We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely place to stay”
Review of Shamrock Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shamrock Inn Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Lahinch B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Real homely feel, great meal and nice atmosphere. Friendly staff. The room reeked of smoke which was a negative. Easy walk to water front. Enjoyed the stay. I saw that some of the rooms are very small but we were fortunate to have a large room.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Shamrock Inn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 98 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in Jan 2012. When we entered hotel the bar/restaurant looked lovely so we decided to inquire about a room for the night. The bar man who sorted our booking was helpful but told us they were having trouble with the heating after we had paid but assured us that it would be fixed very shortly.

We went to the room and it was absolutely freezing, you could feel the cold air come at you as you entered the room as the hallways were quite warm. We requested heater for the room which we left on while we went out for dinner but it did not heat up the room much. the hotel heating did come on but seamed to go off soon afterwards at about 11.

The bathroom was of a very poor standard. It was not properly cleaned, the shower tray filled with water (it took 20 mins to empty before the next person could shower), the tiles on the floor were cracked with pieces missing and it was tiny. Showering was difficult in the small space (I have never seen such a small shower tray) and there is very little water from the shower. (This saves the room from flooding with the blocked drain however)

The bed was very uncomfortable, you can actually feel the springs and you fall into the middle of it.

The location in the town is excellent and there is plenty of parking around the nearby streets.

When we were checking out we were going to raise some of the issues with the staff but despite ringing the bell and waiting for sometime no one came so we ended up leaving the key on the desk.

We were told the room would be 80 euro including breakfast. We asked for a price without breakfast and he gave us it for 60. (Breakfast is 9euro) Overall it was very poor value for money.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 11- Avoid this!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crowlcrowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Fantastic Breakfast, Good hearty Irish Food.
Warm Friendly staff .
Good Bar with a band playing.
Clean rooms and bathrooms. Hot showers.
This is not 5 Star, but for a surfing weekend or a bed for the night it is fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank South-armagh-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Shamrock Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Shamrock Inn Hotel in the not too distant future.

Declan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

i thought the food was well prepared. I thought the staff were very nice and the atmosphere was good. I was with a large group of friends and i would come back any time. and if you in Clare, call in. (Eamon)
The staff were friendly to us. The portions were big, they couldn't be any bigger!! We had the best day and I would go back again. I would recommend it to anybody. (Tina)

The staff were great there. The food was wonderful, we had home-made soup with home-made bread too, it was very tasty. The dessert was also lovely. I had the profiteroles with chocolate sauce, it was delcious! I would tell anybody to try this place out. It is a lovely place to eat and I would go back again. (Andrea)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SouthTipp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Shamrock Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our chef and all the staff members. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to the Shamrock Inn Hotel in the future.
Declan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We called in here by chance and found the bar man very friendly so we stayed and had a pint. We came back that evening and had a lovely meal. The meal was good and we also had a glass of wine. As it was only 10 mins walk from the Lehinch Lodge we could walk to it.

Room Tip: We did not stay in this hotel we only had a meal and a few drinks.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Shamrock Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your meal at the Shamrock Inn Hotel. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to all concerned and we look forward to welcoming you to the Shamrock Inn Hotel in the future.

Declan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Visited twice for dinner during our weeks holiday in Lahinch. We had a family group of 6 so mixed requirements for food. Good value dinners, bar nicely busy. Staff very friendly and accommodating to kids requests for changes to the dishes, sauces etc. Good value, lovely food, menu had the traditional bacon and cabbage as well as the more bistro style stir fry etc.
Definately worth visiting. Lahinch a great little town for a holiday break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank yugscork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Shamrock Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. Here, at the Shamrock Inn Hotel we do our utmost to provide for each individual requirement and we are delighted to hear that the service and food was to your satisfaction. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Shamrock Inn Hotel in the future.
Declan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Was away in the Galway/Clare region for the weekend with my partner, after a trip to Ailwee caves we were abit peckish and headed for Liscannor to find very little to choose from and decided to head for Lahinch and stumbled across this fine place, from the moment we walked in we were greeted by the friendly barman, asking how we were etc

We took our seats, he gave us a moment to settle and we ordered drinks and asked if we were looking for food, showed us the menu and explained any questions we had on the menu.

After waiting little time for the starter, we thoroughly enjoyed and awaited the main course which was amazing i choose the roast beef with all the trimmings and she choose the bacon and cabbage, both dishes went down very well...

Would recommend this hotel for its friendly atmosphere and lovely food...

Thanks Shamrock Inn

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa G, Manager at Shamrock Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us. Here, at the Shamrock Inn Hotel, we strive to provide the best service and attention at all times..
We look forward to welcoming you back to Shamrock Inn hotel in the not too distant future.

Declan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
92 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
588 reviews
7.1 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock Inn Hotel

Address: Main Street, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lahinch
Price Range: $84 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shamrock Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shamrock Inn Hotel, part of Clare Coast Hotels group, offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Located along the Wild Atlantic Way, in the heart of Lahinch, all our rooms are tastefully decorated. Our Restaurant is renowned for its warm and intimate atmosphere offering a choice of excellent cuisine, catering for all tastes. Delicious home-cooked bar food is served daily and by night the bar comes to life with the sound of music. Ideal base for site seeing the beautiful West Coast of Clare, Golfing in the Links Championship Course or just strolling the mile long beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Shamrock Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing