We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toyota's "Top Performers" Vacation”

Powerscourt Gardens and House
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Enniskerry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted No. 3 In the Top 10 Gardens of the World - by National Geographic! One of the world's great Gardens, Powerscourt is situated 20km south of Dublin City Centre in the foothills of the Wicklow mountains.The Garden was begun by Richard Wingfield in the 1740's and stretches out over 47 acres. It is a sublime blend of formal gardens, sweeping terraces, and ornamental lakes together with secret hollows, rambling walks, walled gardens and over 200 varieties of trees and shrubs. The House was gutted by fire in 1974 but recently has been reborn as an exceptional tourist destination. An audio visual brings to life the rich history of the Estate, while the double height Georgian Ballroom has been restored and hosts wedding and special events.The House is now home to the best in Irish design in gifts, clothes and furniture in the Avoca Stores and Interiors Gallery. Treat yourself to lunch at the Terrace Cafe where you can enjoy exceptional food, from each loaf of Irish bread to Mediterranean tarts or extraordinary salads. Come and explore all that Powerscourt House & Gardens has to offer, there's something for everyone from little explorers to garden enthusiasts!
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Awesome place to stay!!!!!! The rooms were large, clean and very comfortable! Lots to see in the area and Great shopping!

Thank DebbieESmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Good afternoon from Powerscourt! I take it from your review that you stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Powerscourt - I hope you had some time to explore the House & Gardens too.
With Warm Regards
Carmel Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"japanese garden"
in 206 reviews
"pet cemetery"
in 153 reviews
"powerscourt gardens"
in 146 reviews
"sugarloaf mountain"
in 50 reviews
"beautiful garden"
in 48 reviews
"pepperpot tower"
in 29 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 31 reviews
"triton lake"
in 25 reviews
"dolphin pond"
in 21 reviews
"few hours"
in 67 reviews
"avoca shop"
in 29 reviews
"full bloom"
in 28 reviews
"garden centre"
in 50 reviews
"sunny day"
in 49 reviews
"walk around"
in 21 reviews
"scones"
in 31 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 20 reviews
Filter

1,574 - 1,578 of 2,251 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

Finally made it to Powerscourt after missing it 17 years ago.
In between Seasons but still beautiful.What a fantastic view from the front of the House down to the Mountains.
Nice Cafe and terrific shops.Found the Pet Cemetery fascinating.

Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

So glad you made it to Powerscourt on your trip to Ireland! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Gardens and House!
With Warm Regards
Carmel Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We got there late in the day on our first day in Ireland. The gardens were beautiful and the weather was perfect, blue sky and about 70 degrees F. With our overseas flight arriving about 8:30 in the morning we had been up for about 30 hours by the time we arrived at Powerscourt, having stopped at Castletown House first, and the quiet beauty of the gardens made it a great choice for our first day. We were there too late in the day to see what little of the house is available. I hope that someday they can fully restore the house to it's past glory to make this an even more impressive place to visit.

Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks so much for your lovely review. It is a pity that you could not have come to us earlier to explore all that Powerscourt has to offer. I don't think a refurbishment is on the list as all the contents were destroyed by fire in 1974 so there are no original contents left. However there is still the magnificent gardens and the shop and dine experience in the house!
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation in Ireland and thankfully the weather was agreeable! As we Irish say "Ireland is a great country if we could put a roof in it":)
With Warm Regards
Carmel Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Powerscourt is a beautiful property just south of Dublin. It can be easily reached by car or bus if coming from Dublin city centre. Driving yourself is meant to take about 20 minutes from the city. There are also guided tours to Powerscourt and Wicklow. Because I'd done much of the area before, I took Dublin bus 44 from Ranelagh to Enniskerry (about a 45 minute ride, but very inexpensive) and then walked from the town to Powerscourt. The website says "short walk," but it was further than I anticipated. It's not a hard walk, but much of it is uphill, and I'd say it takes about 20 minutes walking at a normal pace. Wear comfortable shoes even if you aren't walking from the town. The grounds at Powerscourt are very hilly and most of the footpaths are gravel. It wouldn't be conducive for heels, although there were some women attempting to walk around in them.

Once on the property, you pay a small fee to enter the grounds. The gardens are very well mapped out and if you do the "long route," it is suggested you give yourself one hour to walk all the way around. My favorite parts of the premises were the Japanese garden and the rose garden, but all of the grounds are well manicured and the views over the mountains are spectacular.

Inside the house there are shops and exhibits. You can have lunch in the café or grab something to go in the Avoca shop. The trip was well worth it out to Powerscourt. I'm glad it's another area I can add to my map of places visited near Dublin.

NOTE* If taking city bus 44, the bus only leaves Enniskerry every hour...3:30, 4:30, etc. The town itself has a few shops and some restaurants though, so waiting here is not a problem.

1  Thank hesalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hello from Powerscourt and thank you for your very comprehensive and much appreciated review. Yes the walk can be a bit long when you are not used to it, I shall have a look and see what our website says and perhaps change it. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for sharing such lovely photos:)
With Warmest Regards
Carmel Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Spent several hours walking all through these gardens, so glad we did. They are really lovely and incredibly well kept. Lots and lots of walking so wear comfortable shoes. There is a charge. There is a cafe and several shops. Parking is free.

1  Thank travelprincess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PowerscourtWaterfall, Guest Relations Manager at Powerscourt Gardens and House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us! So glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for sharing your experience with us. Yes the tip about comfy shoes is a good one as the gardens a pretty extensive!
Warmest Regards
Carmel Byrne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Powerscourt Gardens and House also viewed

Enniskerry, County Wicklow
Vale of Glendalough, County Wicklow
 
Glendalough Village, Vale of Glendalough
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Powerscourt Gardens and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing