We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summerhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We just had our wedding at the hotel and it was amazing. It truly was down to the wedding co-oridinator and all the staff at Summer Hill. The planning & professionalism of
all the staff was super.
All our friends and family are still talking about how lovely & kind the
staff were , how amazing the food ( canepe, dinner & afters) was & how the wedding room looked fantastic.
Not only was the day fabulous, the build up was a breeze down to how
flexible the hotel were, on food , decorations & how we wanted the garden to look ( we had a outside ceremony) I can honestly say , the wedding wouldn't have been
the same if it was in a different venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei-ling777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello we are absolutely delighted to hear you both enjoyed your wedding so much as it is so important to us that every wedding at the hotel does so. We are delighted to wish you both a long and happy marriage together.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    155
    92
    67
    92
See reviews for
145
232
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

From the moment my wife & I arrived at the reception until we departed we had nothing but the height of praise for management and staff who still consider the old fashion maxim that the customer is king. The bedroom was well laid out and very clean. Anything we asked for was dealt with straight away with the minimum of fuss. As a chef I have to give a special mention to the head chef and his team who served excellent fare and the breakfast was to die for. Food was replenished at regular intervals which meant rashers etc being freshly grilled. Of course every good chef depends on good waiting staff and this they had in abundance with very mannerly and presentable serving staff. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello and thank you for your excellent review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay from dining to staff friendliness and certainly hope we see you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here as part of a large golfing group. The hotel is old world style, even some of the guests appear to fit in well with this image. Rooms and reception are quite old fashioned but staff are very friendly. Some minor problems we had were very well dealt with by the staff. The function meal we had was very good quality although breakfast was pretty routine; nothing special. Overall we had an enjoyable stay in this very beautiful scenic area. Our group stay rate of €60 per person sharing was good value for the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlawnguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello,

thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and were looked after well, we are a country house hotel and that certainly is the ambience we set as it suits the hotel well and its surrounds.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place for a wedding . We stayed here as part of a wedding party on the 26th April 2013.
We presumed we couldn't check in until 3pm but when we arrive at 2 rooms were available for check-in. We were originally booked into the coach house but were upgraded to the main hotel.
The staff at reception were very helpful.The staff through the hotel very polite and mannerly . The function room was well laid out . Service at the bar was very quick. The grounds are beautiful and great for wedding photos. Yes I would recommend this venue for a wedding .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellieseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello thank you for your review on your recent stay and the wedding you attended I am very pleased you enjoyed your experience at the Summerhill House Hotel and we thank you for your recommendation which we very much appreciate. I certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My family and I stayed at the hotel for a very special birthday occasion.
To say we were disappointed and let down is an understatement. I have stayed in the hotel before and enjoyed the stay hence booking in again. However this time was a very different experience.
To begin I booked the hotel and spa treatments together on the hotel's website. Typically when something went wrong with the spa treatments the hotel was very quick to deny any association with the spa.
To begin I had booked a twin and a double room, there was no record of this and I had to explain where I had requested this to the receptionist.
Our treatments were all booked for 5pm, so we went to the spa at 4pm, the robes were very old and no slippers were offered.
There was no toilet paper in the bathroom.
The hot tub outside was freezing and there was nobody around to discuss this or ask for help from.
The treatments at 5 began for 3 of the party while I sat waiting, at 5.15 I was told it would be another 15 minutes.
We had booked dinner for 7.30pm so this delayed everything. One of the treatments was only half given, the eye treatment was forgotten about until we asked about it.
They were very disorganised. If the hotel has nothing to do with the spa, I wonder why it is on their grounds and why exactly they encourage booking through them directly.
The dining room was understaffed and very busy. Little things like no spoons with tea/coffee was very irritating.
The entire night's sleep was very broken as the bedroom door banged everytime any other door closed. In the middle of the night I actually got up to the door because it sounded as if someone was knocking on our door.
There was a wedding on this particular weekend and I feel that we were not looked after as well as we should have been.
I booked and paid for courtyard rooms and we did not stay in these rooms.
The next day at checkout I was given a bill that included the extra price of 4 dinners that I had already paid for.
As I said, this break was booked as a birthday treat, I was embarrassed that this is what we had arranged as the surprise. It was very upsetting overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaraPennyLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello, we are so disappointed you did not enjoy your stay fully especially as it was a special occasion for you. The spa is run independently to the hotel and we work in partnership with them in the provision of spa breaks. If you could contact us directly and ask for Orla Coogan we would be happy to discuss the issues you raised as we would certainly have wanted you to enjoy a much better stay the you did.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Enniskerry hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed on the 26th and 27th of April 2013 for my brothers wedding.
Myself, wife and 3 kids.
The family room was large and located behind reception, so the kids we're always close to their room
The staff bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable and needed nothing.
Even the youngest of our kids were made to feel a guest in their own right,instead of the child of a guest.
My 11 Year old son is a fussy eater, yet he still licked his plates clean every time
At the reception, it was well staffed and they kept coming out asking if anyone wanted more of the beautiful food
The grounds are beautiful and it's so relaxing just sitting in the garden opposite the main door
In less than half an hour drive. You can visit enniskerry village powerscourt gardens and waterfall and Glendalough
I'll definitely be back again
I really can't do justice to just how good this hotel is

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubtike1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review its always wonderful to hear a guest enjoyed their stay so much especially a family and I am delighted we were able to look after you and your family so well. Delighted to also hear the wedding reception was a great success and also that you found our family rooms spacious and comfortable. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was also with the group from the below review on Easter Sunday. I was one of the first to arrive and be greeting by very rude staff. We had phoned in advance to advise we would be 20min late and could not understand why this was an issue as we were the ONLY booking in the restaurant. As the set menu was the only option due to the “busy” day and with the staff being rude and inflexible, we went to Druids Glen where all 11 adults and 4 kids had a lovely meal and enjoyed the great atmosphere and friendly staff. I would highly recommend Druids Glen for anyone visiting the area. Maybe Summerhill House Hotel will think twice before turning away approx €400 worth of business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hello, as answered in the previous review we did explain we were unable to accommodate the particular requests of your dining party as our restaurant was fully booked and your party having arrived late then did not wish to avail of the Table d'Hote menu available. We apologised for this on the day and certainly do so again for any inconvenience and upset caused.

Kind regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
3.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Martello Hotel
7.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill House Hotel

Property: Summerhill House Hotel
Address: Cookstown Road, Enniskerry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry offers a warm and friendly welcome it is an ideal base for activity, surrounded by beauty, the hotel offers a charming mix of old and new. Lots of local activities and attractions in this fantastic location including Powerscourt Gardens and Waterfall and so easily accessible to Dublin city centre. Rainforest Day Spa on site. Great Spa packages available. Free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Summerhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Enniskerry
Summerhill House Hotel Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing