We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a spacious family room. Hotels location is great for exploring all Clare has to offer. Cliffs of Moher, Burren, Bunratty - all very accessible from here. Hotel was comfy if a little dated. The main reception areas have been renovated and are comfy and up to date. Bedrooms are clean and comfy but could do with a little modernisation. Grounds are lovely and town of Ennistymon has all you will need.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMcG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
One of the primary factors that impressed you so much is the location of the Falls Hotel & Spa. As you point out yourself we are a great location for exploring all county Clare has to offer. Our central location and our accessibility are some of the many reasons why families like yours decide to stay with us in the first place.
You also compliment the grounds of the hotel and our proximity to the town of Ennistymon.
We would be hoping that you have a return visit planned again soon.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
There are newer reviews for Falls Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute break with our 18 mth old. Looking for a family friendly hotel with a swimming pool, considering the lovely Irish weather. The staff couldn't have been better, fulfilling our pre-request for a quiet room, considering our little girl. We stayed in a lovely large room, at the very end of the hotel, overlooking the river. It couldn't have been quieter! Our room was extremely large with a double & single bed and even with the cot (a proper cot, not a travel one, v. impressed!), our daughter had loads of space for her toys and playing in the room. While the decor of the bathroom is a bit tired and dated, it was spotlessly clean and spacious.
Breakfast was excellent, with loads of variety on offer and the view is lovely.
We spent quite a bit of time in the swimming pool, as of course the weather wasn't the best and found it really clean and safe for young children. It did get a bit crowded on the Saturday afternoon with children but that is to be expected from this family orientated hotel.

But it really is the staff who made our stay so welcoming. Unfortunately, our little girl sprained her ankle during our stay but the staff could not have been more accomdating, sourcing a local doctor for her and asking after her every day. Everyone we came across in this hotel made us feel so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

This is an excellent Family Hotel for extremely good value. I will advise that if you are looking for a romantic couples break away, this might not be the most suitable as it is extremely popular with families. For good reason.

On another note, if you do stay here, check out the creperie in Ennistymon, the best crepes I've had outside of France!! And they even do gluten free!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, even though it's a bit of a trek from reception, the quiet is lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agalwaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Falls Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to hear you and your family had such a fantastic time with us. You have given us excellent praise in relation to a number of services that we offer. Everything from our food to the leisure club facilities we have for all our guests, you have said noting but only positive compliments.
Your greatest respect of all was towards our staff. I am disappointed to hear that your daughter had to visit the doctor while you were here but I am pleased to see that our staff impressed you in the professional and friendly manner they acted.
Hope that you all will return again this Summer.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can only compare this hotel to Fawlty Towers. The facilities are ancient and so dirty. When we arrived, the staff were very busy with weddings and guests (like us) arriving were really disregarded. I had called ahead of time to ask about wi fi and they told me they had it. They changed our room three times and it only worked in the Bar.

There are old taps with hot water and cold water coming out of two different taps. The bedding was frayed and the rooms were so dirty. We were handed a huge "key" that had been taped over so many times and was also filthy.

Breakfast was also served in a dirty dining room and nothing was fresh.

This place needs a complete make over!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBM851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All feedback is greatly appreciated!
I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would now like if possible to address some of the issues you have raised.
Our breakfast is prepared and cooked freshly every morning and is usually highly praised by most guest as you can see from other recent reviews. We have never had any issue in the past with the cleanliness of our dining room either.
In relation to the WIFI in our hotel, it is only available in our bar and our reception/lobby area and we do not claim to have it in our bedrooms even though this is something we are considering for the future.
I am slightly confused over your issue with our bedroom taps as usually hot and cold water comes out of two separate taps so I cannot understand any problem with this?
You have not referred to the exact dates you stayed so I cannot address your claim of being disregarded by our reception staff. If you could get in touch with me and we can discuss in more detail the issues you had during your visit, contact me on sales@fallshotel.ie

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here in a family room for the bank holiday weekend 4th May, with two kids 3 and 6. They did not want to come home. The room was spacious and spotless. The leisure centre one of the best for kids. The restaurants were really good, staff were warm and friendly to adults and kids. The location is perfect for Lahinch, Doolin, islands and the cliffs of Moher. We had a really lovely relaxing weekend, would highly recommend for families and couples.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelagalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
What a brilliant review! I am delighted to hear that you all had such a wonderful Bank Holiday weekend with us. Its so pleasing to hear that your kids in particular had such a great time at the Falls Hotel & Spa. We pride ourselves in the service we offer for families.
The friendliness of our staff is always a trait that we encourage and nourish and it's terrific to see that it was appreciated.
You also rightly point out our fantastic location for exploring Clare and seeing the beautiful landscape that we have.
Thank you for your recommendation and I hope that we might even see you all back again before the end of the Summer.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, two small kids aged 7 and 4. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was great, main restuarant and Bar food was good.... Rooms were spotless. Swimming pool was a hit with the kids, nice warm water, the steam, sauna, jacuzzi and hot tub a bonus for the parents. Hotel is in great location to explore the wonders of county clare, you can't go wrong. We will be paying the hotel another visit later in the year. Would recommend highly..

Room Tip: Location, location, location... Great spot to explore the wonders of County Clare
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller61616161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and I am delighted to hear that you and your family had such a nice stay with us. Location, location, location certainly seems to be one of your primary highlights of your trip and you rightly admire our scenic setting and our proximity to the main tourist attractions of North Clare.
Again the quality of our food and spa & leisure facilities all receive positive compliments as both the kids and parents seemed equally happy and impressed.
Thanks for the high recommendation and we can't wait to see you all again later in the year.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here a few days ago and really enjoyed it. This was the day after a wedding so the spa facilities were much appreciated as we were feeling a little tender.
Ennistymon is a beautiful little town and a great base from which to explore the sensational countryside around it.
I was very impressed with the hotel - great room, gym and pool were lovely and the view over the falls was lovely as well. We ate in the Thai restaurant as well as the breakfast room. All food and service was excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Member,
It's wonderful to get such praise off a vastly travelled senior contributor like yourself. You have displayed a great admiration for our hotel and for that all the staff at the Falls Hotel & Spa are very grateful. Firstly I have to commend you on your choice of recovery after what was probably a long and eventful wedding! Our River Spa facilities and Aqua & Leisure club offer the ideal outlet for recovery and relaxation.
I would also like to thank you for your compliments in relation to our food on offer. Dining in our River Thai was certainly another excellent choice.
Also as you rightly point out Ennistymon is a terrific base for exploring North Clare and I really hope you consider paying us all a return visit in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Went with a few friends to the falls for an overnight stay (yesterday) which in my opinion was incredible value @115 e for bnb, evening meal and spa treatment. the deep tissue massage was fantastic as the masseuse was obviously highly trained.

The hotel is in a great location...both in terms of scenery and closeness to lahinch burren etc.the rooms are very clean and very comfortable.The staff relaxed and friendly. dinner was very yummy.

I couldnt fault the hotel barr a tiny one! j there was no facility to lock up your bag etc (just storage)in the changing rooms at pool tho the staff offered to mind valuables at desk so handed in wallet etc.

overall a fantastic experience.telling everyone about package deal.looking forward already to my return to Co.Clare :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to construct such a positive review about your recent stay with us here at the Falls Hotel & Spa in Ennistymon Co. Clare. Your comments are generous and very encouraging to read. Feedback like this is what keeps all the smiles on the faces of all our hotel staff. We were so impressed with your review we even posted it up on our Facebook page.
You praise every element of the service we offer. Our bar, our food, our location and most of all our River Spa all earn huge compliments from you.
The fact that you are telling all your family and friends about our quality and our affordable prices further proves how happy you were with your visit to our hotel.
We really hope to see you back here again soon!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
92 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
8.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
371 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,216 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range: $128 - $1,189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing