We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summerhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Dublin, dundrum Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is beautifully located, however being in the Irish countryside it is a bit out of everything. The staff were great and friendly however the front office staff are not so much !
The room was spacious, clean and nice details - we had a view of the mountains ..lovely! Overall a good place for wanting something average and for good value.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    155
    92
    67
    92
See reviews for
145
232
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I decided last minute to stay here after attending a wedding there. I was able to negotiate a better deal on the room rate with the receptionist, always a plus. The wedding was very well hosted by the hotel. The staff were freindly and attentive. The food was of a very high standard, everyone at our table cleared their plates. The only drawback is that the decor could be spruced up here and there but I would recommend the Summerhill House hotel to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 117kon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed here recently with family. We found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast buffet includes cooked breakfast items, toast, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cheeses and fruit juices. Some of the decor is a little shabby and some of the staff are not particularly proactive and attentive. The staff told us that there was a problem with wifi that would be fixed but whatever the reason we had no wifi access in the rooms for our entire stay.

With more attention and consideration from the staff this could be a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzeejessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here this week, this is a fantastic hotel set just a short walk outside the beautiful village of Enniskerry. This beautiful Georgian building set in peaceful county setting. upon arrival the staff on reception were very efficient and friendly. the room was big and comfortable and nicely decorated.
A few small improvements in the rooms and bathrooms would make a big difference here, there are not enough sockets in the rooms and the hot tap in the bathroom was leaking.
At breakfast was a good selection of food, which was all very tasty and well prepared. all staff encountered during our stay were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronEMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Visited this hotel for an event this week. Really impressed on walking in - decor lovely, homely atmosphere, bright and stylish. Then encountered the staff. Receptionist and Bar Staff really need training in customer service skills. Receptionist didn't even lift her head to make eye contact when addressed and gave gruff response. Bar Staff (Females) were short and bordered on being rude. Had they been under pressure I could have made some excuse for them but really, they weren't. So disappointed as I was expecting warmth and friendliness.

Room Tip: If event management is standard to go by - don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rover5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Rover5262,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We would like to apologise for the lack of customer service you experienced while at Summerhill House.
Your feedback will be shared with the whole team and actioned upon. I'm disappointed we did not achieve a minimum level of customer service during your stay.

Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention.

Regards
Aidan Cotter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Enniskerry hotels

Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I have just been to Summerhill house with my fiancé and parents for Sunday lunch. We had one main course with coffees after. The food was great- good portions and cooked to perfection. The waitress was very friendly and provided a great service. the hotel looked great- fires in all the main area- very cosy atmosphere. We will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Iameasiliypleased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night one a package including a massage at the spa and use of the facilities, afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast. We had a lovely stay! Any staff member we met was more than helpful, chatty and friendly. We had a particularly lovely waitress during dinner! We were really happy with the afternoon tea, and the menu selection in the restaurant for dinner.

We booked a king room - and it actually was a king-sized bed, not just two mattresses pushed together like you often get! The room was clean and very comfortable. Lovely location! We're from the area so didn't explore from the hotel, but there are lots of beautiful walks nearby and the village of Enniskerry is lovely. Not too far from Dublin city too if you fancied a break from the countryside!

Room Tip: The king room was very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
3.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Martello Hotel
7.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill House Hotel

Property: Summerhill House Hotel
Address: Cookstown Road, Enniskerry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry offers a warm and friendly welcome it is an ideal base for activity, surrounded by beauty, the hotel offers a charming mix of old and new. Lots of local activities and attractions in this fantastic location including Powerscourt Gardens and Waterfall and so easily accessible to Dublin city centre. Rainforest Day Spa on site. Great Spa packages available. Free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Summerhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Enniskerry
Summerhill House Hotel Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing