet during a meal where you are paying hundreds of euros? Surly toilet facilities could be located within the restaurant itself.

Turn Down
We returned to our suite to find that we had received turn down but again the little things were missing. No chocolate, no weather forecast for the next day, the napkin had been placed next to the bed but no one had bothered to get the slippers out of the wardrobe and place them next to the bed as well. Other RC properties do this!

The day time pillows had been taken off the bed but had been left at the end of the bed on the floor. There are four large wardrobes, countless cupboards, surly the pillows could have been put away. Our bathroom items hadn’t been tidied up or placed neatly on a face cloth. The towels had been replaced but the dressing gowns hadn’t been hung up. Yes these are little things but they are all things that have been done in every other RC hotel and they do mean a lot to guests who come to expect this level of service from the brand.

Breakfast
The next morning we went to breakfast expecting the same high quality, how wrong we were.

Yes we were greeted and shown to our table. We were then left 10 minutes before someone offered us coffee or juice and another 5 minutes until it arrived.

There were no menus on the table at all and no indication anywhere of what you could order. The cold buffet was very good with a nice selection of cheese, fruit and cereals. The pastries were disappointing and nothing special.

My partner managed to “flag down” a member of staff and asked about ordering poached eggs. It wasn’t a problem but you would expect a menu indicating what is on offer.

When the eggs arrived he went to top the plate up with items from the “hot” buffet only to discover when he started to eat it that the buffet items were all cold. He complained as did several other guests and fresh items were cooked but this once again spoiled the experience.

Why aren’t the kitchen staff checking the temperature of the hot food, or even better why isn’t it cooked to order? I would also add that the sausages are an embarrassment to Ireland (they were cheap, tastless and cold)

The rest of the stay
We later returned to our room to enjoy our view of the overgrown helicopter pad and the mountain.

At 1140hrs the door to the suite opened without any knock or press of the door bell and in walked a member of housekeeping staff. My partner was getting changed for the gym at the time but thankfully was in the bedroom with the door closed. The member of staff did apologise and said that the room was down on her sheet as unoccupied.

At 1505hr the same thing happened, no knock or press of the doorbell and a member of staff again walked straight in, explaining the suite was shown as unoccupied. She then sensed we were not happy and she asked if she could check the mini bar. She did this and then left.

At 1510hr yet another member of housekeeping came to the door, at least this time she knocked before opening the door. By this time I was very angry about the total lack of communication between staff in this hotel.

You may think things could get no worse, sorry but they do.
We rang in room dining to request Afternoon Tea in our suite. The response was the normal “not quite sure if we can do that” attitude we were now coming to expect from this hotel. The member of staff said they would have to ring the Sugar Loaf Lounge and enquire and then would ring me back.

In the meantime I telephoned Patric again as I was very unhappy regarding the staff from housekeeping entering the room without knocking.

He assured me we could have Afternoon Tea in the suite and that it would be delivered as soon as possible. I ordered vegetarian sandwiches for myself and normal sandwiches for my partner.

The tea arrived and looked very nice, the member of staff went into detail explaining about every little detail. This was a bit pointless however as the detail on the plate were missing.
Yes I was given vegetarian sandwiches and yes the member of staff explained which ones they were. The sandwiches were on two plates but instead of separating the vegetarian ones onto one plate and the meat ones onto the other they were all mixed together. This meant we had to pick them apart to find out which were the ones I had ordered.

We then started on the scones; well we could have done if they were edible. We tried to cut then but they were cold and rock hard and the centre of the scone was dry as if it was stale.

I telephoned in room dining and was told some fresh scones would be sent up. They arrived and were this time red hot and soggy as though they had been placed in a microwave. When I tasted the scone I was unable to eat it as the middle was soggy.
It was then that I noticed the date on the pot of Irish Coffee Curd that I had put on my scone and nearly eaten. It was over a month out of date. I have retained the jar as evidence.

I immediately telephone Patric and explained again the poor standards of service and the out of date food. He advised me that the Afternoon Tea would not be charged (I should hope not!)
We immediately packed and went to check out.

We have been promised that these problems were rare and that our contstructive comments have been noted. We are returning to the RC Powerscourt. Hopefully it has improved. We'll see..

  • Liked — Dinner
  • Disliked — Read my report!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank seat_1A_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
3.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection offers outstanding luxury among 5-star hotels in Wicklow, Ireland. We are set amidst one of the most scenic and historic estates in the country, providing travellers with a a 200-room resort showcasing Palladian-style architecture and giving guests a host of amenities. At our hotel nestled in the hills of Enniskerry, 30 minutes from Dublin, you will find a spa, Powerscourt Golf Club, on-site restaurant and perfect accommodations offering easy access to rustic Enniskerry and all of County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, County Wicklow Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Enniskerry
Enniskerry Ritz-Carlton
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing