We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, Great Location, Great Price!”
Review of Coolakay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enniskerry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coolakay House
Ranked #1 of 6 Enniskerry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Yvonne runs her B&B from a working farm in the hills of the Wicklow Mountains. Her rates are competitive with the rest of southern Ireland and her hospitality rivals the best! Easy to find with clear signage from town, Coolakay House is nearly next door to The Powerscourt Gardens and Waterfall. From the top of her fields there is a clear view of the ocean and the surrounding mountains! The famous Johnnie Fox pub is a short drive, about 15 minutes, and the village down the hill is home to a few nice restaurants and friendly pubs! The rooms at Coolakay are clean and cheerful with a nice sized bathroom. A pleasant respite from a busy travel schedule, Coolakay house is a place a traveler can catch her breath!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany92609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Coolakay House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 344 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2010

I love the Coolakay House! When my daughter and I found ourselves stranded in Ireland during the volcanic ash cloud crisis, we needed a place to stay for a couple of days that was fairly close to Dublin Airport. We happened upon the Coolakay House, a lovely place with absolutely gorgeous views in the Wicklow Mountains. What a great find! Our room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, and we had free wireless internet (which we really needed under the circumstances.) I would highly recommend the Coolakay House!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank nancyannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Having seen plenty of B&B's all over the country we were really happy with this one. We shared a room with 2 adults and 1 child (€35 per adult and €15 for the child). The room was beautifully decorated and the bathroom quite large with bath and shower and all pink and comfortable. The view was extraordinary. The lady of the house gave us a very warm welcome and farewell. We also enjoyed a good night sleep, the area was very quiet and so was the house, even though the other rooms were occupied too. The beds were really comfortable. All in all: I kept her card and will definitely book a room there for my next visit :-)

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imogen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Our stay at Coolakay House in County Wicklow was a highlight of our Ireland trip. The hostess was gracious and fun and made our stay restful and delightful. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We especially enjoyed the Irish breakfast and delicious home made brown bread. We also enjoyed the lovely gardens and the farm. It was lambing season and it was a real treat to see the newborn lambs. The location was very convenient to sightseeing at Powerscourt Gardens, and we enjoyed the quiet lane for a morning walk.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alamofran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

It's a little out of the way, but was very nice for the price.

We arrived in Enniskerry after flying all night. According to Google maps GPS it said we could walk to the B&B. Unfortunately we could not. However, Yvonne was nice enough to come and pick us up. Good thing since the house is about 4km from the center of town.

Yvonne was a great hostess. She was always there with a cup of tea for us in the afternoons and breakfasts were cooked to order.

The room was small, but definitely clean. We had a nice time talking to the other guests at breakfast and at tea.

At the end of our trip she was kind enough to drive us back into town so we could catch our bus to Dublin.

It was a great way to start our Ireland trip.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mauriemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I visited Enniskerry for a wedding and stayed at this B&B for the weekend.

My friend & I arrived quite late at night but had a very warm welcome (literally as we'd overestimated the Irish summer and were freezing - the hand shake warmed us up!).

The room was a reasonable size (I've had similar at 4 star hotels), very clean and the duvet was extremely cozy and comfortable. Slept very well. The view from the bedroom window was superb.

The breakfast was generous to say the least and staff all very friendly and helpful (use fo iron and ironing board, booking a taxi for us, etc). Only down side was that they didn't accept credit cards, but if that's the only thing I can live with it.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Tip - if you are putting the B&B into a Sat-Nav, type Powerscourt Waterfall Road, not just Waterfall Road!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We stayed here late August 2007, our last night of a 2.5 week vacation through Ireland/England/Wales. We chose this B&B as a hopeful good night's rest before our long journey back to the U.S. the next day but it was not to be. Very small, not very comfortable. We encountered no less than three large spiders in our room & bathroom over a span of a couple hours that evening. We understood then why the place smelled like bug spray. There are pretty gardens by the house and the view from the gardens is great. Can't comment on the breakfast as we had to leave for the airport very early in the morning. Seems like a nice area, the drive through the Wicklow area is pretty, but I would recommend you stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
1.9 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
621 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,048 reviews
6.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
3.9 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
456 reviews
4.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolakay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolakay House

Address: Waterfall Road | Coolakay, Enniskerry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Enniskerry
Price Range: $98 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Coolakay House Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing