We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our first Ireland trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our first Ireland trip”
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in order to play Lahinch and Doonbeg. It's close to Shannon and just up the road from the Lahinch golf course ( about 40 minutes from Doonbeg). But it's a good place to stay even if you're not golfing---close to the Cliffs of Moher and the Burren. Good food, good wine selection, and a friendly proprietor. I could have spent many days reading the great selection of books in the very spacious and comfortable bar/library/lounge. With free newspapers and a drying room for wet golf gear, what's not to like?

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ricksing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    39
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Four of us from San Francisco traveled to Ireland in September 2009 to play 11 golf courses in 11 days. All four of us were unanimous that we were extremely fortunate to have stayed at the Vaughan Lodge in Lahinch. Swing, our golf travel consultant, found this little gem for us.

I wish we could have stayed for three or four nights -- the Vaughan Lodge and its owners, Michael and Maria Vaughan, are that good, and actually even better. But we stayed only one night before driving to Ballybunnion.

Michael Vaughan is the paragon of hotel owners/hosts. He clearly takes great pride in his small hotel, which is just across the street from the Lahinch course. Our rooms had an expansive, beautiful view of the course and valley. That Michael is a golfer likely added to his ability to anticipate what we needed and wanted for our one-evening stay. He is an incredibly engaging host, and, as expected, is very knowledgeable about the course, town, stores, and pubs, as well as the history of the area.

All of us regretted that, after golf and before dinner, we had only an hour to spend in the sitting room/library, which has a small bar that served us our choice of brews. This room is inviting and comfortable. Two of us spent our hour pulling out and reviewing the books in the "library" section -- two shelves of books about golf, golf history, and golf in Ireland. I wrote down the names and publishers of three books so I could order them when I returned home.

Both rooms the four of us shared (two in a room) were excellent -- a touch modern, impeccably clean, well-appointed, with plenty of room. Could not improve on them.

The restaurant was unexpectedly superb. One of us (me) is a vegetarian and was quite surprised and then amazed at the separate vegetarian menu. The offerings on this menu looked so appealing that one of our non-vegetarians ordered his meal from it. All the dishes we ordered were well-prepared, well-presented, and very tastey. The choice of wines available by the glass worked well for the four of us, who have varied tastes in wines and couldn't agree on a bottle to order.

Without doubt, when I return to Ireland next year, I will stay here for at least three nights and play the Lahinch course three times.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfer-breaks-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Just back from a 2 night stay in Vaughan's Lodge hotel and its fantastic. Location is excellent, just 3 minute walk to the town/beach (and that was with my partner on crutches!!!) Although we didnt eat in the Restaurant, it was packed both nights (which is always a good sign) and the menu looked great. We had amazing weather while we were in Lahinch, so we didnt spend much time in the hotel but its the kind of place thats great summer or winter (they have a lovely little bar which I'd imagine is fab to be in on a winter evening!). All in all, this is a great hotel and well worth a visit if you're heading to the west of Ireland. A great place to base yourself for exploring the West.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Just back from a two night stay in Vaughan Lodge. The bedroom was very comfortable with the usual facilities. The service and friendliness of the staff is what makes this hotel stand out. The owner appeared to be very 'hands on' and was a visible presence at all times thoughout our stay. He took the time to speak to all the guests. There is a quaint little bar in the hotel and drinks are served with complimentary nuts, which is a lovely touch. We dined in the restaurant on Saturday night. The food was top class. We found the restaurant to be rather expensive, but having said that, the menu was a la carte, rather than the usual set price menu one usually finds in these establishments.

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank master78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Stayed here with 2 of my friends for the weekend. Really enjoyed our weekend in Lahinch. Hit the beach and the pubs. The golfing looks good aswell but not my scene. The hotel was nice and clean. The staff were very friendly. The high light of the hotel is the restaurant. It is top class so should def book a table here if you are staying the night. There is a need to book as it is used by non residents as well as residents. It is a short walk from the town. If your a stag or a hen you should probably stay in one of the hotels in the centre of the village. Not sure would i be mad about bringing kids here as there is no pool mind you that is all in the village. Would def recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwaygirlSinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Where to begin. All eight in our family could not have agreed more, that in the two weeks of traveling in Europe this was by far the best of our journey. The staff & service was incredible, the breakfast was tremendous,(not to mention they went above & beyond for my wife & mother who both needed Gluten-Free options), & the rooms were not only clean but charming as well. You can't miss staying at the Vaughan Lodge if you are coming to the west of Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdpetrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend, oregon
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights while playing golf at Lahinch and Ballybunion. Owners were friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and spacious. Location was close enough to town to walk into Lahinch. If you are in Lahince to play golf, the Vaughn Lodge would be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbscone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
21.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,050 reviews
1.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
58 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Property: Vaughan Lodge
Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing