We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit of a shame”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summerhill House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“a bit of a shame”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Has the potential to be wonderful.
Some of the staff were incredibly helpful.
For some reason we were put on the same corridor as a wedding party which kept us awake. Upon mentioning this at check out, the member of staff did not apologise and almost ignored the comment. Not unreasonable to have suggested it might have been an idea to have placed us in another area of the hotel, particularly when it was far from room.
Cold bath tap didn't work at all. Hairdryer was rubbish.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you for adding your review I am sorry your recent stay was a little disappointing, it is normally our policy to keep Wedding guests together and non wedding guests on a seperate floor but sometime it is necessary to locate them on the same floor but we always do our best to ask all our guests to keep noise to a minimum when they get to the corridors and rooms. Our apologies for any inconvenience caused to you.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Co Wicklow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    157
    95
    67
    92
See reviews for
147
236
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2012

had a great time at a wedding there , food was good and service excellent, we were well looked after

Room Tip: bring boots or good shoes for walk the area is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Hello, thank you for adding your review on your recent stay at the Summerhill House Hotel Enniskerry, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and its good advice on the walking boots as we are in a great location to enjoy some beautiful walks locally. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Co Wicklow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic stay at the Summerhill House Hotel and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
The hotel sits right next to the Powerscourt Gardens and Enniskerry village which has great restaurants and pubs to enjoy...

Great stay couldn't recommend enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilltopTreks_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry. I am delighted you enjoyed our great location and friendly staff and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Co Wicklow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

‘Faulty Towers’
Oh dear, we chose this hotel just south of Dublin for our 5th night hotel on our tour of Ireland. We arrived on a Sunday at around 4pm to this hotel, which from the outside looked superbly located. That’s about all that was good and it was downhill from the moment we stepped through the front door. We had two double rooms booked, and the receptionist totally ignored us, more interested in her terminal than us. Eventually she looked up, and signed us in. Both rooms were unserviced, we demanded an explanation, non was offered, two more rooms were allocated, one STANK of stale cigarette smoke, again we asked to be moved and eventually were given two clean rooms, but FREEZING cold, all windows were open and no heat on (It was 8C outside in mid May). It took two requests to get the heating put on. It appeared there were only about 3 couples in the hotel and EVEN LESS STAFF, I counted 3 including the receptionist. Having had a long day we decided to eat in the restaurant, pre dinner the bar was unstaffed and we had to keep walking to the reception to gets someone to serve us, at dinner we were the only couple in the restaurant, the staff, (1) had a limited knowledge of english and managed to get the orders wrong on ALL THREE courses, the bottle of white wine (€22) arrived WARM, and we called the part time barman who replaced it with a chilled bottle, a very terrible experience. Bar food dirty plates remained in the bar area and other parts of the hotel for the whole duration of our stay, the barman, who had very little to do, just ignored them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Hello, I am very sorry you experienced poor customer service on your recent stay at the Summerhill House Hotel and we will be looking at how and why this occurred as this should certainly not have been your experience. I apologise for the inconveniece caused and can assure you your feedback is valuable to help us improve our guest experience.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Enniskerry hotels

Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I booked this hotel as a birthday package for my friends 30th. After reading some of the reviews on here I was very apprehensive before I went, but we couldnt be happier!
On arrival in the beautiful village of Enniskerry I was delighted to see lots of signs for the hotel so we couldnt get lost! The Hotel is located right opposite Powerscourt, which is also well worth a visit if you have time, and also a very sweet little church. The driveway into the hotel is through some trees and with the bluebells all around was very pretty. The hotel is like an old house style with amazing views of the surrounding hills and sea in the distance.
I can see why the hotel is so popular with weddings as the grounds are lovely with ample seating areas in the gardens.
When we arrived we were booked in straight away by a lovely girl. Our room was a triple room and upon entering we were delighted to see we had 3beds and 2bathrooms! Anyone who travels anywhere in a group of women will understand how happy we were at this!
As part of our package we got champange& chocolates on arrival, B&B, a 3course dinner and a spa treatment each. All for €120 each!
We were lucky with the weather so enjoyed our champagne in the garden, which was lovely.
The rainforest day spa is located on the grounds of the hotel. The staff there were very busy that day but they really couldnt have been nicer. We relaxed in the very comfortable relaxtion rooms before our treatments, I wanted to bring my chair home! Our package included a 30min spa treatment, but it exceeded all our expectations. We got a lovely back and shoulder massage and a collegen eye treatment which included a head and hand/arm massage. I wish I could remember my therapist name as she was so nice, exactly as a therapist should be, I couldnt speak more highly of her. After our treaments we also tried the sauna, steam room and hot tub. The hot tub has amazing views of the countryside and it was so relaxing.
After all that relaxing we managed to get ourselves ready for dinner! The food was amazing and the staff once again couldnt have been nicer. After that we sat by the fire and had a few glasses of wine before retiring to our very comfy beds! We had a room at the back of hotel and though there was a wedding there we didnt hear any of it.
The breakfast the next morning was just as good as the dinner. There was a lovely selection of hot and cold food, pastries etc. The breads especially were so good. They tasted freshly baked and homemade. I also enjoyed the pancakes!
All in all we had a great time and my friend really enjoyed her birthday. A lovely hotel with great staff in an amazing location. We left very relaxed, full and happy!

Room Tip: Dont leave without trying the food, its so good. Also try to have a spa treament as they are not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaceeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Hello thank you for your review I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at the Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry for your friends birthday and that you enjoyed one of our great value spa breaks. I am delighted you enjoyed the food, our great location and friendly staff and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.Our very best wishes once again for your freinds birthday.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Co Wicklow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIVEMILETOWN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The hotel has a great location for touring the area with Powerscourt, Sallys gap and a load of other tourist attractions very close. The hotel itself is a bit dated with the room that I had being rather small and in need of a bit of a facelift, the staff where excellent and had great local knowledge of local area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrfmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you for adding your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. I am pleased to advise that we have heard the feedback from our guests and are undertaking some refurbishments to the bedrooms so to address the tired feeling. Its good to read you enjoyed our great location and friendly staff. I hope we see you again soon.

Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2012

What was to be a special birthday treat ended up being a disappointing experience. I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms are dated, cold and need a total overhaul. The bar staff need training in customer service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenStrandwood, Public Relations Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Hello, I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Summerhill House Hotel and that your personal experience was disappointing as we would certainly not have wished this for you.

Kind Regards

Helen O'Reilly
Summerhill House Hotel
Enniskerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
2.7 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
434 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
992 reviews
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Martello Hotel
2.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
582 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill House Hotel

Property: Summerhill House Hotel
Address: Cookstown Road, Enniskerry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry offers a warm and friendly welcome it is an ideal base for activity, surrounded by beauty, the hotel offers a charming mix of old and new. Lots of local activities and attractions in this fantastic location including Powerscourt Gardens and Waterfall and so easily accessible to Dublin city centre. Rainforest Day Spa on site. Great Spa packages available. Free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Summerhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Enniskerry
Summerhill House Hotel Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing