We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding celebrations of a friend”
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Kildare
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wedding celebrations of a friend”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on Friday 12th April. A great setting and the entrace to the hotel is really lovely. Scenes of the waterfull spectacular and I admired a photo of it in the reception. The rooms are "a little tired" and the bed was not as comfortable as our own. We had no view from our window - looked out onto a flat roof above the reception. Unfortunately we could not turn off the airconditioning so it was very noisy for the night...HOWEVER we had a good day and the staff were friendly and efficient. The dinner at the wedding was super, all courses very tasty and the more food afterwards..... We did not get to see the leisure centre as we headed after breakfast to do some walking around the Burren ( abandoned due to the bad weather - next time) will stay again - but will ask for a room overlooking the waterfall.

Room Tip: Don't take the room overlooking the flat roof over the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We stayed in this hotel on Friday 12th April. A great setting and the entrace to the hotel is really lovely. Scenes of the waterfull spectacular and I admired a photo of it in the reception. The rooms are "a little tired" and the bed was not as comfortable as our own. We had no view from our window - looked out onto a flat roof above the reception. Unfortunately we could not turn off the airconditioning so it was very noisy for the night...HOWEVER we had a good day and the staff were friendly and efficient. The dinner at the wedding was super, all courses very tasty and the more food afterwards..... We did not get to see the leisure centre as we headed after breakfast to do some walking around the Burren ( abandoned due to the bad weather - next time) will stay again - but will ask for a room overlooking the waterfall.


Hello TripAdvisor Member,
I am delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your time at the Falls Hotel & Spa, at your friend's wedding. I appreciate your kind compliments about our fantastic location and scenic setting. As you rightly point out our waterfall is truly spectacular and it certainly is one of our most appealing unique features on the grounds of our hotel.
Our general wedding service also appears to have impressed you with you giving the quality of our food most of the plaudits.
Unfortunately on nights like a wedding it is impossible to give everyone a room with a view but I am delighted that you are going to return and you will have another chance of getting your desired room.
Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    287
    162
    86
    63
See reviews for
296
372
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went on a daytrip around the Burren and had such a great day we decided to extend our trip and stay the night. We had heard good reviews from several of our friends about the Falls Hotel. They said the spa and leisure facilities were fabulous and the views were beautiful. As we don't go spend many nights away, we decided to treat ourselves and book into the Falls.

The reception looked fabulous, however, our room was so so disappointing. It was a big cold empty room with two big beds in it. It had really dated bed-covers. The view was of a wall and the car park. It smelled musty. When we turned on the sink in the bathroom, brown water came out initially.

My boyfriend went up to reception to ask to move rooms. The person tapped about on their computer for 15 minutes and eventually said that they'd have to ask someone else and that they would call our room to inform us. My boyfriend came back to the room and we waited for the phone to ring. 30 minutes later, we had still heard nothing. We had to ring reception ourselves only for them to inform us that ours was the only room available.
.
I wasn't willing to pay 100euro for that poor service so we left straight away. It was so disappointing. I'd think twice about going here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you are getting a room with a view or at least a new room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review as we appreciate all feedback which can help the hotel to keep improving and maintaining its high standards.
It appears that you stay was greatly affected by the fact that you were not happy with the room you received. The fact that we could not give you a different room was due to an overly busy period but this does not excuse the time you were kept waiting for a final answer on what could be done.
I really hope that in the future you would be willing to give us another chance. Obviously we did impress your friends in the past so I hope that some day in the future we will also impress you.
Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I would def recommend this hotel as we recently stayed 3 night in the apartments and had a great time. The apartment was spotless, spacious and so cosy, the leisure centre facilites were clean and warm too. We had children aged 2-17 and they all had a ball. The hotel has lovely walks but you are only a short journey away from Ailwee Caves, Kilfenora, Fr Teds House, Burren.On Easter Sunday the staff had arranged a treasure hunt for the children which was a hit with our kids, Everyone of the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel food was gorgeous. I will def be booking here again

Room Tip: The Apartments are at the back of the hotel and are great for families especially smallies who will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 142LynnM142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for your very kind and high recommendation of our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that your family had such a wonderful 3 night stay with us. You made a fantastic choice in deciding to opt for one of our very family friendly apartments. They can be an ideal option for groups like yourself. You also praise our location, our food and especially our staff. I am delighted you enjoyed our Easter egg hunt also.
It's great to hear that you will be booking to stay with us again and we can't wait to have you all!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went to the falls for a nice relaxing weekend and that is what we got. The room was spacious and the staff were very friendly. We dined in the restaurant on the second night and the food was magnificent. Their was some building work going on that we could see from the restaurant that spoiled the view of the river but other than that the hotel was excellent, also it is only a 5 minute drive to the beach at Lahinch which is beautiful anytime of the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beamer3Carlowireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thanks for giving us much appreciated feedback about your recent stay with us at the Falls Hotel & Spa. It's very pleasing to see your respect and admiration for our rooms and our staff. You also have very kind words for our Cascades restaurant.
In relation to the building work you referred to this is a very ambitious project the hotel are currently undertaking. We are building a generator on our Cascades which will ultimately provide a hydro-electrical source to power the hotel. This very environmentally friendly project will be a huge future asset to our business and service.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We wanted a quiet weekend to relax and unwind. The Falls fulfilled our requirements to perfection. Our room was large, specious and very comfortable, set off by a beautiful river view. Complementary dressing gown, slippers and a bottle of Sparkling Wine set us off to a great start. The bar food on the first night was tasty, plentiful and served with a smile. Breakfast was as good as one could want. Dinner in the restaurant was outstanding!! Completely surpassed all my expectations and service was perfect. From start to finish The Falls was everything I could ask for.
Unfortunately the weather was wet and very windy so outdoor excursions were limited. However, the Aillwee Cave was well worht a visit and the Birds of Prey display shouldnt be missed.

Room Tip: A River View room definitely adds to the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi TripAdvisor Member,
Sounds like you had a wonderful romantic break with us here at the Falls Hotel & Spa. It's the small little touches that can make it extra special and that's why the package you chose included all the luxury complimentary extras!
Overall you both seem to have really enjoyed the quality of food we offer with our Cascades restaurant receiving the greatest praise of them all. I presume outstanding is a compliment you would not give too easily so it's greatly respected.
I am also very happy that you did not let the weather affect your trip and still you managed to get out and about and visit Ailwee.
Romantic breaks can often lead to weddings so hope you grabbed a wedding brochure on check-out!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently bought a weekend spa break for Falls Hotel and to be honest, for the price I wasn't expecting that much - but I was very pleasantly surprised.

Location:
The Hotel is an old manor that has been extended and it's setting is beautiful, perched on a hill overlooking the river's waterfalls and countryside (great for walks around, but also 2 mins to the town centre). It's only 2km from Lahince and is great for exploring the Cliffs of Moher, Doolin and surrounded areas (everything is within 15/20 mins by car).

The Hotel:
The hotel rooms probably could do with some modernisation but weren't THAT dated. They were clean and had everything you need in them. The lobby area was lovely, as was the restaurant. The bar has a very weird layout though and the live music was a bit cringe. We strolled down to the main street instead and found some cool little old man pubs with proper trad sessions, a fire and very welcoming staff (Cullinan's Bare on the main street). Food in the restaurant was nice. The pub was standard pub food - not great, but not too bad either.

The Spa:
Couldn't ask for more here - the pool area was beautiful (that of a proper spa as opposed to a leisure centre/gym swimming pool feeling) and it had a gorgeous outdoor hot tub over looking the waterfall and river.

All in all - definitely worth the money (€100 for a double room, for 2 guest, 2 nights B&B). A great spa and perfect base for exploring Clare.

My boyfriend and I are are late 20's/early 30's and my parent are early 60's - we all loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sileb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am happy to see that you, your boyfriend and your parents had such a quality stay with us here in Ennistymon. You all seem to have been greatly impressed with our family owned and run property. Our location and our River Spa are on the receiving end of most of your compliments. You also liked our food and overall appreciated the quality service we provide for what you rightly believe to be a very fair and budget friendly price. I really hope that you all return again in the not so distant future and once more make the Falls Hotel & Spa your central base for exploring county Clare.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carryduff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Me and my two sons stayed three nights and I was delighted to see that my request for a double and two single beds had been met without any fuss. The room was spacious and comfortable and everything worked inside the room. Wifi is available in the bar and reception.

What impressed me most about the hotel was the courtesy of the staff - they really do care. The owner (Michael) is always around and he actually takes the time to ensure that you are comfortable and contented.

The food is of a good standard and is served quickly. The carvery is particularly good value at 10 euro. A pint in the hotel is marginally cheaper than the pubs nearby.

The hotel has an above average leisure centre with CV room, all the latest gadgets, pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and open air hot tub.

The hotel is a must for Father Ted fans. All the film locations are within driving distance. A map is available from reception.

This is a great value for money, clean hotel with wonderful staff. Go.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want when you book through your travel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_from_NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Trip Advisor Member,
By the sounds of it, you and your two sons had a terrific stay with us here at the Falls Hotel & Spa. You appear to have been very impressed with a number of the features we offer. The standard of our accommodation is praised along with our complimentary facilities at our Aqua and Leisure Club. You obviously like a good deal and we are happy that you appreciate the quality of our food delivered at a recession friendly price. You also raise a good point about Fr. Ted that's often forgotten. A number of scenes were filmed at the hotel and also as you state many more are only a short driving distance away.
Finally it's especially pleasing to see your praise for our General Manager and all our staff. It's our mission to make our guests enjoy their stay with us and to that our staff have to be friendly and welcoming. Make sure that you pay us a return visit.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
8.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Property: Falls Hotel & Spa
Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing