We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely Different”
Review of Eugene's Bar

Eugene's Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Completely Different”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

An articulate and passionate owner (Eugene) served us and was at ease showing us the architecture and the concept he had of the bar. Not sure if Eugene is more Interesting than the bar - but something made me stay there for a few pints. Can't wait for my next visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rourked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    2
    4
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Nice place to have a glass of whiskey”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice people, good service. Quite good choice of whiskies (Irish and scotch).Good place to talk - music isnt too loud and doesnt distirub. Father Ted memorables.
Place is quite expensive.And they should have more beers.
And sometimes toilets are smelly - we sat close to toilets door and we could smell everything.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pchela1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome pub - loved it”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Fabulous pub that I would give a big recommendation to everybody but a huge one to fans of Father Ted!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting and quirky....and that's just the owner!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is an intriguing bar which has seen the owner Eugene put serious time and effort into the decor. There is so much to see inside and it varies from the beautiful woodwork styled on an old fashioned wagon with intricate paint work to the museum style display cabinets containing various collections of whiskies and vodkas and the stain glass windows and features.
Eugene the owner is an interesting character once you engage him. Lots of different stories about how the pub came about. You don't have to like everything he may say but he is doing something different and is doing it his way, and you have to respect him for that.
I'd go back for another look and I'm sure I'll find something else that I didn't see this time around.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank James_Mc_Cawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This bar would make a great museum, terrible/rude owner!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful venue, well kept and full of Father Ted memorabilia and replica adverts from throughout the years. I would really recommend coming in to have a look. The drinks are pricy and the owner is rude, barely acknowledging us or saying thank you or good bye when we (soon after arriving) left. The bar clearly trades on its connection to Father Ted and are more concerned with money than giving a friendly Irish welcome or any form of hospitality. There are much friendlier, down to earth and authentic pubs in the area (Dalys and Cooleys to name two)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Pixiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eugene's Bar also viewed

Ennistymon, County Clare
Ennistymon, County Clare
 
Liscannor, County Clare
Lahinch, County Clare
 

Been to Eugene's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing