We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”
Review of Coolakay House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Enniskerry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coolakay House
Ranked #1 of 6 Enniskerry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I wanted to go on a long weekend break in Wicklow and so we decided to stay at this B&B. We were made very welcome by Yvonne. In the mornings at the breakfast table and looking out at the stunning views of the Wicklow mountains. The location is very central for any one wanting to explore Wicklow. We are highly recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    52
    8
    8
    8
See reviews for
73
143
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
l
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I called up late one night and asked if there was a room available for the next evening. Luckily for me there was. I stayed for four months while I decided where I wanted to live South of Dublin. I think Yvonne and Robert thought I would never leave - and it was hard to do when the time came. Coolakay House is everything you might hope for in a B&B. Great rooms, very comfortable beds, fantastic breakfasts and spectacular views. And on top of this the welcome and friendliness of Yvonne and Robert make Coolakay House a place you want to return to, as many of their visitors do year after year. During my stay I met several families who have been coming back over the years. And for me, well I'm pleased to say I've made some new, special friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but there are some family rooms so if there are a few of you let Yvonne kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Googled for a nice B&B in Enniskerry and decided on staying at Coolakay House because of its fantastic ratings. Boy, i'm so happy i did stay at Coolakay's!! Although my friend & i only reached the House at half past ten at night, we received the warmest of welcomes from Yvonne. Our room was very pink and pretty, plus it was really warm and very welcoming with a cosy double bethe bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was amazing too, there was a full Irish breakfast cooked by dearest Yvonne, and she just kept offering us with more food like yoghurt fruits toast cereals, she certainly fed us really really well. I would certainly say that this is by far the best B&B i've stayed in, and i'm certainly going back for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Alexa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisnaskea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stopped off in this highly recommended B&B on our way to Aughrim and was not disappointed. We received the warmest of welcomes from our host Yvonne, who immediately provided us with tea and coffee and give us fantastic advice on what we could do in the area. Our room was warm and welcoming with a cosy double bed. The night was spent chatting to Yvonne and her husband Robert and before we knew it it was after midnight. We were welcomed the next morning by a breakfast that would do a five star hotel justice. We have stayed in B&B's. throughout Ireland both north and south but Coolakay House tops the lot. Thanks Yvonne and Robert, we will be back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dympna46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you looking for a traditional, comfortable B&B in mountains with beautiful view it is this place.From the very beginning we met with a nice reception.After our telephone call,Yvonne was waiting for us with hot cup of tea and coffee- after walking around Wicklow it was very good start.Then she showed us lovely,clean room with comfortable bed.During the stay the staff was helpful,friendly and smiling.In the morning we had a excellent,traditional Irish breakfast and we were ready to go.We are recommending this place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sylwia i Iza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was the first B&B we stayed at in Ireland. Yvonne warmly greeted us when we arrived and showed us to our room. After we had gotten settled, Yvonne chatted with us for quite a while, giving us tips on what to see and do in the area. She gave us several maps and lots of good advice. She even told us a few good spots to get dinner in town. She fixed us some coffee and cookies before we left on a hike. It was so nice to be greeted by such a friendly person.

Our room was clean and comfortable, with scenic views of the Wicklow and Dublin Mountains. Breakfast in the morning was great, too. We had lots of cereal and fruit, with great eggs and soda bread.

Overall, this was a truly wonderful experience.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just home from staying in Coolakay House, well deserved winner of the above award. Warm and friendly welcome for all guests, hospitality excellent, spotless clean and a lovely breakfast.A real home from home....we will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonJa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enniskerry
1.9 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
591 reviews
3.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
993 reviews
6.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
6.0 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
495 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolakay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolakay House

Property: Coolakay House
Address: Waterfall Road | Coolakay, Enniskerry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Enniskerry
Also Known As:
Coolakay House Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing