We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal getaway hotel that has extremely friendly staff and the food is gorgeous with very generous portions”
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falls Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Rochestown, Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal getaway hotel that has extremely friendly staff and the food is gorgeous with very generous portions”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay perfect for a break away with or without the kids . The rooms are a bit dated but that would not dissuade me from staying again. The best massage I've had if you are carrying old injuries and the Thai rest is well worth a visit but is only available at specific times

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennethOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

With or without the kids we hope we are an ideal getaway hotel for you again in the future.
Our team at the River Spa will be delighted to hear your praise for the service they offer and it is excellent to know that we could help ease some of your old injuries. Relaxation for our guests is the name of our game!
You also made a great decision to visit our Thai River restaurant. Thai food after a massage certainly sounds like a terrific weekend to me!

Kind Regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    296
    172
    89
    63
See reviews for
304
387
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Staff very welcoming on arrival. Room quite nice as we were lucky enough to get one of the modern ones on the 4th floor. The view from the room was awful, all we could see was the car park and a muddy field with a dirty oil tank in it. Would it have killed them to give us a room across the hall with a river view!?! The room was warm and clean though which has to be said. Dinner in the cascades restaurant was lovely except for the dessert. It was also quite annoying that the hotel stops serving food at 9pm because if you wanted to have a quick dip in the pool before dinner, you wouldn't have much time. The leisure centre is beautiful and very well decorated but the dressing room is a bit on the dirty side, you find yourself picking your steps through it so flip flops would be advisable! It's also a good idea to have your shower in the leisure centre rather than waiting to have it when you get back to the room because the shower in the ensuite was FREEZING. I waited with the water running for about 10mins and it still didn't heat up so in the end I just had to bare it. Breakfast every morning was well worth getting up for and the restaurant staff are lovely. The only complaint I have about the breakfast is the leaky teapots and one of the young ones hadn't a clue how to make tea as she put only one tea bag between 2 people in a big teapot.
All in all we had a lovely stay and probably would go back again. It was great value for money and is in a very handy location with lahinch only 2miles down the road.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnnie323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

It's terrific to hear that you both had such a lovely stay and that ye will be back to us again in the future.
In relation to the few minor problems that you had we appreciate your advice and will look into improving the areas that you highlighted.
Unfortunately our rooms with the best views always book up quite quickly but I am delighted you were happy with our refurbished rooms.
The teapot incident was a once off and probably due to bad timing with new staff training occurring but its still encouraging that in general you were very happy with our members of staff.
Hope to see you both soon again at the Falls.

Kind Regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Falls Hotel for 2 nights B&B and would recommend to anyone looking for a nice home from home retreat .

If you are looking for a modern urban hotel this may not be the place for you - the decor in our room was a little dated, the plumbing was unpredictable, there are no drinks/ice vending machines, and room service is a bit limited.

However, all of these were actually the reasons why we liked it so much. The decor may have been dated but the room was spotlessly clean, the plumbing was nothing we couldn't handle, and the vending machines we didn't miss because Ennistymon has lots of little shops within walking distance of the hotel. Breakfast was delicious - we're quite fussy about our full Irish and this was perfect - sausages well cooked and eggs beautifully sunny side up (because it's the little things isn't it? :-)).

The staff were lovely and very helpful - we managed to lock the key in our room at one point, mentioned it at reception, and housekeeping were almost at the room before we were to open it for us.

The lobby area was lovely - we never sit in hotel lobbies but this one was so welcoming , we settled in for over an hour.

The pool was gorgeous - the kiddies pool is small but there's plenty of room in the main pool and even a bubble pool (it's quite powerful so children would need help in it) .

We ate one evening at the Thai River restaurant within the hotel and it was absolutely delicious.

just in front of the hotel , they have a bird house in the garden, which seems to come complete with resident pigeons, and there are donkeys in the field beside the car park.

The view of the famous falls is a bit spoiled at the moment because there seems to be work going on, and I was disappointed to find that the steps down to them were really badly littered.

Ennistymon is nice town with an old fashioned feel to it - some interesting shops to potter around in.

All in all, we would recommend the Falls Hotel and would definitey stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

We always try our very best to get all those little things you like right, so all families like your own leave us at the Falls Hotel & Spa with a smile on their faces.
Within your praise I am delighted to see you so highly recommend our hotel with specific mentions of the quality of our staff, Thai food and appealing comfortable lobby area.
At the moment the view of the falls is slightly impacted on as we are currently building a hydro-generator to use our fantastic and beautiful resource to create electricity for the hotel and local area. The finished article will certainly be worth the wait and will provide yet another interesting reason to pay a return visit to us at the Falls.

Kind Regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights on B&B basis. The hotel itself is nice, a little dated but clean and tidy. Reception area is spacious, Bar is good. Bar menu is fairly limited but quality of food is good. Service was a little slow which was strange as the bar wasn't overly busy.

Location is very good, close by Cliffs of Moher and Lahinch.

The big fault that I had with the hotel was the room we were in first backed on to the Gents toilets in the foyer. The noise was simply intolerable both from running water but dated plumbing which was extremely noisy, we first thought it was the fire alarm going off! In fairness, we were moved straight away when we complained. It's a real pity as I'm not sure that we'll return to the hotel given our experience with the noise. Had we not been put in that room we would have been none the wiser. So, if you stay here and are placed in Room 445, ask straight away to move to another room. And hotel management, why not consider closing that room altogether if the problem can't be fixed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorfey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

Thanks for the feedback about your recent stay with us at the Falls Hotel & Spa.
I regret to hear about your experience with noise in the room but based on your review we are certainly going to look into finding a solution for the problem.
I hope that the short term solution of finding you a different room immediately was an adequate action to improve the quality of your stay.
This negative on your stay will hopefully not outweigh the positives of staying at the Falls that you also mentioned and with that in mind I sincerely hope that you consider another visit to our hotel again.

Kind Regards,

Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Falls Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

just back from two nights midweek break a gift.
the most friendly and efficent staff
food fab rack of lamb on valentines night was best i've had in a long time
leisure centre is lovely especially outdoor hot tub
thanks falls for lovely break :-)

Room Tip: fifth floor lovely and quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

You really received a wonderful gift!
I am very happy that everything on your two night break was of your liking. It is delightful to hear your praise of one of our many locally sourced dishes such as the Burren rack of lamb.
To be able to unwind after such an enjoyable meal in our River Spa proved to be an extra bonus for you on your Valentine's getaway and seeing happy customers is the main element of the service we provide at the Falls Hotel & Spa.
Hope another visit to the Falls will be on the cards soon!

Kind Regards,

Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Falls Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

As far as I am concerned a hotel is a place to lay your head at the end of an interesting day, as long as it's tidy, clean and peaceful, that'll do for me.
The Falls Hotel exceeded my expectations. We were staying for the purpose of allowing me to explore the local area. The hotel was easy to find and visible from various high points in Ennistymon, not surprisingly really, it's huge.
The check in was easy and quick, no bother whatsoever. The room was more than sufficent and the onsite activities were more than enough for anyone who didnt want to brave the elements.
This place is situated in a beautiful part of Ireland, a quaint village not too far from Lahinch, with a beautiful waterfall visible from the front of the hotel and the bar area.
We were offered afternoon tea upon arrival in the bar area which was great.
The swimming facilities were perfect for exercising or relaxing.
There are other leisure facilities but we didnt get chance to try them.
For a 2 euro deposit you get a towel. The changing rooms have lockers but they do not lock so avoid taking valuables with you.
The staff were polite and helpful at all times.
The Thai restaurant located within the hotel is stunning... the food was beautiful and reasonably priced. We had a platter to start and then individual dishes. We couldnt finish what we had and Im a monster when it comes to food.
The bar served amazing beer battered fish and chips along with salad... excellent.
We spent one evening in the games room, played around 15 games of pool and had just as many pints.
Breakfast is served in the cascades area down stairs. Its a self serve buffet with full Irish on offer or for those who look after their hearts a small bit more, there is a selection of fresh fruits, cereals and pastries. Or, just try it all......
Great location, great food... perfect break away

Room Tip: We stayed in room 506 over looking river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

You have painted a beautiful picture of our hotel and for that we are very grateful.
Our scenic surroundings and the incredible views from our hotel rooms have definitely added to your appetite for our small little town in county Clare.
From the cuisine available at the Thai River restaurant to breakfast in the Cascades your respect for our food on offer is truly appreciated.
It's very rewarding for the Falls to see that we catered for all your needs whether you wanted to relax with a few pints playing pool or enjoying one of our many treatments on offer at the River Spa.
You described your trip as a "perfect break away" so I hope you decide to have many more breaks of perfection with us at the Falls in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Falls Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

the hotel fab it looks old fashioned outside but not inside the food in both resturants delicious ,the staff excellent could not have been nicer ,the room was large enough for a family of 2&2 plety of rooom great bathroom everything was spotless ,the pool and spa area was great kids loved the pool i loved the spa .we had no faults at all with this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandigcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotel, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello TripAdvisor Member,

I am delighted to see that you had such a great time here on your visit on Feb 12th.
Thank you for your generous praise for both our restaurants, the Cascades and the Thai River.
The Falls Hotel & Spa love to hear about families having marvelous breaks at our hotel as family is such a key concept at the core of our hotel beliefs.
Hopefully your family are already planning your next trip to us in Ennistymon!

Kind Regards,

Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Falls Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennistymon
3.8 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
79 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
1.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,250 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
421 reviews
7.5 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Property: Falls Hotel & Spa
Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon Co Clare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing