We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely scenery, food and staff - awful SPA -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summerhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely scenery, food and staff - awful SPA -”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have to say I agree with the review from Sarah258. Spa was a BIG joke and spa is not the correct term for the place. We felt they took on too many people that day and no one got a proper relaxation period as hot tub and steam room did not work. No where to change. And as the Sara said we had to pay €2 extra for slippers. There could be a little note somewhere to say bring your own flip flops. The staff member I had could not have been nicer. Emily was just lovely and I found the treatment from her very relaxing. We felt the other staff did their best in what were awful conditions. Someone really needs to look at the managing of this spa.
The lady on the hotel reception hasn't the best manner, but you couldn't fault any of the other staff. We found them to be just brilliant. Courteous, attentive and couldn't do enough for us.
The rooms need a bit of modernisation but were very clean and we all had a great sleep, which is why we went in the first place. One of our party had an extractor fan outside the room which kept her awake a bit but she said she just looked at the beautiful view and eventually fell asleep. The bathroom were a let down. The shower didn't work, there was no cold water and no little toiletries. The sink was alsobeing held up by a shelf on iron poles! On the plus side we had plenty of cleanm, white towels.
We would go back here for the excellent food, the views and nice staff but would AVOID the SPA. Not living up to its claims......so dissapointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor and away from the extractor fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mars1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello, Thank you for your feednack, I am pleased you enjoyed our location, food and friendly staff, I will be discussing your experience at the Spa with Spa team, if you would like to speak in more detail with us on your stay please contact us and ask for Orla Coogan.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    158
    95
    67
    92
See reviews for
147
237
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
laois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here as part of a relaxing girlie weekend, enjoyed my stay.
Food was excellent, very homely, staff were very helpful and pleasent.
Rooms were nice, but could do with updating, and maybe being a little cleaner!!!!! Shower wasn't really working properly either........... Some complementry shampoo & shower gell would be nice........
Beds were very very comfortable, I must say, we all slept very very well Indeed.

Unfortunatley, The Spa was a bit of a disapointment, very small and overcrowded on that particular day we were there, Steam room was'nt working, Sauna very very small, relaxing room can only take 5 people at a time, which ment there were people standing around and creating noise. The treatment itself was lovely but unfortunatley I didn't feel very relaxed leaving as it was very unorganised and as I said too small for the amount of clients that were booked in on that particular day.
This was a bit of a let down as this was to be the highlight of our stay.......
A pool would be nice, maybe a bigger realxation room & a steam room that is reliable!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello and thank you for your feedback which we will certainly take into consideration and look at how we can address what you have said. We have also passed your comments on to the spa mangement team for their review.

If you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay in more detail please do not hesitate to contact our Operations Manager Orla Coogan,

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Booked the one night prudence package with four friends. What a nice way to catch up, a day in the Spa followed by dinner and a few drinks. What a joke. Receptionist was v rude on checking in. We asked for quiet rooms, told "oh there is no guarantee, however there is no wedding on today so you should be ok" ! She huffed and puffed behind the desk, awful manner. She gave us our key cards and said three of the rooms would be ready in 2-3 hours, no information as to times of dinner, breakfast or where the bar was located.

Anyway, headed to the Spa for our treatments. Good god, this is a log cabin just dumped off the carpark. We were meet by a very flustered receptionist who took or details and eventaully showed us to the changing rooms. Absolutely tiny. 12 very small lockers with a towel and a light cotton type robe thing. We were informed when we asked for slippers that flip flops were available to 'purchase' for €2!!! Never had any one of us being to a spa and asked to buy the slippers. We had to change in the toilets. Really bad.

I was first to be taken for the back massage & eye treatment. The lady never introduced herself, i was asked to hop up onto the bed and she started the back massage. Pain ! She used a drop of oil and seemed to use her elbows to crunch down on my back. Ive never felt pain like it and had to ask her to stop. Just awful, the eye treatment was nice, five minutes of a cooling gel, was a very welcome relief. My back was red for the reminder of the ngt and is still sore to touch two days later. The relaxation room was tiny, 4 loungers & one chair. There was water in a jug available to drink but no cups. Was very hard to get a seat to sit down and try relax in there...The steam room and I use the word 'room' lightly was out of order as was the hot tub. Sauna was working, again when the four of us were in it, it was full. There was far too many ladies there for the space available. Certainly isint a 'spa'. Never again..

Following that we headed back to our rooms to get freshened up for dinner. Rooms although clean are very basic. So basic, the bathroom had no little shampoo, conditioner or even soap !! Shower wouldnt work. Disaster. No bottled water by the bed, No iron (although available from the grump on reception), tv was tiny and had two channels. Just appalling.

Restaurant was nice, airy and the food was good. Attention from service staff was swift and seconds were offered a few times. Breakfast equally good, checked out by 9.30 am and were were glad to be on the road. My advice would be to put the € 129.00 we each paid towards a day at a 'real' spa!! An oversized B & B...STAY AWAY

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello our apologies that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and that you were disappointed with your spa experience, We will certainly be passing your feedback on to the Spa. Your experience is certainly not what we would have wished for you and we would like to discuss it further with you and therefore would appreciate if you could contact us directly please ask for Orla Coogan.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Enniskerry hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I were guests at a wedding reception last Saturday and we had a most enjoyable
stay in The Summerhill House Hotel. We had a room in the hotel and the accomodation was very comfortable.We thorougly enjoyed the meal and the extensive breakfast buffet the next morning was most welcome after a very enjoyable night.
The hotel is a short walk to Enniskerry village which is well worth a visit as indeed are the gardens at the nearby Powerscourt Estate

Room Tip: Stay in the Main Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnFerriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hello, Thank you for your great review on your recent stay at the Summerhill House Hotel, I am delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and will pass on your lovely comments to all the staff here.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here last weekend, staff were lovely, location stunning, food excellent, but hotel would need alot of cleaning. The rooms are shabby but the beds were very comfortable. There obviously had been some painting done in the rooms, but is was splashed all over the windowsills. The windows were not cleaned, and the bathroom was not very hygienic.

Its a pity this hotel is not kept up to date, as the spa here is excellent, had a wonderful treatment, and again the staff were very nice and accommodating.

I would recommend this for location, etc. but just don't expect grandeur with the rooms.

Room Tip: Maybe there are more updated rooms, its worth asking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shieldsgenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review I am pleased you enjoyed your spa treatment, our good food, friendly staff and comfy beds. We have and continue to work on the rooms to ensure everyone is comfortable and happy with the standard and would urge anyone who is unhappy with a bedroom to advise us immediately of any concerns they have so that we might have the oppurtunity to do whatever we can to suceed in meeting guest expectations.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I recently attended a wedding reception in The Summerhill House Hotel. It is a great hotel and the food in particular the roast beef was exceptional. Some of the guests had fish which I was told was very disappointing. I stayed in the hotel itself and the room was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel which incidentally is located in a very scenic part of South Dublin/Wicklow
next to the famous Powerscourt

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthsideEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review I am very pleased you enjoyed the meal at the wedding you recently attended and our great location which is very popular with our wedding couples.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our daughters wedding was at this hotel on Saturday 8 sept.we had a brilliant day,have to say the staff were fantastic couldn't ask anymore of them.the food was fantastic.plenty,and came around with seconds,we have to say the bagpiper was a great feature really enjoyed him its a great way introducing the bride and groom.Grounds great for photo's cannot fault this hotel would defiantly recommend for any occasion .Have to say a big thank-you for making this special day so
Stress free and a very big thank-you to Orla Coogan and staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie48_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Hello I am delighted your daughters wedding at the Summerhill House Hotel was an excellent occassion and thank you for your recommendation. I will pass your good review on to all our staff here and wish the happy couple all the very best for the future.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
2.7 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
434 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
993 reviews
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Martello Hotel
2.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
582 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill House Hotel

Property: Summerhill House Hotel
Address: Cookstown Road, Enniskerry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry offers a warm and friendly welcome it is an ideal base for activity, surrounded by beauty, the hotel offers a charming mix of old and new. Lots of local activities and attractions in this fantastic location including Powerscourt Gardens and Waterfall and so easily accessible to Dublin city centre. Rainforest Day Spa on site. Great Spa packages available. Free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Summerhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Enniskerry
Summerhill House Hotel Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing