We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small hotel”
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here for two nights because we were golfing in Lahinch and Doonbeg. The hotel is a great hotel. Small and intimate, well appointed, an excellent lounge and an outstanding restaurant. Plus add a staff that was always helpful and thoughtful. I mentioned to the person at the front desk that we had to leave for our 7:40am tee time as Lahinch by 7:10. Breakfast is served from 7am onward. I knew we could get the cold buffet at 7am but did not think we could get a cooked breakfast by and be out the door by 7:10. The front desk person called the owner, Michael Vaughn, and he came in a half hour early so we could have the cooked breakfast. You would not get this kin of personal service at a larger hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

great to hear you enjoyed the visit.
I believe that real service is expressed when the out of the ordinary request is fulfilled.
Getting in earlier was only a small thing really, but I am glad it made your stay.
I would do anything my team would suggest ( within the law!!) if it meant a happy guest!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 377 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

Just returned from a 2day stay with my wife and 12 year old daughter Everything was great about our experience in this hotel.The staff were all very pleasant from the moment we arrived until we left. The breakfast was cooked fresh and was very tasteful. Our room was spotless and very quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are in this area. We hope to return next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank paul864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

The promise of a return visit is the greatest thank you that we can achieve
We would only be delighted to see you for a future stay
Our pleasure entirely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We loved this hotel which has a beautiful intimate lounge to relax in, the dining room is quiet and intimate also and the staff are simply fantastic. The attention to detail and the pride taken by all staff to ensure everything is perfect is amazing. Spacious modern rooms, but with an historic feel, spotless updated bathrooms with every convenience. The dining experience is top quality, from beautifully cooked breakfasts to order, to first class evening dining, we couldn't fault anything. Would love to go back, but 17,000 miles is a bit far. Highly recommend this property.
The golf course is within walking distance and is first class also.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AdelaideGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

The distance of 17,000 miles makes this review even more cherished to us.
We enjoyed serving you and keeping you to the standards you enjoy!!
As they say in ireland - If you cant return yourself.... just send the money lol !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We've stayed at Vaughan Lodge multiple times over the years and it remains one of our favorite places in Ireland. The rooms are perfect: comfortable beds, nice appointments, and the best high pressure showers - to top it off we could see the course at Lahinch and the ocean from our room. Breakfast includes a full buffet as well as cooked to order hot food such as eggs any way, smoked salmon on bagels, grilled bacon/sausage/tomato, fresh squeezed orange juice, and the best coffee - AND it all comes fast as ordered (no worries making a tee time and the course is only 5 minutes away). The dinners are FIVE STAR with local produce and seafood. The best part of Vaughan Lodge is the owner and the staff. They could not be more gracious and helpful. They will make dinner suggestions/reservations for the 2 nights a week they are not open, if you need maps and a tour guide to the Burren they will help, bottles of water for a hike, extra tees for your game - this is hospitality at its very best.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with views of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

This is a real insiders review of the hotel lol
All the little extras are there for one and all !!
Shane says I cook a quick breakfast ... but he is fast looking like a replacement for me in the breakfast kitchen - whenever I am looking in an opposite direction he already has the bacon on the char grill and eggs in the water !!
With team mates as good as that we can only endure!!
See you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

What a great place to stay and eat. Lahinch is an easy walk from the hotel. The Restuarant has very high quality food and the people are truly service driven. Best part, hottest shower you can get after a cold or rainy day of golf.

Well done all ways!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Beltway_Hater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Great words to hear from a returned guest!
3 bars of pressure make for a decent shower always!!
We thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Vaughan Lodge for one night last week and we were highly impressed by the hotel and in particular the standard of food there. The food would not have been out of place in a five star hotel - so compliments to the chef! All the staff were friendly and very attentive. The hotel is spotless and a lovely atmosphere prevails. Breakfast was made to order with a lovely range of dishes being offered. We have already recommended this hotel to both friends and family, and will most definitely be returning ourselves in the future. A hidden treasure!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank mrtea2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Your heading would be the tag line we would choose for promoting our small lodge!!
The service crew at Vaughan Lodge Hotel would all do well in a five star establishment .
We are glad that you experienced our hotel as we would like it to be for our guests
welcome back any time !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in July 2014 with husband & teenage son.

Excellent room and beautiful breakfast, staff very helpful .

The rate to stay is very good and would highly advise to stay here.

There was a slight mix up with our dinner but the owner kindly looked after us very well.

Will be back for sure !

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lottie2850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2014

Well.... there you have it - we have feet of clay like everyone else in hospitality.
When we screw up in service we hope to put things right as soon as possible.
We are glad that we managed to recover the situation and that you enjoyed your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
1.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,041 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
95 reviews
7.3 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range: $151 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing