We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place, great teachers”

Lahinch Surf School
Ranked #4 of 9 Tours in Lahinch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Lahinch Surf School is about Friendly, Safe, Fun in the surf.Established by John McCarthy, three times Irish Senior Surf Champion, John established Co.Clare's first Surf School to share his love and 'stoke' for surfing. Lahinch Surf School has stayed true to that dream ever since. When we're not surfing big waves at the Cliffs of Moher (the wave John named "Aileens"), you'll will find us at our 'Beach Hut' on the promenade.The positive ions are infectious dude! Courses: Outside of doing a single two hour lesson any day of the year, our most popular courses are the 'Weekend Surf Course' for adults, which is 3 fun lessons over the weekend and our Kids(9-12), Teens(13-18) and Grom(6-8) Camps in school holidays.You are welcome to come join the fun at Lahinch Surf School.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, great teachers”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My 12 year old daughter had a great first lesson here, Pat was a great teacher and gave her lots of coaching, she looked very confident and smiled the whole time ( she especially loved having her boots and gloves warmed first :-)), highly recommend to give this a go, very welcoming to all, extra thanks to Peter for the great conversation and offer of tea. I will definatley be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank marksreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LahinchSurfSchool, Public Relations at Lahinch Surf School, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your stoked feedback, much appreciated!

We are thrilled to hear that your daughter had her first surf experience here and that she got to surf with Pat! Pat's a great instructor who knows a great deal about surfing and the water and gives great tuition!

Look forward to having you here again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great fun!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a brilliant hen party surf lesson this weekend with Lahinch Surf School! John and instructors Ollie and Johnny were all really friendly and helpful. I've done lessons before with this school and always had a great experience - would definitely recommend them! Delighted with my free hoody too :) Thanks a mill!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JudiK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LahinchSurfSchool, Public Relations at Lahinch Surf School, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for your great feedback!

Glad to hear you had such a great time surfing here on your hen! Our instructors Ollie and Johnny have been with us for a long time and are experienced surfers and love to give helpful tips about the water and surfing!

See you next time! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Staff could not have been nicer”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A big group of us went to Lahinch for the weekend. We booked 2 surf lessons a few weeks in advance. They replied to our emails very quickly and gave recommendations on anything we asked regarding surfing and Lahinch in general. Unfortunately some of our group stayed up enjoying the hospitality of Lahinch public houses to attend the lessons. The staff we extremely understanding and nice about the late cancellations. Those of us who did make it had a great time. From first time surfers to a few more advanced, we all enjoyed it. We had great craic with our instructor and are planning the next trip for the summer soon.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorrainecusack215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LahinchSurfSchool, Public Relations at Lahinch Surf School, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out to write a review, much appreciated! Stoked to hear you and the gang had a great time surfing and enjoyed Lahinch!
We look forward to having you surf here again!
Until next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great surf school”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Group of us had a great lesson with Lahinch Surf School. Everyone was really friendly and accommodating. Booties, gloves and hoods were dipped in hot water before we put them on, lovely! They got us sun cream, gave the hen a really nice surf school hoody and of course helped us to surf. Have done group lessons like this before in other places, and would highly recommend this one.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank EM0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LahinchSurfSchool, Public Relations at Lahinch Surf School, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks for your awesome feedback!

Glad you enjoyed our hot water experience, the water can be quite cold in April so we hope it helped!

See you next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
1 review
“First time suffers”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I had an excellent experience with Lahinch surf school. All members of staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. They had all the suitable equipment needed for suffers of all ages and sizes. The lesson itself was great fun, our instructor Pat was very helpful and gave us plenty of pointers throughout the lesson. It was an excellent experience and I will defiantly go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fionag800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LahinchSurfSchool, Public Relations at Lahinch Surf School, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your stoked feedback!

We are thrilled to hear that you had such an excellent experience here at Lahinch Surf School and that you got to surf with Pat. Pat's a great surfer and been an instructor for years, he loves to give surfing tips and certainly knows his stuff!

Look forward to having you here again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lahinch Surf School also viewed

 

Been to Lahinch Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing