We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to see some special places in Ireland”
Review of Vaughan Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vaughan Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to see some special places in Ireland”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Michael and Maria are great hosts, and this is a great place to see The central coast of Ireland. Whether you are a golfer, or family there is much to do and see. The town of Lahinch is a very friendly town and great base to travel from to all points up and down the central coast.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flanagans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    39
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
151
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Landrum, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We loved this lodge and would go back in a heartbeat. You can tell the owner really enjoys what he is doing. It was quaint but fastidiously decorated. The staff were overwhelmingly pleasant.

Room Tip: Go down and watch the surfers in town. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bccorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We spent our first night here on a recent golf trip to Southwest Ireland. The location was great, as we could walk into town and the pubs. The rooms were nice and the breakfast was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend Vaughan Lodge and would certainly stay here again if I am lucky enough to visit Lahinch again! It was a great start to a great week.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBtraveler927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful weekend in L ahinch Co Clare. We decided to book the Vaughan Lodge Hotel as we heard great reviews about it plus it is a local family run hotel. We were not dissappointed. The Vaughan Lodge is a top class boutique hotel with large comfortable bedrooms and an award winning restaurant. The staff ( espcially the waitress) were very friendly and welcoming.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to this part of the country and we hope to be back again in September.
Thanks again to all at the Vaughan Lodge for a wonderful and relaxing stay, its great to see that Irish Hospitality is alive and well in Lahinch!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elisash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

I have travelled extensively and stayed in many hotels and if you’re looking for a small, well run, friendly, clean hotel with a touch of class and a superb restaurant on the west coast of Ireland then look no further. We enjoyed a great rate in a small suite and a fabulous meal in the up market restaurant. The hotel has many amazing enlarged photos taken by the owner of the region which blend seamlessly into the decor and add a real nice touch to the experience. Much to my disappointment I had a family emergency which necessitated my cutting our booked stay short however the staff where most understanding and helpful. I will definitely return and enjoy the hospitality and service they have to offer.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flyerboy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at Vaughan Lodge in August as part of a golf package with Golf Scotland. It is ideally located with a short walk to town and Lahinch Golf Club. It is also well situated for day trips to Ennis, the Burren and Cliffs of Moher. Everyone is so friendly and attentive. Breakfast is basic, but very good, and we especially liked the evening tea that was delivered to our room. Our room was massive with lots of horizontal casement windows that could stay open when there was a light rain. Sleeping in the fresh air was a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSVTraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Vaughan Lodge is simply one of the best Boutique hotels in Ireland. We have been there often and have sent many friends and business acquaintances there also. The standard and comfort of the accomodation is already well vouched. What is understated often is the tremendous quality and creativity in the diningroom. This has lately reached new heights of excellence and at a recent dinner party the meal was voted, by all present, as 'Michelin' quality and outstanding value. We use any and every excuse to experience the hospitality and stunning cuisine at Vaughan Lodge. It is perfectly adapted to accomodate both business and leisure. We have used it often for both.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elephantfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahinch
0.2 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
1.8 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
990 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
Cliffs of Moher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Liscannor
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lahinch
143 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
14.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vaughan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaughan Lodge

Property: Vaughan Lodge
Address: Ennistymon Road, Lahinch, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Lahinch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Lahinch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vaughan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star designer lodge hotel with 22 bedrooms. Situated overlooking Lahinch Golf Links and the Atlantic Ocean. Purpose built in 2005 and run by 4th generation local hotel family. Host Michael and Maria Vaughan - Seafood Restaurant ( open normallly Tuesday night to Saturday night - please check at time of booking ), Lounge, Free broadband, spacious accommodations, Drying Room, Putting Green, Free Car parking. Open March to November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vaughan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaughan Hotel Lahinch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing