We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality of food and great staff”
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Ate here on sat night, great atsmophere. Staff were excellent especially the waitress from bantry! very friendly and professional. Food was of a very high quality, from the bread to the complimentary soup and goats cheese. Steak was delicious as was fish. Manager came to say hello, a nice touch that works wonders for customer service. A little on the expensive side, but well worth the treat!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mayo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thanks for the kind words I'm glad you enjoyed our restaurant.
We have a site on TA specially for the restaurant as we don't get enough of our guests dining here. Many guests go to the local pub for dinner and pass up on the experience you had here.
You may think it expensive but this year alone we actually subsidised your dinner by Eur9.00 on average when we put the money we earned from dinner against the cost of proucing it
Quality Fine Dining costs a lot to put on the plate but the results make our hotel stand out against other so called 4 star hotels.
Guests at Vaughan Lodge should check out what is on offer before making dinner plans elsewhere - but I would say that, wouldn't I lol !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 382 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

We, eight American golfers in two generations, thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at Vaughan Lodge. Michael and his exceptional staff were constantly attentive and helpful. Breakfast was a feast, dinner was a culinary pleasure, the rooms were just right, the pub/lounge was a welcoming comfort -- and the Lahinch Club House was a three minute walk from the Lodge. Lahinch Village is an Irish gem. This is a very easy, five star endorsement. Enjoy.

Rick H.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

You will be impressed with the your stay at the Vaughan Lodge. We stayed here two days of our seven day trip and it was the best. The staff were over the top friendly and helpful, breakfast delicious, and dinner gourmet! My favorite was drinks and homemade shortbread cookies by the fire. Thanks Linda, Martina, Breta, Paul and company.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The 90-plus percent who rate Vaughan Lodge excellent are absolutely right. Nice hosts, modern, comfortable room, welcoming lounge/bar, great view of the links, and delicious breakfast. Michael even offered to lend me his clubs. Sounds excellent to me.
Unless, of course, you book a stay for a Sunday and Monday. You see, those are the nights the much-ballyhooed restaurant is closed. We were meeting family at Shannon late Sunday and counting on making it to the hotel for dinner. That was kind of why we arranged our schedules in that way. Sorry. Michael kindly recommended a place in Bunratty, but it's an entirely different proposition to drive the narrow road from Ennis to Lahinch after dinner in the dark rather than the other way around. Sorry, closed Monday as well. Okay, another recommendation, this time for a place in town. Which meant a mediocre meal and a walk back up the hill in a driving Irish downpour.
If you are going to market yourself on the quality of your restaurant, as the Vaughans apparently are correct in doing, then you must put somewhere on your webpage when the restaurant is closed. Maybe I'm missing something, but I can find no such information there. A hotel "with restaurant" means to just about everybody that it will be open at least some of the time you are there. Two consecutive nights off is bad policy for a great hotel, particularly if you don't warn people.
Too bad - I'd love to be able to join the chorus of reviewers singing excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mavaughan, Owner at Vaughan Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

I am as disappointed as any guest to have to close our restaurant on two nights of the week. The economic down turn in ireland has taken a big toll on us all. As it stands we subsidise all our diners by an average of €10 per person in order to provide a quality dining expereince. loosing more money over 7 nights would be the death knell of our lovely hotel.

The point about providing the information on our website is well made and I will attend to this immediately. I wish I could have maintained the excellent ratings on TA on this occasion but I understand the reviewers disappointment too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Vaughan Lodge is Lahinch Ireland is a great place to stay the owner Michael and his staff were amazing. The food was outstanding. The town of Lahinch is very quaint and has beautiful views. Great for golfing and surfing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a modern guesthouse with about 15 room which are smart & classy in every respect. Elevator available if you don't want to climb stairs. One of the best places to have dinner in Lahinch ! Breakfast is grand & varied beyond the standard Irish breakfast. The hotel has a lovely gathering place called the library which has 24 hour bar for those who want to stay up late & fellowship! It's a 5 minute walk to main street Lahinch. In 10 minutes you can reach the beach or the Lahinch Golf Club. All 15 members of our golf group simply loved this Lodge. By far the best Guest House I've ever stayed at!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A group of 8 of us recently went to Ireland. We had no idea what to expect. Our last 3 nights were in La Hinch. The town was really neat, kind of a surf town. By far, the best place to dine was the Vaughan Lodge. The Vaughan also offered a great breakfast! The Lodge owner Michael Vaughan was more than accomodating. For example, I needed to exchange a shirt for my son that I bought at the golf course and he offered to go exchange it first thing in the morning. He did so...The rooms are modern the hotel is modern. The bathrooms are modern. It is not the traditional Irish Inn. We and comfortable beds and accomodations. The hotel staff are very nice and they make you comforatble. The Inn is homey. I believe this is the best option in La Hinch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
152 reviews
1.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
21 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,544 reviews
16.2 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range: $221 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing