We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Visit”

Powerscourt Gardens and House
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.36*
and up
Glendalough and Powerscourt Gardens Day Tour
More Info
$33.56*
and up
Wicklow, Powerscourt and Glendalough Tour from Dublin
More Info
$52.74*
and up
Early Access: Book of Kells Including Exterior Tour of Dublin Castle
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted No. 3 In the Top 10 Gardens of the World - by National Geographic! One of the world's great Gardens, Powerscourt is situated 20km south of Dublin City Centre in the foothills of the Wicklow mountains.The Garden was begun by Richard Wingfield in the 1740's and stretches out over 47 acres. It is a sublime blend of formal gardens, sweeping terraces, and ornamental lakes together with secret hollows, rambling walks, walled gardens and over 200 varieties of trees and shrubs. The House was gutted by fire in 1974 but recently has been reborn as an exceptional tourist destination. An audio visual brings to life the rich history of the Estate, while the double height Georgian Ballroom has been restored and hosts wedding and special events.The House is now home to the best in Irish design in gifts, clothes and furniture in the Avoca Stores and Interiors Gallery. Treat yourself to lunch at the Terrace Cafe where you can enjoy exceptional food, from each loaf of Irish bread to Mediterranean tarts or extraordinary salads. Come and explore all that Powerscourt House & Gardens has to offer, there's something for everyone from little explorers to garden enthusiasts!
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Visit”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This is my second return to the gardens. I came last year in the heat wave and did not manage to see all as needed to be in the shade. This year I returned and am thankful that I managed to see all this time round and once again thoroughly enjoyed. The gardens are well kept with spectacular views as walking. Once again had a very tasty meal in the Terrace café.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 935Andie730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hello from Powerscourt and I am delighted that you had the chance to come back and see us this year. The heat in the summer last year was fantastic and the amount of bumblebees and beautiful ladybirds! It was a fantastic year for the blooms in the gardens - all very colorful and the scent off the plants and flowers was amazing. Thanks for the super photos too they look great! Thank you for sharing your visitor experience with us!
With Warm Regards
Carmel Byrne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,461
    495
    96
    24
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should not be missed!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Has to be seen - beautiful house, garden and lovely crafts and food at Avoca.Right on the route of a lovely drive around County Wicklow.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anja327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Anja
Good afternoon and thank you for your lovely review. Powerscourt is truly amazing and I am glad that you came to see the House and Gardens while you were in Wicklow.
With Warm Regards
Carmel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceptionally well, stunning view and extraordinary place.”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

One of beautiful place I have ever visited. State and garden is on mountain slope. Very pictorials and stunning view. Feel like heaven. Must for everyone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AshishKmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Hello from Powerscourt!
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review for us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you for your fantastic photo!
Warm Regards
Carmel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Gorgeous gardens”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The house at Powerscourt was gutted by a terrible fire in the 70s. Because of this there are no rooms on display in the house. Instead the house has a few shops, a cafe, a small exhibition area and a museum. The video montage in the exhibition area is very informative and worth viewing.

The gardens are behind the house and entry is 8.50 for adults, 7.50 for seniors. It is well worth the entry fee. The gardens are enormous and beautifully kept. There is an Italian area, Japanese garden, pet cemetery, walled garden and many pathways to explore. Even though the weather wasn't perfect on the day we visited, we really enjoyed our time here.

**TOP TIP - for slightly cheaper hot drinks, try the cafe area inside the lovely garden shop near the car park**

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jazzeejessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon from Powerscourt
Thank you for writing such a lovely review for us and despite the weather on the day you visited I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your trip. What was your favourite part of the gardens? I love almost every area in a different way but if I was to pick one I would say the walled garden!
Thanks again!
Warm Regards
Carmel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stunning estate”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

It helped that the day we visited was picture-perfect weatherwise, because the house isn't open for tours. However, the grounds were breathtaking! Every hedge, every blade of grass, you name it--everything is perfectly clipped and manicured. Give yourself plenty of time to walk about the gardens; we spent over two hours and probably could've spent more time taking in the view. The Japanese gardens are tranquil and gorgeous, and the pet cemetery was surprisingly poignant. Afterwards, we had tea and scones on the patio---wonderful!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ausweis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Good afternoon
Sounds like you had a super trip to Powerscourt and the weather was kind to you! The gardens are beautiful to stroll around and each part is so very different.
Aren't the scones in the Avoca Terrace Cafe delicious?
Warmest Regards
Carmel Byrne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powerscourt Gardens and House also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Vale of Glendalough, County Wicklow
 
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
Glendalough Village, Vale of Glendalough
 

Been to Powerscourt Gardens and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing