We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We arrived at 6 PM and greeted by the friendly and helpful staff. We were wowed by our room(s)--gorgeous and elegant! The view from our rooms was the Sugar Loaf Mountain which is breath-taking. Our roll-aways were already in the rooms when we arrived and soon someone was knocking for turn down service and ice. We had a delicious dinner in the restaurant. We played chess with the larger than life chess set and walked the grounds. My daughter's birthday was the next morning and I inquired about purchasing flowers (we were too late for a spa appointment). Soon after my request, someone was at my door with two bunches of sunflowers (I think they took two from their own displays) which was perfect to present to my daughter when she awoke. At breakfast they surprised us with a plate of berries and chocolate, complete with a candle and handwritten "Happy Birthday"! We decided to checkout later than planned because we were enjoying the relaxing atmosphere. We took a bike ride, with the complimentary bikes, down along the river. This ride passed the Powerscourt House, golf course and winded down a hill through woodlands. Along the river we encountered horses in a pasture and beautiful landscape. We would definitely come back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountain for a glorious view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,576)
There are newer reviews for Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,035 - 2,041 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

I won't write too much because this hotel has been extensively reviewed and almost universally applauded. We stayed there for a friend's wedding and had a brilliant time.
First the customer service: every single staff member, from those at the front desk to those in the pub, were attentive and helpful. They dropped us in town at night, provided bottles of water when the boys returned from their runs and gave us maps and extensive advice about what to see on our way back to Dublin.
The rooms were beautifully decorated and decked out with the latest technology. Those at the front have wonderful views to Sugar Loaf Mountain. Some do look out over the car park though. The spa was stunning and wonderfully relaxing.
The breakfast buffet was the best I've ever had. The only small criticism I have is that the service was a bit slow when we were sitting outside ... it was brilliant the day before. We also ate in the Sugar Loaf lounge and were very happy with the food.
I expected the Ritz to be fantastic and it was. Most of the other places we stayed at while in Ireland were about half the price ... but they weren't nearly half as good! Treat yourself to a couple of days here when exploring beautiful County Wicklow.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We booked our first 2 nights of a 10-night Ireland holiday at the Powerscourt Ritz using some awards points. We are regular, long-term Marriott & Ritz-Carlton customers who have come to expect a certain quality from the Ritz-Carlton chain. Booking was simple with excellent availability for our dates. Upon arrival we were given the customary 'next level' room upgrade typical for Gold and Platinum rewards members.

The reception, bellmen, and valet services staff were all friendly, efficient, and as expected.

We enjoyed the hotel's beautiful public areas. The Pub was cozy and the staff, particularly Charlotte, were very welcoming. The Spa was excellent with professional staff offering a wide-variety of services. I had a manicure with Haley and that was truly one of the nicest parts of our stay. The hotel grounds themselves are gorgeous with scenic views of Sugarloaf mountain and beautiful gardens. The hotel is walking distance from the Powerscourt Estate & Gardens which are themselves well worth the trip to Enniskerry.

The room itself was comfortably furnished with a king-sized bed, small sofa, two chairs, coffee table, and a writing desk. Pretty typical Ritz-Carlton decor. However, upon more than a cursory inspection it was not particularly well-maintained or clean. The carpet was stained with several large, red wine stains that were obviously permanent.

We were upgraded from a classic superior room to a larger, classic king with a shared balcony at the front of the hotel. The balcony was shared with several other rooms, separated by concrete planters and shall we say, had no privacy and a less than welcoming view primarily of the car park and the back of the pub. There were discarded cigarette butts in the planters, and a white residue on the patio furniture which I discovered only after it was transferred to my slacks!

The bed was comfortable with Frette linens and down pillows & comforters, but again the details were that it was not particularly well made-up and had to be remade before retiring. No extra pillows or blankets were provided anywhere in the room. The dressing area consisted of a large closet area off the front doorway, it had ample storage but the lighting was dim and without seating it certainly wasn't suitable for dressing.

The bathroom was lovely with a large soaking tub, a double sink with make-up mirror, a small flat-screen television, a private toilet room, and shower area. Sadly, we noticed there was a constant hissing noise emanating from the shower. We adjusted the handles, spigot and nozzles to no avail. This diminished the enjoyment of a nice soak as the noise became grating after a minute or two. We finally closed the bathroom door when sleeping to avoid the "hissing" from the shower. The second problem, one apparently common throughout Ireland was, there were no electrical outlets in the bathroom. I ended-up doing my hair in the entryway so I could plug-in the converter and curling iron and then stretch the cords across the room to a mirror. Again, not what I expect from a Ritz folks. Really?

This hotel just fails to meet five-star and on occasion even four-star expectations. Perhaps it's not traditional in Ireland, but no ice bucket was available in our room, no ice was offered upon arrival, and when we called for ice we were transferred to room service and waited a good 30 minutes for a bucket of ice and a single bottle of water tp be delivered. I know this may seem a minor detail--perhaps picky to a fault--but really isn't exceptional service what people usually expect from a 5-star resort at these prices?

While it is unlikely we will visit this particular Ritz-Carlton again, I hope someone in management there reads this review. Another minor detail is that we were not asked for feedback after our stay--usually we receive an e-mail inquiring about the stay soon after we depart!

Overall this is a nice hotel that based on our experience is worthy of a 3.5 or 4-star rating. It isn't terrible, but is isn't a typical, high-quality Ritz-Carlton experience either. Go expecting a 3- or 4-star Marriott with scenic surroundings and you won't be disappointed--apparently we expected too much.

Room Tip: For a nice view be sure to request rooms with a Sugarloaf mountain view and avoid those at the front...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolJL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Whenwe made our reservation, they said all they had was a small room with a kingside bed! as there are just two of us, not a problem. well if 700 square feet is small, I can't imagine what is large! We actually have two rooms: one large bedroom and a sitting room/dining room combination.
the staff is incredibly helpful. An Irish pub on the top floor to watch Ireland's soccer matches.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank NCscubajon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Opened in 2007 this is defo not the typical "boom" hotel that was built. The hotel is situated in a lovely grounds and powerscourt gardens.
Sometimes when one looks at the pictures of a hotel the reality is very different. This is not the case with the ritz as the hotel is exactly like the photos on the website.
Check in was efficient and quick and there was enough staff on duty to make sure that you werent waiting.
I was booked into a classic suite and all I can say is WOW. Guest bathroom in the entrance room, separate kitchen with cooker and the living/dining room was massive and comfortable.
The bedroom was huge leading to a walk in wardrobe and a huge bathroom with separate toilet and shower.
Lights and curtains were operated at the touch of a button. Only fault is that the aircon only goes down to 19 deg and wished it would go a bit lower.
No faults with the food. We lunched in the resturaunt at the reception area and was lovely. Dinner in Gordon Ramsey was very nice.
Breakfast the next morning was one of the best buffet breakfast i have ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoopy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We spent 6 days/nights at the hotel and it is the best hotel we have had the opportunity to visit! The grounds and surrounding Powerscourt Gardens and waterfall areas were amazing to see and the friendly and helpful staff members were phenomenal. We enjoyed every moment of our stay here and we would recommend this hotel to those who would like a relaxing stay in a serene environment where they can just relax and enjoy themselves. The restaurants and pub were also pleasant surprises as the food was excellent and the service was tremendous. The rooms are beautiful, the bathroom was phenomenal (in the suites). We loved the "rainshower" showers and the digital TV in the mirror was too cool for words. Zsolts and Kinga (staff members) are exemplary employees of the Ritz- Carlton. They made our stay even more pleasant.

Room Tip: The corner suites are large and offer great views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjcannon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel looks like an old castle from the outside, majestic. Indoors very high quality. Lovely spacious rooms. Gorgeous grounds. Very helpful staff. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
7.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,071 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,327 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,320 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,048 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 150 in Dublin
3,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range: $184 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection offers outstanding luxury among 5-star hotels in Wicklow, Ireland. We are set amidst one of the most scenic and historic estates in the country, providing travellers with a a 200-room resort showcasing Palladian-style architecture and giving guests a host of amenities. At our hotel nestled in the hills of Enniskerry, 30 minutes from Dublin, you will find a spa, Powerscourt Golf Club, on-site restaurant and perfect accommodations offering easy access to rustic Enniskerry and all of County Wicklow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, County Wicklow Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Enniskerry
Enniskerry Ritz-Carlton
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing