We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, gorgeous food, beautiful scenery and atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely hotel, gorgeous food, beautiful scenery and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here recently overnight with my boyfriend for a wedding reception. We both agreed that the venue was beautiful, very tastefully and elegantly decorated. It's a quaint, lovely little hotel set in what must be one of the most beautiful landscapes you can find in Ireland. Enniskerry village is a short walk away and is also nestled just in front of Powerscourt House and Gardens. Location-wise, you couldn't ask for a more picturesque hotel and grounds for a wedding reception.

You can see the management put a lot of effort in keeping the flavour of the original hotel itself intact. This place is full of character, perhaps that is much of where its charm lies. It isn't huge, but this works wonderfully to create a feeling of intimacy and a romantic atmosphere. The gardens and hotel facade itself worked beautifully for photos for the bride and groom, as well as the guests. The rooms are comfortable, if a little small and modestly furnished. The views from our window were spectacular. I can't fault the service received at the hotel, the staff were very attentive and polite. I was pleasantly surprised at how delicious the main dinner turned out to be, and the buffet breakfast the following morning was thoroughly appreciated!

I would definitely recommend this place as a nice weekend break away, either with a special someone or with a few girlfriends down to the rainforest spa (which unfortunately I had no time to try, but that always leaves me next time! :)).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nogitsune07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Summerhill House Hotel especially our great location, lovely food, friendly staff and cosy atmosphere. We have some great value Spa Breaks so heres hoping we see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Co Wicklow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    155
    94
    67
    92
See reviews for
146
236
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our daughter's wedding was held on the Sunday of the October Bank holiday weekend in this hotel and we cannot thank the staff and the management of the hotel enough for the wonderful care and attention to detail and the really friendly staff to whom nothing was "too much trouble" which greatly added to the wonderful location with its roaring fires,excellent food, beautiful function room,so much so that we hardly noticed that the weather was wet and windy.
The whole wedding experience was a great success with both sides of the families joining up and celebrating the occasion in an amazingly friendly atmostphere with a wonderful team of people to look after them. Very well to done to all the wonderful people at the Summerhill House Hotel you were first class.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AilbheDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review we very much appreciate your comments and I will pass them along to all the staff. We are truly delighted your daughters wedding went so well and that we were able to be a part of it. Don't forget your all very welcome to come back and see us.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We held our wedding reception in summerhill in november 2010 and as a surprise anniversary gift my husband booked a return night stay this year.

As with our wedding day, we fell in love with the place all over again. The staff were incredibly friendly with the night manager on duty even remembering us! This level of service for wedding parties is so rare and really makes this hotel special! Our dinner was amazing, we ate the beef and monkfish which were delicious. A special mention to the waiter who was most polite and unobtrusive despite us being the only guests in the dinning room at that time!

Some of the reviews on trip advisor mention areas which require attention in the hotel but I feel this is a country house and all the faults make the place all the more endearing. It is a beautiful house with wonderful open fires, cozy corners and stunning location!

Thanks summerhill for making our stay special and remindings us all over again why we chose to have our wedding here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpoolfan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello and thank you for your lovely review we are very pleased you chose to revisit us for your anniversary and extremely pleased you had such a wonderful stay we certainly hope we see you again.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Co Wicklow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We would recommend The Summerhill to anyone who is looking for quality service, value for money and a homely intimate setting. The scenery is beautiful and there is lots of walking and bike trails. We had a warm greeting at reception by all the staff.The dinner service was impeccable, the manager Andrew made sure are needs where catered for at all times. The food was delicious but the service really stood out to us, freindly smiling and genuine at all times. We retired to the bar where again the waitress Orla really looked after our needs and paid close attention to detail so that she knew are preferences for the remainder of our stay. The staff really made the break easy, relaxing and carefree. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piratce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello and thank you for your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed our great location, comfortable bedrooms and friendly customer service all for great value. We certainly hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards


Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We spent our last 2 nights at Summerhill House and it was one of the highlights of our trip. Beautiful hotel and excellent staff who were very friendly and informative. Close to Powerscourt Gardens which is a must visit in my book. I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello and thank you for your great review we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in our great location right opposite Powerscourt Gardens. I am glad your overall vacation in Ireland went so well hopefully we might see you again, there will always be a warm welcome here for you.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Co Wicklow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had our wedding here in October 2012. Everything was made easy for us in the run up to the big day. When the day arrived, the staff could not do enough for us and our guests. From the pre dinner drinks right through the weekend everyone was well looked after. There were 4 weddings in a row day after day that week and it still felt like we were their first priority.
The food was fantastic, and the portions were plenty.
We got loads of great compliments from our guests on the venue. Special thanks to Edel and Orla who looked after us so well.

We'll be going back again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_D051012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello

Thank you for your great review we are so pleased you enjoyed a wonderful day with us on your wedding day and that we could play such a great part in that. Every wedding at the Summerhill House Hotel is special to us and we are very glad you felt that way. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helen o'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend, the staff were very friendly, genuine and helpful! The rooms were very comfortable, warm and cosy! Was a lovely relaxing weekend! We would definitely come back! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_o_reilly86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your lovely review I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry. I am pleased you enjoyed the comfortable stay and friendly staff and we certainly hope we see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Helen o'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
3.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Martello Hotel
7.1 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
2.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
3.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill House Hotel

Property: Summerhill House Hotel
Address: Cookstown Road, Enniskerry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry offers a warm and friendly welcome it is an ideal base for activity, surrounded by beauty, the hotel offers a charming mix of old and new. Lots of local activities and attractions in this fantastic location including Powerscourt Gardens and Waterfall and so easily accessible to Dublin city centre. Rainforest Day Spa on site. Great Spa packages available. Free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Summerhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Enniskerry
Summerhill House Hotel Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing