We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent 4 night there for their Back to School deal.
2 adults and 1 child (6yrs)
Right from the minute we checked in the hotel and staff could not have been better.
All the staff in the carvery both in front of and behind the counter were attentive without being in our face.
The room was spacious and very clean.
A great base for visiting the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren etc.
We ate each evening in the hotel, the carvery, the dining room and the Thai Restaurant, all the food was excellent, in taste portions and price.
The swimming pool was great, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and hot tub.
We didn't use the kids club.
The setting was beautiful superb views.
One of the highlights was the "milk and cookies" for the little lad each evening as part of the Back to School deal, he loved collecting them in the bar.
Couldn't fault it

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoryBlanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I like your final sentence of "Couldn't fault it" which immediately conveys a positive level of guest satisfaction which all the staff of our hotel love to see. Your compliments are greatly appreciated and it's wonderful to see so many of our departments being recommended.
From the beginning of your stay right until the end the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff put your family in a positive ease. Not alone handing praise to the quality and taste of our food served throughout the bar and different restaurants but you also appreciated the size of the portions and their value for money.
Yet again a guest like yourself has also shown great respect for the size of our bedrooms and for the location of the hotel both for our scenic views and our approximity to the major tourist attractions of Co. Clare.
I am delighted to see that your son enjoyed his milk and cookies and this was only a small touch that we use to make many of our hotel deals and packages as appealing and as affective as possible.
I really hope you and your family will be back staying with us again soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed our stay!

The setting is beautiful, overlooking the river and waterfall.. It is an older hotel, so there are little quirks to it! I got a surprise when I chose to use the stair case instead of the lift one morning! For a hotel of this standard I would not have expected to find a concrete staircase! It's only minor but it was disappointing!

We ate in both the bar and restaurant over the course of our stay, we could not fault the food we received! There was a noticeable difference in service in the bar depending on the staff that were working, some excellent, some not so good.

The spa in the falls was amazing, relaxation room overlooking the river was a treat! We had a couple of treatments over the course of our stay and the standard of service was excellent. The staff in the spa were very professional and made the entire experience thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delboywex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay here in Ennistymon! Without doubt our River Spa impressed you the most during your two night stay. Most people who do in fact go for treatments always claim it to be of a five star quality and it's no different with yourself. The relaxation room always attracts complements overlooking the tranquil Inagh river. Our professional and expert therapists also always are on the receiving end of significant words of praise as well as the standard of our food on offer.
The setting and location of the Falls Hotel & Spa also left a lasting impression on you.
In relation to the concrete stairs they would be our fire escape stairs with the lifts being the primary access to our bedrooms.
Hope to have you visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Really lovely hotel, attentive staff and good food. Excellent rooms and Spa.
Beautiful setting but a lot of steps......
Would recomend entering via the Spa and taking the lift!
Take a walk along the river and feed the donkeys, not to be missed.!

Room Tip: 3rd floor means less walking....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Privatedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for such a pleasant review. You have given a brief synopsis of the many wonderful facilities of the Falls Hotel & Spa. You have highlighted our staff, cuisine, bedrooms and our River Spa for praise. Your greatest recommendation encourages future guests to take a stroll by the Cascades and river Inagh, while not forgetting to feed our donkeys along the way.
I hope a return visit will be considered in the not so distant future!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

we have been to this hotel twice before and every time the staff have been very nice on check in ,during our stay and check out
the food is fantastic in the bar and restaurant
rooms are always clean the ground are beautiful and the water falls is picture perfect

Room Tip: try and stay longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I think your excellent review can be summed up in your Room Tip when you recommend "to try and stay longer." What a lovely compliment! It's great to hear from a happy customer and to see how impressed you are with the Falls Hotel & Spa. Our staff in particular have obviously left a lasting impression on you. Equally the food we serve, the standard of our accommodation and yet again our scenic location and waterfall all receive words of praise.
I hope the 4th visit back is already being planned as we can't wait to see you all return to Ennistymon. Thanks for your A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ grade by the way :)

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights at the start of August 2013. We had a family room which was big enough for us and our 2 young children. The room is a bit dated and doesn't have AC which normally isn't a big issue in Ireland but would have been nice this Summer.

The staff were very nice and helpful. The house keeping did a good job. The beds were comfortable. The setting is beautiful.

The hotel take a lot of weddings which tend to take over the reception area and can result in a lot of noise. Our room was toward the back of the hotel so the noise wasn't so much of an issue for us.

There is a very nice swimming pool but it closes to children under the age of 16 at 7pm which is a bit early.

Room Tip: Get a room toward the back of the hotel away from the ball room and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Falls Hotel & Spa. You have mentioned many positives you experienced during you visit including giving huge praise to the standards of our staff and equally our beautiful scenic location in co. Clare.
We do not have AC available in all our room as you stated but we had a number of portable fans that were available on request.
In relation to our pool we feel that we have to be fair to guests who do not have families also and even to parents of families. We can't forget all the adults who are on summer holidays too and therefore they deserve some relaxing time on their own. Usually this policy is greatly complimented by our guests.
Hope to see you all back to the Falls again very soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went here for one night on bank holiday Monday and while the grounds and views looked beautiful on the way in everything else about this hotel was a let down from the moment we arrived. We had made our reservation online but upon check in discovered our room had not been booked because of the bank holiday which might not have been so bad if their staff had the correct manner in dealing with the situation instead we were brushed to the side while she continued to check in other guests for the next five mins before actually giving us a room. The bedroom itself was perfectly fine if a little dated but the bathrooms were very much in need of a revamp. We also dined in their restaurant and the menu looked promising but again we were left feeling disappointed my partner had lamb which he ordered rare and came out well done we also had to ask for extra potato as the portion they sent with our main was tiny also when we went to order dessert we were told that 3 of the 6 were no longer available but the table beside us was then able to order one of these while we were left with an underwhelming substitute we were also left waiting another 10 mins after we got our tea for the milk and sugar which was laughable considering the price of the meal. Overall our experience here was not a pleasant one staff would barely acknowledge you let alone hold the door as you pass through at the same time... What i thought would be a nice and pleasurable experience on a rare day off turned out to be a less than average overpriced let down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatMac1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to construct this review. The opinion and satisfaction levels of all our guests is of vital importance. Unfortunately it appears a number of issues arose during your stay with us that were both disappointing and very avoidable. It is unclear why your booking was not in our system but it certainly had nothing to do with the bank holiday. For the Summer we have a member of staff solely working on reservations. I would think that this problem lied with the third party website you booked our hotel on. It is disappointing that you felt let down by our reception team but despite almost being fully booked we still had no issue in finding you a bedroom immediately.
In relation to your experience at our restaurant I spoke with the restaurant manager and she remembered your situation. Your order issues were all down to a new member of staff whose inexperience let down our usual high standards. However our manager did say she spoke with you after your meal and that you left relatively happy with our original solution. Unfortunately particularly on busy bank holiday weekends human error cannot always be eliminated.
Overall I can see that a few things went wrong for you on this visit but I really hope it does not discourage you to give our hotel another chance. We pride ourselves in the friendliness of our staff and the excellent welcome we give all our guests.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went there for one night on a tour of the west we were actually on honeymoon,although we had two children with us and we didn't specify that we were on honeymoon. Grounds are beautiful, so impressive. We had a lovely big room. Husband and daughter went for a swim in the evening and the pool was really lovely. Staff were friendly and very courteous. Breakfast delicious, loads to choose from. We had a nice walk on the grounds the following morning, it really is beautiful. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nim078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I hope you had a fantastic honeymoon in Ireland and I am delighted to see that you and your family decided to stay with us at the Falls Hotel & Spa for a night. Thank you for this lovely review and it was our pleasure to make your stay so perfect. The grounds of our hotel are perfect for a walk and I am pleased to see how impressed you were with our setting.
You also highlight our staff, our bedroom size and our leisure club facilities for significant praise.
I hope this is the first of many visits to Ennistymon and remember we are equally good for an anniversary trip as a honeymoon trip!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
8.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,349 reviews
14.8 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,650 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,279 reviews
2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
152 reviews
2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range: $133 - $1,186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing