We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely beautiful!”
Review of Coolakay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enniskerry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coolakay House
Ranked #1 of 6 Enniskerry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed for one night only and found the B&B on the way to Glendalough, we like the location in the country down a real Irish road surrounded by trees and green fields and hills. On arrival Yvonne made me a cup of coffee and showed us straight to our room, which was beautifully presented, in fact the whole B&B was astonishingly beautiful and tastefully decorated. The shower was fantastic. We also loved the water feature, the deck and lighting and the statue of a deer out the front. We had a great breakfast, a lovely young lady served us, and we also had a chat to a couple of Americans. It was a very comfortable and homely B&B 11 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    51
    8
    7
    8
See reviews for
71
137
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DKDJuniata
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great location for exploring the Wicklow Mountains area. The B&B was easy to find, the room was just right for one person, and breakfast was good. The B&B is in the country, surrounded by fields and pasture. The rate was reasonable - just make sure you have cash, as they do not take credit cards.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKDJuniata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our first night in Ireland, after a long flight and conenction from Dubai. We had already been in contact with the B&B to book and highlight we would be coming in late (after approximately 8:30pm).

When we arrived, we were warmly greeted and shown our room. Mindful that it was late and we hadnt had dinner, Yvonne recommended we scoot off to one of the local pubs for dinner, as they shut off order at 9pm....HOWEVER, we should mention her name if we ran into trouble.
Managed to sneak in a meal order just before dinner (at the Old Forge) and it was great.

Our room at teh B&B was wonderful and cosy. We had a blissful night's sleep in a comfortable large bed with the warmest duvert/ doona imaginable. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful....and make sure you ahve the black and white pudding...don't listen to anyone who says they aren't nice...they are delicious, as too are the soda bread and the spice bread (the latter a recent addiotn to the menu and made in-house).

All-in-all...a wonderful stay, and I wish our stay could have extended beyond one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWJH1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a lovely B&B with SPECTACULAR views of the Wicklow Mtns. If you've seen the film P.S. I Love You with Hillary Swank and Gerard Butler, this is literally where they filmed it! The room was small but tastefully appointed and the beds were comfortable. The water flow is not the strongest but the water is nice and hot. It's a short drive into Enniskerry which is a spectacularly picturesque village. The morning meal was ample and very satisfactory. Thanks you Coolakay!

Room Tip: If you are a couple and desire a single bed to share, say so. We did not and were given two twins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bschoenherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second trip to Ireland. We stayed with Yvonne on the first trip and knew we'd have to stay again. We stayed 2 nights each at the beginning and again at the end of our 5 week Irish wanderings. Yvonne goes out of her way to make you feel at home, the food is wonderful and the peaceful view is very refreshing. Coolakay House is situated perfectly for wonderful day trips as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Farms, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Not only do you see amazing vistas from every window, but for the first time the bed really is the reason for this review. In a quiet hillside setting, this masterfully set accommodation quietly states the new gold standard for food, hospitality, location and dare I say, the sleeping quarters. Wonderfully supportive beds, abundant pillows, tempur-pedic as well, nicely appointed rooms with every thing a traveller could hope for. Free wi-if which I am now using to write this review is also available. The surrounding slopes and valleys are a wonder, not to mention the Powerscourt manse, gardens and waterfall nearby. We booked the Coolakay with the idea of this being the first town on our sojourn after touching down in Dublin. We could not have asked for a more welcoming hostess than the amazing Yvonne and her erstwhile assistant Monica. The grounds are gorgeous and impeccably maintained. I will be back and my suggestion for anyone traveling in this locale would be to book now or forever not know this lovely experience.

Room Tip: Spend time in the local tavern "Old Forge Inn" and make friends with Sean Kelly. He'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I visited Coolakay for a three night break while over in Ireland for my best friend's wedding. We always use TA before booking any type of accomodation either at home or abroad and have always trusted the opinions of other reviewers/posters.
We weren't to be dissapointed because Coolakay exceeded all our expectations as a fantastic guest house.
We were initially met by the lovely Monica and after a cup of tea & coffee we were shown to room no.1 which would be ours for the duration of our stay. It was tastefully decorated in a lovely warm lilac colour scheme and had one of the comfiest beds we've ever slept in.
The ensuite was done in black & white (my fav colours) with a superb powerful shower enclosure, and everything down to the hand towels was matching and of extremely high quality.
Tea & coffee was always freely available both in the passageway where the rooms were as well as the main house itself. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfasts that were served were both extremely tasty and very generous, there were yoghurts, cereals & fresh fruit available followed by a selection of cooked breakfasts, full Irish, scrambled eggs etc, we opted for the full Irish everytime.
We met Yvonne the owner who we found to be a very charming lady, very knowledgeable and extremely friendly, she is my idea of what a B&B owner should be, nothing was too much trouble for her.
The day after our friends wedding we needed to get a taxi back to their venue to collect our car, so I asked her for a number of a local cab, but she told us that she would be happy to take us to collect the car, how many guest house owners would do that?
On the way we chatted about one thing and another, I mentioned that I was the owner of a landscaping business and had admired the gardens adjacent to the guest house. Yvonne did ask my advice regarding the cutting of a few Hebe's but apart from that they were very well maintained by their gardener and an ideal place to sit and chill on a warms Summers evening. We were treated like family while we were there and we would have no hesitation in making another reservation in the future, hopefully before too long.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyRVTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
1.9 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
6.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
3.9 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
6.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolakay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolakay House

Property: Coolakay House
Address: Waterfall Road | Coolakay, Enniskerry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Enniskerry
Also Known As:
Coolakay House Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing