We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Solid”
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2008

This is an excellent choice when visiting Lahinch. The Vaughan Lodge offers everything you wll need to enjoy your stay. The rooms are well equipped, the service is outstandng and attentive, the lounge is spacious and comfortable, and the location is within walking distance to town. As for the restaurant, my family (6 in all) and I agreed it was the best meal we had during our week long visit to Ireland...it was exceptional.

We arrived at Shannon airport from New York early in the morning and were able to check in before noon, which was a welcomed surprise. We were able to press on and visit the nearby Cliffs of Moher, before returning for a quick nap before dinner. The lounge was a great place to get acquainted with the local people and discuss our agenda for the week.

We played Lahinch golf course the following day, which was located right across the street and were able to meet up with the rest of our family in the afternoon for our trek to Ballybunion.

I would highly recommend staying at the Vaughan Lodge when visiting Lahinch.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wheel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 382 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights in August with our 2 children.

The rooms are comfortable,clean and spacious. We asked for a dvd player and it was in the room within 1 hour.

The restaurant is exceptionally good and has a pleasant atmosphere. They also have a nice childrens menue.

Lahinch is pretty little town with a fun beach within a short walking distance of the hotel. There are lots of pubs and shops right there.

The only thing I did not like was breakfast.
Eggs were hard, porridge wasn´t done very well and the buffet presentation does not match the evening standard of the restaurant. There are huge heavy juice pitchers, the sausage tray is damaged and it is more like in a youth hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Booked a table for dinner for 12 adults for my sisters 40th birthday, reservation was for 8pm, recieved a curt phonecall from the owner at 7.30pm asking if we were turning up or not,half our party immediately rushed there, when we arrived we saw that the restaurant was quite empty so asked could we wait at the bar for the rest of the party to arrive only to be told by the owner very abruptly that we were late, that we had already backed up the kitchen for the night and we were to take our seats straight away. As it was my sisters birthday i did not want to make a scene at this stage so i said nothing and hoped the night could get better.
The owner was devoid of personality throughout the meal, when asked for a food recommendation replyed very abruptly "everything is good". He went to all other table to see if everything was ok and never came near our table, when we were leaving he ignored us completely. On a more positive note the food was very good, if only the owners personality matched it.

Stayed: August 2008
5  Thank DeeTDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2008

This is a most unfortunate review. On one of the busiest saturday night in the summer, the reviewers Party of 14 had booked the table for 7.15pm and by 8pm had not arrived. In a small restaurant this is a major castrophe as sittings are times to ensure a smooth service. We did not receiev any advance call and had to telephone to see where they were at 7.50pm. Some of the party arrived at 8.10 and wanted to go to the bar - we were already backed up with 20 other diners waiting to sit so I was unfortunately short with them and told them they really had to wait in the restaurant. The whole order of service for the evening was now in chaos and we spent a very stressful night in the kitchen and restaurant tyring to get the flow of business back on track. The remainder of our diners were at least 1/2 hour delayed as a result of the situation. We provided a smooth service for the guests and an excellent meal. We even provided complimenatry flowers on the table specially for the group. Anyone who would have had a large group be so late and without good reason would not have been too happy. Whatever aparent rudeness was felt by the guests was as a result of a very stressful situation caused on a very busy night. I do apologise for having been somewhat abrupt in my reception of the guests but there was a migigating factor that was not mentioned in the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We have just spent 3 days at the Vaughan and our experience was fantastic.
We chose this hotel from the many Tripadvisor reviews.
Accomodation was spacious and modern, service was excellent, food was of the highest quality.
Michael, the owner was always available and provided us with a specially created tour guide booklet which made touring very simple. His knowledge of the area and willingness to help was an outstanding feature.
One night we used the hotel restaurant and the standard was very good. Michael even helped us find 2 restauarants to spend our other evenings.
He also provides a cab service from one of his contacts which we found very usefull and reasonably priced.
Overall a great vacation - shame about the weather.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank londoneagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

As one of the other reviewers noted, this is a great way to start your vacation in Ireland. After a long flight from Atlanta to Shannon, via London/Gatwick, the Vaughn Lodge was a great start. It was an easy drive from Shannon Airport to Lahinch on good roads (rare in Ireland). This was more of a small luxury boutique hotel than a lodge. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms were large and well appointed. The beds were comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful restaurant and comfortable pub in the hotel. The food at the restaurant is not to be missed, so be sure to eat dinner there after your day of sight seeing. The location is almost a good as the accomodations. The hotel is a 2 minute drive into the town of Lahinch, a quaint little beachside village. You can even get surf lessons if you want to don a wetsuit. (Be sure to eat at Kenny's Pub one night). The must-see Cliffs of Mohr is a pleasant 15 minute drive up the road. Our only complaint was that we only stayed 2 days and wished we could have stayed more.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Zzdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

We wisely chose the Vaughan Lodge Hotel to stay our first night in Ireland, after flying into Shannon. it is an easy trip from the airport to Lahinch - the roads wide and well marked - a rarity in Ireland and a good way to get used to driving on the wrong side of the road. My husband and his buddies dropped their bags and immediately took off for Lahinch Golf Course - one of the best in Ireland. The ladies took the beautiful coastal road and went sightseeing at the Cliffs of Mohr - just a short jaunt down the road. After an amazing drive through the Burren (exploring neolithic ruins), we returned to the Vaughan House. Our rooms were wonderful, with comfortable beds, nice linens and luxury bathrooms. We had made dinner reservations in the dining room and were glad we did. We were in Ireland for 2 weeks, traveling all around and staying in some Castle Hotels and upscale places, but I have to say the lamb dinner I had at the Vaughan House was the best of my whole trip. The food was truly outstanding, as was the breakfast in the morning. The next day we were sorry to leave, but the Vaughan Lodge is well situated and we were able to drive south and then take the ferry across the bay to make our way towards Tralee and Kerry, saving lots of driving. I would recommend the Vaughan House as an ideal location to explore the interesting area around the Cliffs of Mohr and Burren, and also for golfers or gourmets. The building is new, but built with lots of character and charm.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rrayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Vaughan Lodge hotel is excellent! We stayed for a weekend after the hotel had re-opened for the '08 season and found all aspects of the service to be of fantastic quality. The owner met us outside and immediately made us feel welcome, our room was just as pictured on their website with many lovely touches and an enormous bed! We dined in the restaurant on one night and found both the food and the service of our French waitress to be excellent. Vaughan Lodge also has a very cosy bar with open fire and lovely armchairs you can sink into. Breakfast was extensive and very tasty, again with impeccable service. The entire hotel is completely spotless and beautifully decorated with views out over Liscannor bay from all of the front rooms. The hotel is a short stroll from the beach and Lahinch village, which was has a lively pub scene. We left at the end of our stay completely relaxed and with a feeling of having been well looked after.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank c_b99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
1.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
7.3 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,347 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range: $219 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing