We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star Hotel with 5 Star service and Great Food!”
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 Star Hotel with 5 Star service and Great Food!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our group consisted of four couples on a nine day golf and sightseeing trip to Ireland. We stayed at the Trident Hotel in Kinsale for two nights, the Malton in Killarney for four and spent the last two nights of our vacation in Lahinch. The Vaughn Lodge exceeded our expectations enormously. Two things were particularly impressive. First of all, the service was simply wonderful. I can honestly say that the service here was better than the Ritz-Carlton or Four Seasons. It seemed as if they were happy and willing to do anything and everything they could to make us comfortable. As one of us (who is not known for being easy to please) said, "If I had asked them to run into town for Polish sausage and beer at 3 in the morning, they would have done it with a smile!" The food (breakfast, dinner) was quite simply the best we had on our entire trip!

Room Tip: Some rooms had views of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William_from_KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
It was our pleasure to deliver to your exacting standards !!
We enjoyed your company and custom.
It is so nice when guests get to stay more than a night or two with us as we can get to know them and their needs and have the opportunity to delight them a little!!
Come visit anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    38
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
57
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you are in the Lahinch area it is a MUST stay. The location is perfect to reaching all areas of interest and right around the corner from the golf course. They have a restaurant that serves up the best hospitality and the food is better than excellent. You can experience the warmth of home in the lobby room for drinks and casual conversation before dinner or other.

However, the BEST is Michael Vaughn and his staff that make you feel from the moment you enter until your departure you are part of the family. On my recent visit they helped with restaurant reservations on the night they were closed, driving instruction and a hotel reservation in another city.

We wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!

Michael from Chicago...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blarney262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Family best describes our hotel.
The team here are almost family after so many years with some and the new arrivals are always cherished!!
Staff members recommend their friends and family to work with us so it does become a bit clubby for our guests.
We are so delighted that you chose to share your experiences with other TA members! we would love to extend the season beyond the 30 weeks that business allows, but maybe the winter break refreshes us all and allows us to shine again each year.
Thank you for your business and staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Vaughan lodge in Lahrich County Clare we booked it on line before we left Australia and stayed there for 2 nights we wish we could have stayed longer - this hotel was one of the best we had stayed in our travels around Ireland - right in the heart of two great Golf courses
All the staff at Vaughan Lodge were great from the time we checked in and the breakfast each morning was wonderful a lovely young lady Emily was so very helpful she gave us such great service on the first morning we were there & she gave us so much information of where to go around the area of Lahinch
(Cliffs of Moher /Rock shop and great places to eat each night ) (1st night The Cornerstone Bar on Main Street / 2nd night The Shamrock inn hotel) both great pubs in the town & a must is to walk along the beach (rocks) each night in the town
Michael Vaughan is the owner of this great hotel & his wife was so friendly and also very helpful

Also very helpful was Shane on our 2nd morning breakfast great pouched eggs & bacon & best pasties & Lindie service was excellent each night when we stopped for a night cap she was also very friendly and helpful the bar was well stocked with what ever you were wanting
If we ever lucky enough to come to Ireland again this will be the hotel we will be staying at

Room Tip: If your are a golfing group you will all love the service for the golfers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 739Malcolm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, General Manager at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Emily is indeed a great asset to our team and she brightens up every morning she contributes to guest service.
I really am blessed to have a wonderful team of committed service people who really do like to help others get full enjoyment from their visit to Lahinch.
Thank you for pointing fellow travellers our way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

In same group as Eric B. In June 2014 and agree with his assessment. The best lodging we had in two weeks touring Ireland.

You can't go wrong staying here. Short walk to town, golf course even closer....quiet but convenient location, clean modern rooms, great food, Nice lounge .....personable, friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review
I am not certain what has brought the average score down on this review but our hotel is more suited to smaller groups and couples than larger groups who sometimes expect something different to what we offer.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit nonetheless
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed with a 16 person group for 2 days. Michael the owner was great even accomodating an earlier than usual breakfast for our early check out. Roy the night manager will keep you entertained with his stories. Just a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review
You certainly did enjoy yourselves when you visited
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at the Vaughan Lodge on the last night of a wonderful trip of the Kerry/Clare coastline.We booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews on this site, and once again got exactly what we expected and nothing less.The hotel itself looks and feels newly built and our room was very much to our liking,with a balcony overlooking the Atlantic and all you might expect from four star accommodation.The menu on the night was great and the food fantastic!Beautiful select lounge where we enjoyed the company of a previous contributor Lee M and his American golfing friends.The staff are hand picked and the service is second to none.The breakfast is served,which i love and of a very high quality, using local produce.We found the owner to be very helpful, and knowledgeable and interested about food,places of local interest etc.prices are slightly above average but worth every cent and more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barryands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for a thoughtful review.
prices are above average alright but then we aim to deliver on service value.
The real difficulty in matching an average in a very seasonal location as ours is that it becomes uneconomic and standards will soon slip if the price point does not allow for re-investment.
Hopefully our guests will be as agreeable as you that we offered value in the end
Thank you for your time in writing about us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here just one night to play Lahinch. We arrived early and they accommodated us with an early check in. The room was spacious by European standards. The hotel appears to be family owned and operated. Every staff member we encountered treated us like they had a stake in the hotel and wanted our experience to be outstanding, They suceeded. Since it was our last night in Ireland and we had an early departure we had dinner there and I am glad we did. The food and service was outstanding. As a bonus they accommodated our 5 am departure with a full breakfast buffet waiting for us. Could not have a better experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Manager at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
As my sister is in the habit of saying .... "Nice things happen to nice people" and clearly you deserved to be treated as one of our own family which is what we try to achieve.
There is one exception to that though .... we would not ask you to help us clean up later lol!
Hospitality and service should be inseparable and if it is at all feasible, moral and legal we will endeavour to entertain your wishes. We are so glad you felt that positive following your visit to Lahinch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
21.0 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
1.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
16.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Property: Vaughan Lodge
Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing