We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place for the crack”
Review of Eugene's Bar

Eugene's Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a place for the crack”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were taken here by friends when we visited them in March. They are local and knew Eugene. He is a pleasant welcoming man who makes the nicest hot whiskey ( in my opinion) in Ireland. The bar is something else, small, long and unique and has to be seen to be believed, cosy and bright, with every example of whiskey bottle on display, rainbow coloured throughout, with small booths and light displays. When you step out and walk along the street and down a lane, you are then looking at the Ennistymon falls, which took me by surprise as you had no idea that such a spectacular sight is at the back of this tiny high street. A must visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    2
    4
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fab Little Bar”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Loved Eugene's bar was just so unusual with all the memorabilia throughout , very unique.Lovely bar man too, had a big fire on , very comfy

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank maud11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennistymon, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Spiritual Environment.”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A nice clean drinking emporiom where one could get lost in a host of worldwide spirits. I would recommend it to the person that likes to taste different whiskeys, brandys and other spirits in a very relaxing atmosphere. Also has a good pint for the person that wants to indulge. Nice chatty barman/proprietor and plenty local banter would make this establishment a need to visit if in the area. One can always drop a business card on leaving the place and have it added to the array of cards already on display.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1gercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the nicest bars in Ireland”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Visited the area with friends for a few days in November and was recommended Eugenes to visit in the town. It is a beautiful bar and very well kept and maintained. There was a beautiful fire lighting and this gave the place a lovely cosy feel. The bar was very quiet as it was mid week and early evening, but the girl behind the counter make no effort to make conversation with us. This was a pity as it would have added to our experience.

Regardless, I would definitely recommend the bar and hopefully will return when next in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maireadnewlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Learn about Irish whiskey here”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Eugene's is a small, cozy, bar with a tremendous selection of Irish whiskey. We were there at a quiet time, and the owner / barkeep educated us about the character of various whiskeys, which of course we had to sample. His recommendations were very helpful when we were at duty free on the way home. We enjoyed this pub more than any other on our trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KansanRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eugene's Bar also viewed

Ennistymon, County Clare
Ennistymon, County Clare
 
Liscannor, County Clare
Lahinch, County Clare
 

Been to Eugene's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing