We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average...”
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here with our two kids, 3 and 4 from fri to mon.
Unfort the kids club shuts down on Thursday...
The rooms were lovely - really big and comfy.
The hotel is very picturesque, lovely location but something is lacking atmosphere wise, we did not find the staff very friendly in the bar/reception/lobbly. The lobby is quite big but not very inviting t be honest...
Its a pity as the hotel is just adorable and the room was lovely and the thai rest food was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonOffaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us at the Falls Hotel & Spa. You have highlighted many positive aspects of our hotel. The spacious nature of our bedrooms was a big advantage in your opinion as was the picturesque setting here in Ennistymon and the quality of food serve din our Thai River Restaurant.
The kids club originally was ran seven days a week but we found a very poor uptake at weekends so we reduced it back.
It's very strange to hear the friendliness of our staff being questioned as usually it's the exact opposite and the hotel prides itself in the friendly Irish welcome we give all our guests.
Hope that you all will be back staying again soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
There are newer reviews for Falls Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent hotel for value. We were there for a family holiday and the staff were so helpful especially the lovely English lady managing the bar think her name was Valerie... The food was beautiful and an amazing selection.. The pool was brilliant for kiddies too...thanks so much for an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royalrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It's wonderful to see so many positive comments and I am delighted to see you all had such a terrific family break. Vivian in the bar in particular will be very impressed with your kind words. Value for money, standard of cuisine and facilities for children have all received your thumbs up and for that I'm very pleased. Hope a return visit will be made back to the Falls again in the future.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in this hotel last weekend and really enjoyed our visit.The hotel is located in a beautiful setting in Ennistimon in Co Clare, it overlooks the river Inagh and the falls. When checking - in we met Bernie and Darina at reception, both were friendly, helpful and efficient.That evening (Fri) we ate in the bar which has beautiful views of the river and falls.The staff in the bar were excellent. That night there was musical entertainment in the bar provided by Laurence. The music was lovely and really enhanced the atmosphere in the bar.Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we would not hesitate in recommending a visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernadette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for both taking the time to write this review but also for your excellent recommendation. Our location and setting greatly impressed you. Whether it was when you first arrived or were eating in the bar the beautiful views of the River Inagh and Cascades blew you away! Reception and Bar staff have also been highlighted by you with Darina and Bernie getting extra praise which they will be delighted to hear about.
Throughout the whole Summer we have had musical entertainment in the bar seven nights a week and it's great to see Laurence impressed you so much and added to the atmosphere of the bar!
It's terrific to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and hopefully you will be back staying with us again very soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in the apartments at the Falls Hotel (attached to the hotel) . 2 adults and 3 kids 8,13,16 years. The apartments are really spacious and spotlessly clean!! We chose one with a balcony, all the apartments are over looking the River Inagh.
The pool is great with kiddie pool and bubble pool . There are also both indoor and out door jacuzzi s. Again all areas absolutely spotless.
We ate in the bar area on our last night and the food and service were excellent.
I didn't use the SPA :-( but heard great things about it...maybe next time.
There are a family of friendly donkeys just in front of the hotel which were a big hit with the kids.
And finally the staff at the hotel were absolutely lovely... from the cleaning staff to the bar staff to the receptionists they were welcoming and helpful at all times.
I would recommend the Falls for both families and couples ....absolutely faultless !!!! A great place
to use as a base for touring Co.Clare. Well be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aideen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
For any family coming to stay at the Falls Hotel & Spa the apartments are a must! I am pleased to see that you were greatly impressed with their spacious nature and their overall cleanliness.
Despite usually being self-catering you still receive full complimentary access to our leisure club facilities and by the sounds of it you made the most of this and were hugely impressed. The variety of swimming pools and Jacuzzis means there is something for everybody to enjoy.
The standard of our staff in all areas of the hotel left a positive impression on you and for a hotel to survive and reach its potential this is a crucial factor.
Thank you for you recommendation to both families and couples alike and we can't wait for you all to return to Ennistymon again and I highly recommend you using our River Spa during your next stay, everyone deserves a treat!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent 4 night there for their Back to School deal.
2 adults and 1 child (6yrs)
Right from the minute we checked in the hotel and staff could not have been better.
All the staff in the carvery both in front of and behind the counter were attentive without being in our face.
The room was spacious and very clean.
A great base for visiting the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren etc.
We ate each evening in the hotel, the carvery, the dining room and the Thai Restaurant, all the food was excellent, in taste portions and price.
The swimming pool was great, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and hot tub.
We didn't use the kids club.
The setting was beautiful superb views.
One of the highlights was the "milk and cookies" for the little lad each evening as part of the Back to School deal, he loved collecting them in the bar.
Couldn't fault it

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoryBlanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I like your final sentence of "Couldn't fault it" which immediately conveys a positive level of guest satisfaction which all the staff of our hotel love to see. Your compliments are greatly appreciated and it's wonderful to see so many of our departments being recommended.
From the beginning of your stay right until the end the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff put your family in a positive ease. Not alone handing praise to the quality and taste of our food served throughout the bar and different restaurants but you also appreciated the size of the portions and their value for money.
Yet again a guest like yourself has also shown great respect for the size of our bedrooms and for the location of the hotel both for our scenic views and our approximity to the major tourist attractions of Co. Clare.
I am delighted to see that your son enjoyed his milk and cookies and this was only a small touch that we use to make many of our hotel deals and packages as appealing and as affective as possible.
I really hope you and your family will be back staying with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay!

The setting is beautiful, overlooking the river and waterfall.. It is an older hotel, so there are little quirks to it! I got a surprise when I chose to use the stair case instead of the lift one morning! For a hotel of this standard I would not have expected to find a concrete staircase! It's only minor but it was disappointing!

We ate in both the bar and restaurant over the course of our stay, we could not fault the food we received! There was a noticeable difference in service in the bar depending on the staff that were working, some excellent, some not so good.

The spa in the falls was amazing, relaxation room overlooking the river was a treat! We had a couple of treatments over the course of our stay and the standard of service was excellent. The staff in the spa were very professional and made the entire experience thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delboywex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay here in Ennistymon! Without doubt our River Spa impressed you the most during your two night stay. Most people who do in fact go for treatments always claim it to be of a five star quality and it's no different with yourself. The relaxation room always attracts complements overlooking the tranquil Inagh river. Our professional and expert therapists also always are on the receiving end of significant words of praise as well as the standard of our food on offer.
The setting and location of the Falls Hotel & Spa also left a lasting impression on you.
In relation to the concrete stairs they would be our fire escape stairs with the lifts being the primary access to our bedrooms.
Hope to have you visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Really lovely hotel, attentive staff and good food. Excellent rooms and Spa.
Beautiful setting but a lot of steps......
Would recomend entering via the Spa and taking the lift!
Take a walk along the river and feed the donkeys, not to be missed.!

Room Tip: 3rd floor means less walking....
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Privatedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for such a pleasant review. You have given a brief synopsis of the many wonderful facilities of the Falls Hotel & Spa. You have highlighted our staff, cuisine, bedrooms and our River Spa for praise. Your greatest recommendation encourages future guests to take a stroll by the Cascades and river Inagh, while not forgetting to feed our donkeys along the way.
I hope a return visit will be considered in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
92 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
8.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
371 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,214 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range: $128 - $1,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing