We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best For Golfers In Lahinch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Greenbrier Inn

The Greenbrier Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahinch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Greenbrier Inn
Ranked #14 of 19 Lahinch B&B and Inns
Santiago
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best For Golfers In Lahinch”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

This is the best place for golfers to stay when playing Lahinch. The rooms are large and clean, the breakfast is very good, and the staff are friendly. It's a couple of blocks from downtown pubs and around the corner from the entrance to the club.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheriffSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I was meeting friends down in Lahinch for a night in mid-August which was a last minute decision so i booked the Greenbrier at the last minute. Firstly they charged me €65 for the night which I thought was a bit cheeky considering I was on my own but I was willing to look beyond this really given it was only for one night and i was only using it as a bed for the night. I arrived at the B&B and was greeted by the owner who I felt personnally didn't exactly fall over himself to be welcoming and seemed to be just going through the motions. The room itself was smelly and the window blind covered in dirt. Rooms definitely need a renovation job. The bed wasn't that comfortable even after a few pints (lol) and breakfast was just adequate. Staff weren't the friendliness, again just going through the motions. Food was adequate but nothing to write home about. Its a real shame because this business is in an ideal location and maybe that's half the problem. They probably feel like they don't have to try and will just get the business anyway. In major need of a facelift! An ideal candidate for "at your service" with the Brennan hoteliers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokieCoClare, Owner at The Greenbrier Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2010
What a nasty and spiteful review . August 14th
Please refer to previous 35 reports.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Victor & Margaret Mulcahy make a stay at the Greenbrier like being with friends in the coziness of home. They are friendly, helpful & genuine. Nobody does it better than these two! The Inn is next to the first tee at Lahinch Golf Club. You can walk there or to any number of wonderful restaurants or watering holes. Their Inn includes fantastic artwork, books, club storage, and the very best breakfast with a view you'll find in all of Ireland. They are not just owners, but friends. On several visits there, Victor and Margaret have courteously taken my daughter & myself to the Burren & the famous Cliffs of Moher, arranged golf for my cousin and myself, joined us for fantastic meals, introduced us to Irish friends and generally been the very best hosts for an Irish vacation one could ever imagine. I will go there on every Irish visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomMcQueeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Victor and Margaret are incredible inn keepers. They bent over backwards to every request. No was never an answer. We were traveling to play golf at Lahinch and walked away with so much more. Be sure to ask Victor about Tom Frowley's.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redmeatlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We booked at the Greenbrier Inn literally the day before we needed to stay there---our plans had changed at the last minute due to a rescheduled flight. The owner tracked us down on the phone (we had emailed) and was able to offer us a great rate. The property was well-maintained and very clean, and the breakfast was delicious! The location was perfect---just a short walk to the main drag in town. Only problem--we almost left without paying! Well not really, we had left our credit card number when we checked in, and couldn't find the owner when we were leaving so we were about to drive out of the lot and he found us and needed us to come back in! WHOOPS! But make sure you know you need to have them swipe your card and sign it. Not like the hotels in the US where they just slide your receipt under the door in the AM!
Overall it was a great experience, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2010

we stayed with Victor on a hen night and he couldnt be more accomodating, he gave us an appartment so we could meet up before and after the night out.would def stay again very near town 5 min walk.great place for surfing/hen night.the only down side was it worked out at 50e per person and there was 3 people staying in each room, 1double bed plus one single so it was a little pricey but id say if ya did a bit of bargaining ya would be laughing!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckling95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The Greenbrier was just a 2 minute walk to town and right around the corner from the best golf I have played in Ireland. Most importantly, Victor, the proprietor, was one of the greatest story tellers in Ireland! As we checked in, Victor told us about P Frawley's, a pub owned by Tom Frawly who has been pouring Guinness in that pub continuously for 81 years! Victor's description of Mr Frawly was spot on. When we asked when Tom closed the pub, Victor replied "November". Victor and his wife made us feel at home and as if we were the most important guests he had ever had. The rooms were neatly kept, quiet, and a good value, and the breakfast was wonderful. Don't miss Lahinch, and when you go, stay with Victor, and be sure to visit P Frawly's.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iuirishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lahinch hotels
0.4 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shamrock Inn Hotel
Shamrock Inn Hotel
#10 of 19 in Lahinch
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle View B&B
Castle View B&B
#3 of 8 in Lahinch
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sancta Maria Hotel
Sancta Maria Hotel
#16 of 19 in Lahinch
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenbrier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenbrier Inn

Property: The Greenbrier Inn
Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lahinch
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing