We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate”
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed a the VL for the June Bank Holiday Weekend. We chose the hotel based on the reviews here on TA. The hotel is immaculate. The toilets were the cleanest I have ever seen on my travels! The staff were very pleasant, check in took all of 5mins. We had dinner on our first evening and it was an enjoyable experience. Though our steaks that were ordered 'well done', did arrive 'medium rare' Once this was pointed out, we recieved an apology and the problem was dealt with. The hotel is in a great location, quiet and just two minutes from the centre of things, Lahinch can be a very busy noisy place, filled with stags, hens and mostly young people having fun, but its still well worth a visit. All in all the hotel is everything that the previous reviewers have said, except that maybe the Sea view from the restaurant is a slight exaggeration, there is a distant sea view, from maybe just one table and it is a very distant one! We liked VL so much, we booked it when we were leaving for my daughter and her husband, (anniversary present) for the following weekend, and they had a very enjoyable stay as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 383 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2009

We turned up on the doorstep on the way back from Limerick, checked in for one night and ended up staying for two. Lovely large comfortable bedroom in perfect condition and spotless, very comfortable bed and lovely linen. We parked the car and wandered downtown (2 mins walk) , there is a wide choice of places to eat. Afterwards we came back to the cosy bar in the Hotel and had a drink by the fire. Great nights sleep, Great Breakfast. We spent the next day touring the Burren with excellent touring maps designed by the hotel (how had we not done this before,? it is stunning), walked the beaches and generally relaxed.

A very well run hotel, with friendly and professional staff. It is both smart and welcoming with personal touches throughout, that help it to avoid the commercial feel you often get with newer hotels . You can tell it is owned and run by a Hotelier rather than a Developer !

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I recently stayed at Vaughan Lodge with my family of five. It was lovely. The rooms were clean, quiet, spacious, decorated lovely. The breakfast was also wonderful. Lots of choices from buffet - juices, breads, croissants, cereals, yogurts, fruits, followed up with hot-cooked full Irish. Lovely location a bit away from the hubbub of Lahinch.
The staff were always professional and very friendly. Michael is a real gem - loved having conversations with him. Dinner was absolutely wonderful. If we had known it was that good, we would have eaten there on both nights. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

Just returned from 2 nites at the Lodge with my wife. As this was my 15th trip to Ireland I have been to Lahinch many times and have stayed at some excellent properties in the area but this was the best by far. To begin with, the location is perfect. While my wife enjoyed the short walk to town(just down the hill) the beautiful lounge and bar was the perfect spot to hook up with some other golfers and fill out a foursome. The restaurant was exceptional, beautiful views of the course and the sea, with superb menu and presentation, don't miss it. The rooms are large, sparklingly clean with probably the best showers and water pressure in Ireland. The owner and his staff were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make us comfortable. In short, the place is pretty much perfect .

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank loupow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Yesterday six members of our family returned home from a wonderful week's stay at the Vaughan Lodge Hotel. Only superlatives can describe our experience there. The owner, Michael Vaughan, and his entire staff are devoted to insuring the comfort and enjoyment of their guests. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. The bath facilities are modern and complete. The food is varied and excellent, and the wait staff are gracious and efficient. The three lovely young ladies who man the reception desk are most helpful and a delight to deal with. We have travelled quite a bit for a long time in Europe, and we rate the Vaughan Lodge right at the top of our experiences.

The icing on the cake is the superb location of the Vaughan. Lahinch is ideally located for interesting and beautiful day trips throughout County Clare. There are several excellent restauraunts near Lahinch. The town itself offers great shopping (particularly at Sue's), and the famous Lahinch Golf Course is right across the road from Vaughan's for the convenience of golfers.

All in all, we rate the Vaughan Lodge as A-one and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lendrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Our golf threesome stayed in the Vaughan Lodge for two nights in mid-September. Our stay was arranged through our golf travel agent and he could not have picked a better spot. The lodge is located less than half a mile from Lahinch Golf Club and walking distance to town and the beach. It is less than 15 minutes to the Cliffs of Moher and another 15 minutes to Ennis.
The lodge itself is a modern building with an old world feel. The reception area is large and comfortable. The lounge is quite large and has very comfortable chairs and couches near a fireplace by which you can enjoy your pint of Guinness or double Middleton's. The bar list is extensive. The restaurant for dinner is 4 to 5 star in food quality but maintains a very comfortable and relaxed environment. The breakfast is also quite good with a wide selection of a la carte meals and several cereals, fruits and pastries as well.
The rooms are incredibly comfortable. We had a double and a single. Both were more than adequate in size for all our golf gear. Drawer and closet spaces were ample in size with extra room in the closets for shoes, etc. The beds were fairly soft and pillows were more than enough. Sheets and comforters were of high quality. The bathroom was very modern and the shower was plenty powerful to ease away aching muscles after hitting a few too many shots from the heather.
Special recognition goes to Michael Vaughan and Fiona, our front desk person, bartendress, concierge and overall go-getter. Michael, you better be getting her a raise soon!!! : ) Both were so willing to do whatever we needed or requested to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. And thanks for the Frawley's recommendation, Michael-we never left the joint!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irisharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

This is an excellent choice when visiting Lahinch. The Vaughan Lodge offers everything you wll need to enjoy your stay. The rooms are well equipped, the service is outstandng and attentive, the lounge is spacious and comfortable, and the location is within walking distance to town. As for the restaurant, my family (6 in all) and I agreed it was the best meal we had during our week long visit to Ireland...it was exceptional.

We arrived at Shannon airport from New York early in the morning and were able to check in before noon, which was a welcomed surprise. We were able to press on and visit the nearby Cliffs of Moher, before returning for a quick nap before dinner. The lounge was a great place to get acquainted with the local people and discuss our agenda for the week.

We played Lahinch golf course the following day, which was located right across the street and were able to meet up with the rest of our family in the afternoon for our trek to Ballybunion.

I would highly recommend staying at the Vaughan Lodge when visiting Lahinch.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wheel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
5.8 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#1 of 4 in Doolin
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,070 reviews
16.2 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,674 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range: $231 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing