We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No sleep” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summerhill House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Summerhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“No sleep”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

On arriving thought the hotel looked lovely, however the meal we had was disappointing and then we were treated to a group of all singing clapping guests well past midnight. It is currently 2.30am and guests in the reception are still singing and laughing and shouting. The front desk was vacant past 11pm despite promises of 24hour service -we tried calling several times to complain about the noise to no avail. We were not advised when checking in that there was a large party of people and this is definitely not a hotel that I would recommend or come to again. We were looking forward to a relaxing night and a good nights sleep I brought my partner for his birthday- very disappointing,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Jessica,
Thank you for your honest feedback.

Our apologies that we did not manage the level of noise accordingly coming from the restaurant. Any group staying should not have impacted on another guests stay.

Your feedback regarding our food will not go without action and yes your call should have been answered by the night manager when you call in the early hours.

We will share your feedback to minimise similar occurrence's once again.

Regards,
Aidan Cotter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    153
    91
    65
    89
See reviews for
144
225
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Enjoyed our night here, place is lovely, right beside powerscourt estate and 10min walk to enniskerry. The staff were helpful and nice, no complaints. They were also kind enough to ring the week before our stay to let us know that the restaurant was booking up if we wanted to book dinner there

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise52013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroke City NI
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed here recently and for the first time. I have known this hotel down through the years as a wedding venue in the pretty town of Enniskerry. On this occasion, I was invited to a party locally and decided to avail of a room. My first impression was of the nice and welcoming vestibule and lobby area - typical of a small country house hotel.
The price point is perfect, the bedroom tired, though well-heated and spotless. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi with no silly codes or hidden charges: the fancy 4* and 5* hotels in Ireland cannot seem to figure this simple and satisfying customer privilege out.
The bedding was comfortable and the sheets/duvet were crisp/fresh.
The bedroom itself had seen better days with worn furniture and light fixtures and the old tube TV in the room. Though a little jaded in the furnishings, things were spotless. Concrete walls ensure a quiet night's sleep too.
In the morning, as I read the paper after a nice fresh breakfast with a grand selection of bread/fruit and hot Irish, the staff had the fire in the lobby lighted and it created a lovely atmosphere. I could have sat there all day. The main modernization is in the front of house/reception areas, but I give the hotel a thumbs-up for a job well done and would stay again.

Room Tip: Away from the reception-room/ballroom things are quieter and the floors and walls are all concrete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestBT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed here for a wedding in September 2013 and it was a disaster, rude staff, dirty rooms, bride abused when she arrived as there was no room ready for her and she foolishly asked the receptionist for assistance......,meanwhile no wedding planner to fix table errors as he was busy showing another couple to hotel for their wedding. Genuinely awful experience. The hotel staff ignored people trying to check in, gave them dirty rooms and worst of all managed to lose the brides bag!!!! I've stayed in a lot of places and seen a lot of things but I've never seen a hotel treat a bride with such disrespect. Never mind the smelly rooms that they didn't bother to clean properly as apparently it was busy as they had a wedding the day before.....

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel or else stay in the bridal suite, when the bride was eventually allowed in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DindyDoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear DindyDoodle,

I would be grateful if you can contact me at manager@summerhillhousehotel.com, in relation to the feedback in your review.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Enniskerry hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just back from attending a wedding in Summerhill house hotel and I must say I found the whole experience just wonderful from the staff that greeted us at the door to the serving of the meal to our stay in the courtyard room everything was just prefect the room was very clean and spacious a good choice at breakfast and the staff very pleasant having read previous reviews I was a bit undecided about staying in the hotel but I am glad I did as I found the hotel a brilliant place to stay I hope to repeat my experience again soon

Room Tip: Don't relied on the bad reviews go and experience the hotel you may be pleasantly surprise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowboyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just back from one night stay with spa. Lovely Hotel. Room very spacious and spotless.
Staff very pleasant couldn't do enough for us. Dinner was lovely. Enjoyed the Spa and Hotel so much would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladydell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Hi, my pregnant partner and I stayed here for a wedding. The bed is bowed in the middle. We both only got about 2 hours sleep. The most uncomfortable bed I ever experienced,
There was a spotlight/courtyard light right outside the bedroom window, this lit the room up like day-time..!
The toilet was loose on the wall. Anytime it was used you were afraid it would come off the wall. Overall decor of the room was incredibly poor.
The bar/reception and ballroom was lovely, all kept very clean..
The staff were excellent and friendly.
I refused to pay for my room and this was accepted with no issue. Issues were handled very professionally by receptionist and manager.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigelkilduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Nigelkilduff,

Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies to the deficiencies in your room and the toilet has since been repaired and the security light positioned outside the bedroom window been adjusted.

I'm glad to see, how the staff managed with your feedback once raised.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
3.6 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Martello Hotel
3.0 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
3.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
7.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill House Hotel

Property: Summerhill House Hotel
Address: Cookstown Road, Enniskerry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry offers a warm and friendly welcome it is an ideal base for activity, surrounded by beauty, the hotel offers a charming mix of old and new. Lots of local activities and attractions in this fantastic location including Powerscourt Gardens and Waterfall and so easily accessible to Dublin city centre. Rainforest Day Spa on site. Great Spa packages available. Free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Summerhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Enniskerry
Summerhill House Hotel Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing