We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa's Arrival at Powerscourt House Friday 29th December 2013”

Powerscourt Gardens and House
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.29*
and up
Wicklow, Powerscourt and Glendalough Tour from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted No. 3 In the Top 10 Gardens of the World - by National Geographic! One of the world's great Gardens, Powerscourt is situated 20km south of Dublin City Centre in the foothills of the Wicklow mountains.The Garden was begun by Richard Wingfield in the 1740's and stretches out over 47 acres. It is a sublime blend of formal gardens, sweeping terraces, and ornamental lakes together with secret hollows, rambling walks, walled gardens and over 200 varieties of trees and shrubs. The House was gutted by fire in 1974 but recently has been reborn as an exceptional tourist destination. An audio visual brings to life the rich history of the Estate, while the double height Georgian Ballroom has been restored and hosts wedding and special events.The House is now home to the best in Irish design in gifts, clothes and furniture in the Avoca Stores and Interiors Gallery. Treat yourself to lunch at the Terrace Cafe where you can enjoy exceptional food, from each loaf of Irish bread to Mediterranean tarts or extraordinary salads. Come and explore all that Powerscourt House & Gardens has to offer, there's something for everyone from little explorers to garden enthusiasts!
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This was held tonight at Powercourt House. It was the launch night of Santa at Powerscourt which we know is a big event and a popular Santa. But oh dear... this was a disaster for many kids present.

As a grandparent i was delighted to bring my grand- daughter to sing with her drama group to herald Santa' s arrival. There were nice touches with hot chocolate and sweets and bunnies and an owl to entertain the kids. However it was soon apparent after Santa's arrival down the stairs and a quick hello to the kids near him that that was it for most of the kids.

As the kids all lined up to follow Santa to his grotto, two "ladies" blocked the entrance and loudly explained ( to the wide eyed KIDS who had sung their hearts out ) that it was a media event beyond the barrier and asked them to stand aside as they ushered in about 15 kids, and guarded the area to keep the other distraught KIDS out. This meant that the kids in the red t- shirts who had travelled to Powerscourt to sing for Santa were not allowed to go to his grotto!!!

They were neither sympathetic or apologetic to the kids who rather inconveniently did not understand that there were time constraints for Santa, and that these were kids of invited journalists!!! ( I really don't think so!!! )

I am not convinced there was any more than one journalist at this event. The photographer was employed by Powerscourt.


My youngest grand-child understood this as not being allowed to see Santa... As for time constraints...Santa could have seen the singing kids as a group. There was only about ten of them.I can only view this as a nasty experience. Santa is for all the kids....very very poor Avoca !
This was very cynical and thoughtless.

This is a shop with loads of sweets etc...at their disposal...however these kids just wanted an audience like the rest. There is no excuse for kids leaving crying their eyes out...!!! One particular girl had sung her heart out and was thrilled to have met Mrs Claus earlier on... The wide eyed innocence of the enraptured little girl, who went home crying.

I have been going to Powerscourt for years... I don't want to go back anytime soon!

SEASON OF GOODWILL....?????

Avoca please remember you are in trade... You have a lot to learn it would appear!

3  Thank DublinCitySouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Good morning and thank you for bringing this to our attention. It is very disappointing to hear that this was not handled better and the children that made such an effort to sing did not get to go into the grotto. I shall bring this to the attention of the Manager and Owner at Avoca for you.
Warmest Regards
Carmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"japanese garden"
in 205 reviews
"pet cemetery"
in 153 reviews
"powerscourt gardens"
in 146 reviews
"sugarloaf mountain"
in 50 reviews
"pepperpot tower"
in 29 reviews
"rose garden"
in 29 reviews
"triton lake"
in 25 reviews
"terrace cafe"
in 19 reviews
"avoca shop"
in 29 reviews
"few hours"
in 67 reviews
"full bloom"
in 28 reviews
"garden centre"
in 49 reviews
"sunny day"
in 48 reviews
"walk around"
in 21 reviews
"scones"
in 33 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 19 reviews
"powers court"
in 19 reviews
Filter

1,455 - 1,459 of 2,227 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

powerscourt gardens are just beautiful and so well laid out, but you do need at least 2 hours to see all the gardens and be agile as there are a lot of steps, the avoca store and cafe are a must to see as well

Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Good morning from Powerscourt. It is a beautiful Spring morning here and I hope it is the same for you in Galway! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. The gardens are vast at 47 acres and it is great if you have some extra time to explore them. The Avoca Terrace Cafe is fantastic and the food and refreshments are well worth a try!
With Warm Regards
Carmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband, sister, brother-in-law, and I visited Powerscourt on 10/20/13. We highly enjoyed the gardens, but the house was over commercialized with home decor shops. We spend at least two hours walking through all the different gardens. My favorite was the rose garden. Take time to smell the different roses because they all have different and beautiful fragrances. We got some scones and tea and ate on the back veranda, which was really pretty.
We took the bus from Dublin to Enniskerry, then walked up the hill and down the tree-lined lane. There were two horses grazing along the walk. One came right up to me and we all got to pet it.
It was an enjoyable afternoon. I wouldn't say Powerscourt would be on my 'do not miss' list, but if you have time, and enjoy gardens, this is a nice afternoon activity.

Thank Kyleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Hello from Powerscourt! It is a beautiful Spring morning and the sun is shining. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and that you had time to walk the gardens and explore the stores in the house. The Avoca Cafe scones are delicious and the view from the terrace is stunning!
Warmest Regards
Carmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

It's an amazing castle and a gorgeous garden. My favorite place in Ireland. I spent a full day there, just walking thru the gardens and hill. Inside the castle there was an Avoca store (must go), a childhood museum and restaurants. Unforgettable.

Thank ManuelaFragomeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Good morning from sunny Powerscourt and thank you so much for writing such a fantastic review for us it is very much appreciated! I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Powerscourt and that you spent the time to explore all the Powerscourt has to offer! I hope we see you again soon!
Warm Regards
Carmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Unquestionably a gorgeous garden with the spectacular Wicklow Mountains as a backdrop, the estate and garden struck me as an English attempt to tame the Irish wild, complete with colourful Japanese garden and faux grotto. The pet cemetery is just bizarre. The walk around the site is very enjoyable, and a crew of only five gardeners does a fabulous job of keeping the grounds mowed and the flowers in bloom. The house itself provides interesting insight into the history of the region -- and of Ireland's tragic past of invasion, property theft and oppression. The mansion must have been spectacular before the devastating fire of 1973 burned it to the stone walls -- certainly the photos displayed are impressive. Only recently re-roofed, the shell is still interesting as the construction of new sections grafted onto even more ancient walls is revealed. Worth a visit, but remember, you are in the middle of some of the most stunning natural areas in all of Ireland.

Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Good morning from a beautiful Spring morning at Powerscourt! I am so delighted that you took the time to write a review for us, it is very much appreciated. The Pets' Cemetery is quite unique alright, not something that you see too often! We are looking forward to the Tulips and Cherry Blossoms making an appearance at Powerscourt it is always lovely to see some bright colours after the Winter months.
Warm Regards
Carmel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powerscourt Gardens and House also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 
Vale of Glendalough, County Wicklow
Glendalough Village, Vale of Glendalough
 

Been to Powerscourt Gardens and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing