We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some people are never satisfied!”
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Some people are never satisfied!”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I am amazed by the bad reviews given above.
The hotel is absolutely lovely! The pool is fabulous, the rooms are large and clean and the breakfasts spendiferous. All the staff were wonderfull all weekend.

If I have one tiny niggle it is that the air-con was a bit arctic in the function rooms

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rentawitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    291
    167
    87
    63
See reviews for
299
378
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Stayed in one of the spa appartments for a week in late July. Price was Euro 900
for the week At this price I expected top of the range accomodation. What I was presented with was a very large put dated apparment in bad need of a face lift.
Furniture was sprace and what was there was in some cases broken.
The leisure center too was poorly maintained. The water in the pool was very cloudy on one particular day. The food in the hotel was ok but when I was given two menus
with the same menu at different prices and informed that the correct menu was the one with the higher pricing ( 14% higher) I got the impression that they hike up the food pricing in high season. I wrote to the General Manager of the Hotel to express my opinion
in early August but as I have not had a reply I can only assume that he/she in disinterested in customer opinion.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank declan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2010

The location of this hotel is excellent for touring the burren and the area,it is within its own private gounds and only a short walk to local shops,bars which play irish music.although when we were there the hotel had a entertainment.
We stayed at the Falls Hotel for 3 nts, the room was in a good location overlooking the river,in was bright and airy, maid service everyday, We had full use of the leisure facilities which was an added bonus.There was a good selection menu at dinner and food was very good,
We have stayed in quite a few hotel in the South of Ireland and this hotel would be one of the best weve stayed.
I really dont know why some people are leaving negative reviews.( then again you can't please everyone.)
We will be going back to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cronstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I stayed here for two nights recently, the hotel is situation in the small town of Ennistymon Co. Clare. Close to the Cliffs of Moher. The hotel looks lovely from the outside and the views are amazing. The receptionists were friendly and helpful. Our bedroom was basic but comfortable. The bathroom was old fashioned and the noise of the fan was a loud awful noise.
. The dinner room was very nice indeed and the evening meal served by the friendly waiters was excellent. The bar food was lovely and plentiful, Although my food had to be returned to the kitchen, they were very quick in sending out the correct order.
The swimming pool and hot tub were excellent. The breakfast in mornings was self service apart from tea, a great selection wason offer.
I enjoyed the stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smalltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
174 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Just returned from a great value 2night B&B package with Dinner @€99p.p.s. This is a lovely 3* hotel and once you arrive expecting 3* standards then I can honestly say you won't be disappointed. We usually choose 4* but this is the only Hotel Available with a Spa near Lahinch so we decided to give it a go. The room was large with modern decor & even though the bathroom suite was a little old it was clean. There are no shower caps provided so if you need to use one bring it with you! No room safe is provided but you can place valubles in safety deposit box at reception. The bar food is the usual fare and the Restaurant food is of a good standard. We didn't eat in the Thai restaurant in the Hotel as we only noticed it on our 2nd day, we would have happily eaten there if we had known. We ate the 1st evening in the town - Market House Restaurant & the food was just ok. They had a very busy day & were running out of food when we arrived @7.30pm so we got the best they could offer. We both had treatments in the Hotel River Spa & they were very good. Only complaint was that the general Spa area was cold, lying on a cold bed is not the most enjoyable thing after a deep massage. The Thermal Area consists of just a Sauna & Steam Room with a shower. It's best to use before your treatment esp if your having a facial. They have a little spa cafe area where you can have food which is nice. Some lovely shops in the town & Eugene's Bar is definitely worth checking out. We were very happy with our stay & would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHMkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I've had to wait over a month to write this review in order to try and calm down and try give a fair review. I had booked two family rooms for my own family and visiting friends who themselves had two young children, with a dinner included which we had the first night. First impressions of the rooms which in fairness were quite large were of Fawlty Towers and that era (but at least Fawlty Towers was funny). The rooms are shabby and dated and while some reviewers have commented that they are clean there is only so many times that you can wash fabrics before they fade and disintegrate. Bathrooms were cleaned well by staff but again were very dated, lacking maintenance and in need of complete overhaul. Overall rooms were very poor value for money.

However the real problem lay in the fact that our rooms were placed on the same side of the building as the function room and the hotel had two weddings that weekend. Noise levels from the function room were severe enough to keep us all awake and complaints to reception were met by "The music will stop at 3am sir" without any effort to reduce the sound levels in between. When the music finally did stop and we were just getting to sleep the fire alarm went off at 03:45. So much for sleep quality! We did complain to management the following morning and in fairness we were moved to a room at the other side of the hotel. Unfortunately our friends were moved to another room but still at the same side of the hotel as the function room and they encountered the same problem on the second night. And oh yes the fire alarm went off around 01:15 the second night just for good measure. If you want a relaxing and restful stay at a hotel then definitely look elsewhere.

Our dinner the first night, which was included in the two night package, was of average standard and I wouldn't complain about it but for the fact that the service provided by a certain waitress left a lot to be desired and although we were finishing our meal at just 21:30 it appeared she couldn't get us out of the restaurant quick enough and was very gruff in her manner. Not the friendly Irish welcome our visiting friends had been expecting. We had a much nicer meal the following evening however in the hotel's Thai restaturant where food and service was immeasurably better. Breakfast time at the hotel was chaotic and the breakfast food was poor in quality and cooking standard.

The cost of the two rooms for the two nights (incl 1 dinner) was €279 and €314 respectively which believe it or not included a €100 discount each from the manager based on our complaints. Very poor value with the discount nevermind without it and it left a sour note with our visiting friends who otherwise enjoyed their trip to Ireland.

All in all an unpleasant stay in an unpleasant hotel and very poor value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleTravellingMatt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
I'm sorry to read about your upset following your stay with us in August. I'm so sorry that you and your family were disturbed by the Fire Alarm going off two nights in a row. On the first night it was a false alarm and we called in the maintenance people the following morning and they fixed the problem. Then the following night some young guests intentionally set off the alarm and it disturbed the entire hotel again. It really was out of our control and as you can imagine we had quite a number of complaints following the disturbance.
With regard to the rooms that you were allocated I'm sorry that they were located close to the function room and we do our utmost to allocate those rooms to hotel guests attending the wedding but due to the hotel being full the entire August Bank Holiday weekend and guests staying for 3 - 4 nights, the options for moving you were limited.
With regard to the dated fabrics in the large family rooms, we are in the process of refurbishing all our bedrooms and there are rooms that still have the older furnishings but as you observed they are very spacious and clean.
With regard to value for money, we do offer great value, but I'm afraid that the weekend that you stayed with us is the busiest weekend of the year and the number of rooms at special discounted rates are limited on that particular weekend.
I'm sorry again for the noise and disturbance you experienced during the stay, this isn't the norm.
Kind regards,
Joanne Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We booked 3 nights accomodation with 2 dinners in this his hotel. We knew we made a mistake when we saw the room. Shabby does not describe how bad it was. The bed cover was worn. The desk and bath pannel were missing bits of wood. The place was just awful. Things only got worse when we went to dinner the food in the resturant was really awful. It tasted like it had been cooked for hours. Breakfast was like feeding at th zoo it was really crowed. The staff did there best but they kept running out of things and the attitute was just to bad.

The leasure centre was good and the location is fantastic it is just a shame the decor and food were so poor. The staff were pleasant, but could not help. Maybe we were unluck, but it did spoil our holiday and I would never every stay at this hotel again. Reading some of the other reviews here I have to wonder were they in the same place?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
I'm sorry that you were not happy with your recent stay with us and to read the negative comments about the food you received for your evening meal. We normally recieve very positive comments about our food and I'm just wondering if you spoke to a member of staff about your issues with the food in the restaurant while you were staying in the hotel? With regard to breakfast, duirng the summer periods in particular breakfast is extremely busy between 9am - 10am and we have notices around the hotel advising guests of the quiet and busy periods.
Thank you for your positive comments on our leisure facility, staff and our location but I do apologise that you did not enjoy the overall experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
68 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
347 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
404 reviews
8.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,220 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Property: Falls Hotel & Spa
Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing